COMPLIANCE WITH 12021 PENAL CODE
PERSONS PROHIBITED FROM
POSSESSING FIREARMS

If you are listed as a restrained person on a protective order as defined in Section 6218 of the
Family Code, or a temporary restraining order, or an injunction issued pursuant to Section 527.6
or 527.8 of the Code of Civil Procedure, you are not allowed to possess a firearm. Possession of
a firearm while being a restrained person is a public offense, which is punishable by
imprisonment in the county jail, not exceeding one year, or in state prison, by a fine not
exceeding $1,000 (one thousand dollars), or by both imprisonment and fine. If you are a
restrained person and have a firearm restriction, you are required to relinquish any
firearm in or subject to your immediate possession ‘or control for the term of the court
order within 48 hours of the order being served.

You have three options for surrendering your firearms.

OPTION #1:

Surrender your firearms to your local law enforcement agency. The local law enforcement
agency would be the agency that has jurisdiction over your residential address. The court will
require you to supply a receipt from your local law enforcement agency showing that you have
surrendered your firearms. The law requires that you telephone your law enforcement agency
and advise them that you are requesting to surrender your firearms per a court order. Attached to
this packet is an information sheet on how to transport your firearms legally.

OPTION # 2:

Sell your firearm to a registered gun dealer who is listed with the California Department of
Justice Firearms Dealers Centralized List. The court will require you to supply a bill of sale from
the firearm dealer showing that you have sold your firearms. Attached to this packet is an
information sheet on how to transport your firearms legally.

OPTION # 3:

Sell or give your firearm to a private party. The law requires that whenever you sell or give a
firearm to a private party the fransaction must go through a registered firearm dealer. The
firearm dealer needs to be listed on the California Department of Justice Firearms Dealers
Centralized List. You need to provide the court with a copy of the Dealers Record of Sale of
Firearms Worksheet which will be provided to you by the fircarm dealer.
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COMMON QUESTIONS ASKED

What is considered a firearm?

ANSWER: A firearm is any device designed to be used as a weapon, from which is
expelled through a barrel a projectile by the force of any explosion or other form of
combustion. Firearms include, but are not limited to, handguns rlﬂes _shotguns, and
assault weapons.

What are the qualifications to be a registered firearms dealer?

ANSWER: A qualified firearms dealer must possess a valid federal firearms license; any
regulatory or business license, or licenses, required by local government; a certificate of
eligibility issued by the Department of Justice; a license issued in the format prescribed
by the Department of Justice; and is among those recorded in the California Department
of Justice Centrallzed Llst

Which law enforcement agency should T call?

ANSWER: The law enforcement agency that has jurisdiction over your residential

address, i.e., if you live in Santa Rosa city limits then the Santa Rosa Pohce Department
would have Jurlsdlctlon '

Once I give my firearms to law enforcement; can I change my mind-and sell them at a
later date?

ANSWER: During the period of the relinquishment order, a tespondent is entitled to
make one sale of all firearms that are in the possession of a local law enforcement agency.
A licensed gun dealer, who presents a local law enforcement agency with a bill of sale
indicating that all firearms owned by the respondent that are in possession of a local law

- enforcement agency have been sold by the respondent to the licensed gun dealer, shall be

given possession of those firearms.

How long will law enforcement keep my firearm? Are there any fees?

ANSWER: The law enforcement agency will retain you firearms until the court order
expires. At that time there will be a storage fee charged to you by the law enforcement
agency. This storage fee will differ from agency to agency and you will be advised prior
to relinquishing your firearms what the fee will be.



INSTRUCTIONS FOR SAFELY
TRANSPORTING A FIREARM TO A
LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY

The firearms must be unloaded.
- No ammunition may be brought in with the firearm.
When transporting the firearm, it must be locked in the vehicle trunk.

If no vehicle trunk is available, the concealable weapon must be transported in a locked
container other than the locked glove compartment- 12026.0(a)PC

a _ ' It must be transported directly to the law enforcement agency with no deviations.

G Thé‘-pérson must give prior notice (via telephone call with niutually agréed upon time and

_date) to the law enforcement agency that he/she is going to be transporting a firearm to
their facility,



IF YOU HAVE CHOSEN OPTION # 1 AND YOU RESIDE IN THE SONOMA COUNTY
SHERIFF'S DEPARTMENT JURISDICTION (UNINCORPORATED AREA OF SONOMA
COUNTY OR WINDSOR) PLEASE ADHERE TO THE BELOW LISTED REQUIREMENTS:

I. Be advised that, by selecting Option # 1, you will be charged a storage fee by the Sonoma County
Sheriff's Department, Cutrent storage fees are $117.00 per year per court ordered restriction.

2, The Sheriff’s Department will store your firearm for the length of the court order, allowing you to
make one sale of all your firearm(s) to a licensed gun dealer during the term of the court order.

3. If you chose Option # 1, you must contact 565-2121 within your 72-hour period in ordet to set up
an appointment to hand ovet your firearms to a deputy. This appointment must be set up between
6:00 P.M. to 10:00 P.M., Monday through Sunday, including holidays. You must contact the
Sheriff’s Department for an appointment time. You will be asked to provide a full description of
your vehicle, including the license plate, your name, DOB, height, weight and a description of the
clothing you will be wearing, You are not to have anyone accompany you to your appointment.

4, Anyand all firearms must be unloaded ‘and secured in the trank oftyour vehicle. If no trunk is
available; lock your firearm in secured container transported in the rear of your vehicle (out of
arms reach).

5. - Parkyour vehicle inthe area located just in front of the new Sheriff's Department building, 2796

-Ventura Avenue; in Santa Rosa{just cast and across-the-street from the old building) unless
w-advised-dtherwiseby Dispatch-Remain in-your:vehicle until the arrival of the:deputies.

6. Once the deputies artive, place your hands on the steering wheel and await direction from the

deputies. This is to ensure your safety, as well as that of the deputies who are arriving to assist
you.

7. DO NOT BRING ANY AMMUNITION IN YOUR VEHICLE. If you wish to hand over
ammunition for disposal, please contact 565-2650 and arrange to bring the ammunition to the
Sonoma County Sheriff’s Department for destruction at a later time.

8. If you are unable to meet with the deputy at the appointed time, please contact 565-2121, If you
are late for your appointment, the deputy may or may not be able to wait for you, due to the
number of calls for service pending. If, due to unforeseen circumstances, the deputies are unable
to meet with you, use the pay phone located in front of the Shetiff’s Department and re-contact
565-2121. If you fail to make your appointment with the deputy, you will need to re-contact
565-2121 and a Sonoma County Sheriff's Department sergeant will make contact with you,
advising you whether the Sheriff’s Department can make another appointment with you. If
no appointment is available, you will be advised to make arrangements with the court for
one of the other options available to you.




'SHERIFF’S DEPARTMENT

Look for the parking stall marked Sheriff Vehicle Only near the main entrance to the building off to the right.
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Sonoma County Sheriff
2796 Ventura Avernue
Santa Rosa, CA

Phone: (707) 565-2511



