- Online Services Pay Fines, Transcripts...
- Forms & Filing Forms, Fee Schedule...
- Self-Help Self-Rep, Info, FAQs...
- Divisions Civil, Criminal, Family...
- General Info Local Rules, ADA, Maps...
- California DMV
- California Courts: Judicial Council
- California Legal Codes
- California Courts Self Help Center
- Help Filing Online (I-CAN!)
- Judicial Council Interpreter List
- Law Help California.org
- Nolo Press
- Sonoma County Bar Association
- Sonoma County Law Library
- Sonoma County Legal Aid
- Sonoma County Sheriff
- Spanish Self Help Resources
Family Law Division
Location: Civil and Family Law Courthouse, 3055 Cleveland Avenue, Santa Rosa CA 95403
Office Hours: 8:00 AM to 3:30 PM Mon-Fri
Court Hours: 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM Mon-Fri
(707) 521-6630 8:00 AM to Noon Mon-Fri
- How can I obtain a copy of my divorce?
You may obtain copies of your final dissolution judgment by visiting the Family Law Clerk's office from 8:00 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Monday through Friday. The Family Law Clerk's office is located in the Civil and Family Law Courthouse, at 3055 Cleveland Avenue in Santa Rosa.
For copy requests made in person at the clerk’s office, payment can be taken by cash, check (payable to Superior Court), money order, cashier’s check or credit card (Visa or MasterCard only.) When requesting your copies in person, there is a ten page limit to same day copy requests. If your request is over ten pages the clerk will process your payment, issue a receipt and notify you when the request has been processed and ready for pick-up.
Copies can also be obtained by sending a letter which indicates your name, case number, specification of what document you are requesting and if you want the copy certified or not. Certification is a stamp that declares the copy to be an exact copy of the original in the courts file. Please be sure to include a self-addressed stamped envelope in your request so staff can return your copies and your receipt of payment.
For copy requests made through the mail, payments can be taken by check, money order or cashier’s check only. Please make the check payable to Superior Court. As you may not know the exact cost, you may indicate in the note section of the check “not to exceed ___” and list an estimated amount. The clerk will then fill in the amount of the check for you, as long as the amount does not exceed what you list. If the payment submitted does not cover the fees, your request will be returned with a request for additional funds.
Certification of a Judgment of Dissolution of Marriage is $15 plus there is an additional $0.50 per page fee. Certification of any other document is $25 plus the additional $0.50 per page fee. Copies without certification are $0.50 per page. You may also request an Exemplified Record or a Letter of Exemplification which is an additional $20 fee.
- How do I end my marriage?
For general information go to: http://www.courts.ca.gov/selfhelp-divorce.htm.
To print the forms to start your dissolution go to Forms packet page:
Where can I find information on Adoptions?
Where can I obtain information on child custody or visitation?
For general information go to: http://www.courts.ca.gov/selfhelp-family.htm AND For information on assistance in Sonoma County go to Services and Resources page:
- Where can I find information about child support?
- Where can I find information on Adoptions?
- Where can I obtain information on child custody or visitation?
For general information go to: http://www.courts.ca.gov/selfhelp-custody.htm AND For information on assistance in Sonoma County go to Services and Resources page:
Temporary Restraining Order (TRO)
- a) What is a Domestic Violence Restraining Order?
There are several types of Restraining Orders. Domestic Violence Restraining Orders are defined by the relationship between the plaintiff (requesting protected party) and defendant (restrained party). A Domestic Violence Restraining Order can be sought if you are requesting the restraining order against somone there is a close relationship with the person to be restrained such as a marriage, divorce, separated, common children together, living together currently or in the past, dating relationship or related such as a parent, child, brother, sister.
If there is no such relationship, refer to civil restraining order information click here.
- b) How can I obtain a Family Law Domestic Violence Restraining Order?