
Superior Court of California

County of Sonoma

NOTICE FROM THE CLERK OF THE COURT

Temporary Emergency Gun Violence

Restraining Orders

(GVRO) AB 2s26

Junuary 1, 2019

REQUIRES IMMEDIATE ATTENTION

Effective January 1,2019, amendments to the gun violence restraining

order (GVRO) statutes authorizes a Judicial Officer to orally issue a

temporary emergency GVRO. The law also requires the Court to hold

a hearing within 21 days after issuance of a temporary emergency

GVRO to determine if a one-year GVRO should be issued. The

Judicial Council's current Form EPO-002 does not contain a section

for the hearing date, so officers will need to add hearing information

to the form. Please see sample form EPO-002 for more detailed

information about where to add the hearing date and location.

Thank you!
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EXAMPLE
EP0-002
GUN VIOLENCE EMERGENCY PROTECTIVE ORDER
1. RESTRAINED PERSON (inseft name of subject)
Sex: EU !f Ht.: Wt.: 

-Hair 
col,or: _Eye color: _Race: 

- 

Age: 

- 
Date of birth

2. TO THE RESTRAINED PERSON (Also see important Wamings and lnformation on Page 2): YOU MUST NOT own, possess,
purchase, receive, or attempt to purchase or receive any firearms, ammunition, or magazines (any ammunition feeding devices). lf
you have any firearms, ammunition, or magazines, you MUST IMMEDIATELY SURRENDER THEM lN A SAFE MANNER TO

LAW ENFORCEMENT CASE NU[/lBER:

3.

4.

LAW ENFORCEMENT ON REQUEST.lf no rrender any firearms, ammunltion, or magazines
in a safe manner to your within 24 hours of
being served n48

another by having

determined to be inadequate or

last until the expiration date and time
, ammun on, a magazines that you own or possess in

PenalCode and you may not have in your custodyorcontrol,own, purchase,possess,or receive,or attempt to purchase
or receive, any firearm,ammunition,or magazinewhile this order is in effect. However a more permanentgun violence
restraining order may be obtainedfrom the court.You may seek the advice of an attorneyas to any matter connected with
the order. The attorney should be consulted promptly so that the attorney may assistyou in any matter connected with
the order.

Judicial otficer (name): granted this Order on (date) at (time):

APPLICATION
6. Officer has a reasonable cause to believe that the grounds set forth in item 4, above, exist (state supporting facts and dates;

spectfy weapons-number, type and location):

7.

EAmmunition (including magazines) was Eobserved ! reported E searched for I seized.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct.

By: +
Agency:

(SIGNATURE OF LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICER)

Telephone No.: Badge No.:

You must flle a receipt proving surrender,sale, or storage with the Court
court is closed, then on the next business day after the firearms, ammunition, or magazines are

TO TIMELY FILE THIS RECEIPT IS A VIOLATION OF THIS ORDER.

Civil and Family Courthouse You must attend the court hearing on Friday, IDATE] at 9:00 a.m. in Dept. 22.

TIM E

agency or sell them to or store

immediate danger ofcausing personal injury

GRANTED)

Protective Order (1

hi

and address of court):

WILL EXPIRE
INSERT DATE OF 21St CALENDAR DAY (DO NOT COUNT DAY THE ORDER

the issuance of this Order exist, and a Gun Violence

3055 Cleveland Ave.
Santa Rosa, CA

The location ofthe hearing is to be added here The officer completing this form needs to write the

hearing information here.

PROOF OF SERVICE

8.
9. es of this Order to the person served as follows: Date:

Address

10. At the time of service, I was at least 18 years of age. E] I am a California law enforcement officer.

1 '1 . My name, address, and telephone number are (fhrs does not have fo be serve/s home telephone number or address):

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct.

Date: +(WPE OR PRINT NAME OF SERVER) (SIGNATURE OF SERVER)

ONEcopy to

Judicial Council of Calrtonia, www.courts.ca.gov
Rev. January l, 2019, Mandatory Form
Penal Code,S 18125 etseq.

Emergency Protective Order (CLETS-EGV)
E copy to restrained person, ONE copy to issuing agency
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EXAMPLE
GUN VIOLENCE EMERGENCY PROTECTIVE ORDER

WARNINGS AND INFORMATION
EP0-002

TO THE RESTRAINED PERSON: You are prohibited from owning, possessing, purchasing, receiving, or
attempting to purchase or receive a firearm, ammunition,or amagazine. (Pen. Code, $ 18125 et seq.) A violation
of this Order is amisdemeanorpunishable by a$1,000fine or imprisonmentfor six months or both. (Pen.Code,

ss 1e, 18205.)

Within 24 hours of receipt of this order, you must turn in all firearms, ammunition, and magazines to a law
enforcement agency or sell them to or store them with a licensed firearms dealer until the expiration of this order.
(Pen. Code, S 18125 et seq.) A receipt proving surrender, sale, or storage must be filed with the court within 48

hours of receipt of this order, or on the next court business day if the 48 hour period ends on a day when the
court is closed. You must also file the receipt with the law enforcement agency that served you with this Order.
You may use Form GV-800,Proof of Firearms Tumed ln, Sold, or Stored for this purpose.

This Gun Violence Emergency Protective Order is effective when made. lt will last until the date and time in item 3
on the front. The court will hold a hearing within 21 days to determine if a longer term order should be issued.

A law enforcement officer or agency or a family member may seek a more permanent restraining order from the
court.

lf you violate this order, you will also be prohibited from having in your custody or control,owning, purchasing,
possessing, or receiving, or attempting to purchase or receive, a firearm, ammunition, or magazine for an
additionalfive-year period, to begin on the expiration of the more permanent gun violence restraining order.
(Pen. Code,S 18205.)

This protective order must be enforced by all law enforcementofficers in the State of California who are aware of
it or shown a copy of it. The terms and conditions of this order remain enforceable regardless of the acts or any
agreement of the parties; it may be changed only by order of the court.

A la persona restringida: Tiene prohibido ser duerio de un arma de fuego, municiones o cargadores, poseer, comprar o
tratar de comprar, recibir o tratar de recibir u obtener un arma de fuego, municiones o cargadores de alguna otra manera.
(C6digo Penal,gg 18125 y siguientes). Una violaci6n de esta arden esta sujeta a una multa de $1000 y encarcelamiento

de seis meses o ambos. (C6digo Penal,$$ 19 y 18205.)

Dentro de las 24 horas de recibir esta arden, tiene que entregar sus armas de fuego, municiones y cargadores a una
agencia del arden publico o venderlos a, o almacenarlos con, un comerciante de armas autorizado hasta el vencimiento

de esta arden. (C6digo Penal,$$ 18125 y siguientes). Dentro de las 48 horas de recibir esta arden, se tiene que
presentar a la corte una prueba de haberlos entregado, vendido, o almacenado. Se puede usar elformulario GV-800,
Prueba de entrega, venta o almacenamiento de armas de fuego, por este prop6sito.

Esta arden de protecci6n de emergencia de armas de fuego entra en vigencia en el momenta en que se emite. Durarc3
hasta la fecha y hora indicadas en el punta 3 al otro lado. Se realizara una audiencia dentro de 21 dias para determinarsi
es necesario emitir una arden que dure por mas tiempo.

Un agente o agencia del arden publico o unfamiliar puede solicitar una arden de restricci6n mas permanente de la corte.

Si esta en violaciGn de este arden de restricci6n, se le prohibira tener en su posesi6n o control, comprar, poseero recibir,

o intentar comprar o recibir un arma de fuego, municiones o cargadores por otro periodo de cinco alios mas,

comenzando a partir del vencimiento de la arden de restricciGn de armas de fuego mas permanente. (C6digo Penal,

s 18205.)

Todo agente del arden publico del estado de California que tenga conocimiento de la arden o a quien se le muestre una

copia de la misma debera hacer cumplir esta arden de protecci6n. Los terminos y condiciones de esta arden se podran

hacer cumplir independientemente de las acciones de las partes; solo la corte podra cambiar esta arden.

To law enforcement: The Gun Violence Emergency Protective Order must be served on the restrained person by the officer if the
restrained person can reasonably be located. Ask the restrained person if he or she has any firearms, ammunition, or magazines in his

or her possession or under his or her custody or control. A copy must be filed with the court as soon as practicable after issuance. Also,
the officer must have the order entered into the computer database system for protective and restraining orders maintained by the
Department of Justice.

The provisions in this Temporary Gun Violence Emergency Protective Order do not affect those of any other protective or restraining
orderin effect, including a criminal protective order. The provisions in another existing protective order remain in effect.

EP0-002 [Rev. January 1,2019l GUN VIOLENCE EMERGENCY PROTECTIVE ORDER (CLETS-EGV) Page 2 ol 2



Supertor @ourt of @slttorntu

[,ounty of $onome
Gary Nadler

Presiding Judge
Arlene D. Junior

Court Executive Officer/Clerk of the Court/Jury Commissioner

ACCESS. SERVICE. ruSTICE

Hearing Date Setting Guide for Gun Violence Emergency Protective Orders

lf EPO is issued between: Hearing can be set either date:

Ih 2/7 and Wed 2/13 Friday 2/22/L9 or Friday 3/1./19

rh211,4 and Wed 2/20 Friday 3l1.lt9 or Friday 3/8119

Ih 2/21, andWed2/27 Friday 318h9 or Friday 3lts/19
Ih2128 and Wed 3/5 Friday 3h5/19 or Friday 3/22/19

rh3l7 and Wed 3/13 Friday 3122/t9 or Friday 3/291L9

rh311,4 and Wed 3/20 Friday 3129h9 or Friday 415/L9

Th3/21, andWed 3/27 Friday 415/79 or Friday 4lL2/19
Th3128 and Wed 4/3 Friday 4lLZlLg or Friday 4lL9/19
Th 414 and Wed 4/10 Friday 4lt9l79 or Friday 4/26/19

Th 4lLL andWed 4/L7 Friday 4126lL9 or Friday 513/19

Th 4lt8 and Wed 4/24 Friday 5l3lL9 or Friday sl10l19


