
*NOTICE* 

September 26, 2016 – AMENDED 10/3/16 

Revision of the Uniform Local Rules of Court 
(California Rules of Court 10.613(g)) 

 
The Sonoma County Superior Court Judges have approved proposed changes/additions to Sonoma County 

Local Rules of Court, effective January, 2017, and are making them available for comment for a 45 day period to 

those individuals and organizations specified under Rule 10.613(g) of the California Rules of Court. The deadline 

for the 45 day comment period is November 10, 2016 November 17, 2016. 

Comments may be directed to José Octavio Guillén, Court Executive Officer, Sonoma County Superior 

Court, 600 Administration Drive, Santa Rosa, CA 95403. 

The proposed changes and additions to the Sonoma County Local Rules are indicated in the following 

fashion in the submissions below:   

 

abcde Deleted text 

abcde Revised text 

*** Unchanged text 

 
 

RULE 6 RULES APPLICABLE TO PROBATE PROCEEDINGS 
6.1 INTRODUCTION 

 

A. General 

 

The Probate Rules for Sonoma County Superior Court set forth local policies and procedures of the 

probate department.  These rules do not attempt to restate or summarize statutory or case law or 

estate administration in general.  Guidance on probate law and practice may be found in 

publications such as California Decedent Estate Practice, California Trust Administration, and 

California Conservatorship Practice, which are published by CEB Continuing Education of the Bar 

- California. 

 

These rules, although binding on parties, may be departed from in the discretion of the Court. 

 

B.        Contact Information 

 

 Website: For current contact information, tentative rulings, and the online probate  

  calendars parties should refer to the court’s website at: www.sonoma.courts.ca.gov   

  (Click on the “Divisions” tab, then “Probate” in the drop-down list, to Access the probate 

 page). All local forms referred to in this rule are available at and can be downloaded from 

 the  court website.  (Click on the “Forms and Filing” tab on the courts home page, then “ Common 

Local Forms” in the drop-down menu.) 

One or more of the following may be helpful in matters presented to the Probate Court. 

 

 

1. Clerk of the Probate Court: The address of the Probate Clerk is 600 Administration Drive, 

Santa Rosa, CA 95403.  The physical address of the Probate Clerk’s Office is 3055 

Cleveland Avenue, Santa Rosa, CA  95403 (first floor). 

 

2. Probate Court Examiner: The address for the Probate Court Examiner is 3055 Cleveland 

Avenue, Santa Rosa, CA 95403.  The email address is  

ProbateExaminer@sonomacourt.org. 

 

http://www.sonomasuperiorcourt.com/


3. Office of the Probate Court Investigator: The address for the Office of the Probate Court 

Investigator is 600 Administration Drive, Santa Rosa, CA 95403.  The telephone number is 

(707) 521-6586. 

 

 (Eff. 1/1/1997; Rev. 1/1/2006, 1/1/2007, 7/1/2007, 7/1/2009, 1/1/2010, 7/1/2010, 1/1/2011, 

1/1/2014, 1/1/2015) 

 

                            

6.2 CALENDAR AND PROCEDURAL MATTERS 

 

The current Probate, Conservatorship (including Limited and LPS Conservatorships), and 

Guardianship calendars are posted on the court’s website.  (Click on the link to “Current Probate 

Calendars” on the probate page). 

 

A. General Guidelines 

 

 

1. General Probate Matters   

 

One department of the Superior Court shall be designated by the Presiding Judge of the 

Superior Court to hear general probate matters.  General probate matters will be calendared 

and heard at such times and places as shall be designated by the Supervising Judge of the 

Civil Division (the “Regular Probate Calendar”).  

      

2. Probate Calendar Day on Judicial Holiday  

 

When the date for the Regular Probate Calendar is a court holiday the calendar will be 

heard on a date and time as designated by the Supervising Judge of the Civil Division. 

 

B. Calendaring Guidelines 

 

PROBATE CALENDARS (Effective January 1, 2015 ) 

 

Regular Probate Calendar: Called in Department 18, located at 3055 Cleveland Avenue, 

Santa Rosa, CA 95403. 

 

Guardianship Calendar:  Called in Department 12, located at 600 Administration Drive, 

Santa Rosa, CA 95403. 

 

LPS Calendar: Called in Department 23, located at 3055 Cleveland Avenue, Santa Rosa, 

CA 95403. 

 

Sonoma Developmental Center (“SDC”) Calendar:  

Called at the Sonoma Developmental Center, 15000 Arnold Drive, Eldridge, CA 95431.  

              

1. Regular Probate Calendar Matters  

Except as otherwise indicated in these rules, all probate petitions concerning the following 

are to be calendared for hearing on the Regular Probate Calendar: 

 

 decedent’s estates, 

 trusts,  

 conservatorships of the person and of the estate (other than limited 

conservatorships unless there is an estate involved and “LPS conservatorships”),  

 guardianships of the estate 



o Petitions for the appointment of a guardian of the estate only, and all 

petitions concerning the administration of an existing guardianship of the 

estate, are to be calendared for hearing on the Regular Probate Calendar. 

 Special Needs Trusts 

o All petitions for an order approving a Special Needs Trust or for an order 

directing payment or delivery of any property or funds to a Special Needs 

Trust, pursuant to Probate Code §§ 3602, 3611, or other authority, shall be 

scheduled for hearing on the Regular Probate Calendar.  When such a 

petition is a first-filed paper or arises out of a civil matter not pending 

before the Probate Court, the petition shall be filed with the Probate Clerk 

as a new case and given a new case number.  

 

2. Petitions for Guardianship of the Person 

Petitions for the appointment of the guardian of the person are to be calendared for hearing 

on the Guardianship Calendar.  

  

 

   3. Limited Conservatorships 

    

a. Petitions for the appointment of a limited conservator of the person or of the person 

and estate of an adult alleged to be developmentally disabled who is in placement 

at the Sonoma Developmental Center (SDC) are to be calendared for hearing on the 

SDC Calendar, to be heard at such times and places as shall be designated by the 

Supervising Judge of the Civil Division. 

 

b. All other petitions for the appointment of a limited conservator of the person or 

limited conservator of the person and the estate for an adult alleged to be 

developmentally disabled are to be calendared for hearing on the LPS Calendar. 

  4.   LPS Calendar 
 

 All matters involving proceedings under the Lanterman-Petris-Short Act are to be 

calendared on the LPS Calendar. 

 

C. Filing, Hearing, and Continuance Procedures 

 

All petitions and supporting documents in matters to be heard on the probate calendar shall be filed 

with the Probate Clerk, at least twenty-two (22) days prior to the hearing, allowing sufficient time 

for notice and publication as required by law. 

 

  

1. RULE 6.2(C)(1) Procedure for Obtaining a Hearing Date 

 

In conservatorship matters and guardianships of the estate, petitioners shall comply with 

Local Rule 6.4 regarding contacting the Office of the Probate Court Investigator to obtain a 

hearing date.  In all other matters, petitioners will be assigned a hearing date from the 

probate clerk at the time of filing. petitioners shall contact the Office of Probate Examiner 

to request assignment of a hearing date. If the Probate Examiner has not responded within 

three (3) court days after the request is made, petitioners may contact the Probate Clerk’s 

to request assignment of a hearing date. In requesting a hearing date, Petitioner shall take 

into consideration the requirements of notice, publication and filing proofs of service.  For 

contact information for the Probate Clerk’s office Probate Examiner and the Probate Court 

Investigator see Rule 6.1.B, above. 

 

2. Procedure for Obtaining a Continuance 

 



a. RULE 6.2(C)(2)(a) Continuance Requested by Counsel in Advance of Hearing:  

  

Requests for continuances may be made up to five (5) court days prior to the hearing by 

contacting the Probate Examiner or Court Investigator, as applicable.  If an opposition has 

been filed, the agreement of all counsel to a specific continuance date also must be 

provided to the Probate Examiner or Court Investigator in writing or by email. 

 

b. RULE 6.3(C)(2)(b) Continuance Requested at Hearing: 

 

Requests for continuances may be made at the hearing, and may be granted in the discretion 

of the Court. 

 

 

c. RULE 6.2(C)(2)(c) Limitation on Continuances:    

 

Normally no more than three continuances will be allowed before the matter is dismissed 

without prejudice. 

 

d. RULE 6.2(C)(2)(d) Continuances for Probate Matters Assigned to Short Cause or 

Civil Master Calendar: 

 

Any matter assigned to or set on the Short Cause Calendar or the Civil Master Trial 

Calendar shall be governed by the California Rules of Court and Superior Court Rules 

applicable to those calendars. 

   

 

   

D. Submission of Proposed Orders and Other Pleadings Before Hearing Date 

 

1. RULE 6.2(D)(1) Orders   

 

Proposed orders shall be submitted to the Probate Clerk at the time of filing the petition.  If 

a self-addressed, pre-paid envelope is provided when the order is submitted, the clerk will 

return a file endorsed copy by mail; or if requested in writing, the clerk will deliver a file 

endorsed copy to an Attorney Box at the Civil and Family Courthouse, 3055 Cleveland 

Avenue, Santa Rosa. 

 

2. RULE 6.2(D)(2) Supporting Papers  

 

Supporting papers shall be filed at the time of filing the Petition, except as otherwise 

provided in the Probate Code or these Local Rules.   

 

3. RULE 6.2(D)(3) Proofs of Service   

 

Proofs of Service for the initial petition shall be filed with the Clerk at least five (5) days 

prior to the day of hearing.  Any other Proofs of Service shall be filed with the Clerk 

contemporaneously with the papers to which they pertain. 

 

4. RULE 6.2(D)(4) Proofs of Publication 

 

Proofs of Publication shall be filed with the Clerk at least five (5) days prior to the day of 

hearing. 

   

5. RULE 6.2(D)(5) Copies Required for Court Staff 

 



Copies of all filed pleadings and proposed orders in guardianship of the estate and 

conservatorship matters are required to be served on the Office of the Probate Court 

Investigator.  Copies of all filed pleadings and proposed orders in decedent’s estate and 

trust matters are required to be served on the Probate Examiner’s Office. A drop box for 

copies hand-delivered to the Office of the Probate Examiner is provided for the 

convenience of the parties at the Probate Clerk’s Office at 3055 Cleveland Avenue, Santa 

Rosa, CA 95403 and another drop box for copies hand-delivered to the Office of Probate 

Court Investigator is provided for the convenience of the parties at the Civil Clerk’s Office, 

located at 600 Administration Drive, Santa Rosa, CA 95403. 

 

 E. Supplemental or Opposition Papers 

 

In order for supplemental or opposition papers to be considered by the Court prior to the hearing, 

the documents must be first filed with the Court, and served as follows: 

 

  1. RULE 6.2(E)(1) Guardianships of the Person 

 

Copies of all supplemental or opposition papers must be served on the Probate Court 

Investigator at least five (5) court days before the hearing, with the scheduled hearing date 

noted on the face sheet. 

 

2. RULE 6.2(E)(2) All Conservatorships and Guardianships of the Estate Only 

 

Copies of all supplemental or opposition papers must be served on the Office of the Probate 

Court Investigator at least five (5) court days before the hearing, with the scheduled 

hearing date noted on the face sheet.  

 

3. RULE 6.2(E)(3) Decedent’s Estates and Trust Matters 

 

Copies of all supplemental or opposition papers must be served on the Probate Court 

Examiner at least five (5) court days before the hearing, with the scheduled hearing date 

noted on the face sheet.  

 

F. Hearings and Tentative Rulings 

 

1. RULE 6.2(F)(1) Notices of Hearing  

 

Notices of hearing on cases scheduled for hearing on the Regular Probate Calendar shall 

indicate that the time for the commencement of the calendar is 8:30 a.m. 

 

2. RULE 6.2(F)(2) Tentative Rulings – Regular Probate Calendar  

 

During the court day preceding each weekly Regular Probate Calendar, at 11:00 a.m. or as 

soon thereafter as possible, the Court will cause to be recorded a tentative ruling for each 

matter noticed on such calendar.  The tentative ruling may be obtained by telephoning (707) 

521-6881 (chose Option #1) or online on the Court’s website at www.sonoma.courts.ca.gov 

(Click on the “Online Services” tab on the home page, select “Tentative Rulings” in the 

drop-down menu, and the click on the link to “Probate”).  The Tentative Rulings will also 

be posted at the probate department. 

 

a. Parties who do not object to the tentative ruling need not appear at the hearing, 

unless the ruling requires appearances or another party has requested a hearing 

pursuant to the procedure in subdivision (b) below. 

 

b. Any interested party who wishes to be heard in relation to the tentative ruling must 

call 707-521-6893 and leave a brief message that includes the name and telephone 

number of the party calling and the case name and number.  Any interested party 

who wishes to be heard in opposition to a petition must also notify the attorneys for 

all represented parties as well as all unrepresented parties of their intent to appear.  

http://www.sonoma.courts.ca.gov/


Notifications to the court and all attorneys and unrepresented parties must be 

completed no later than 4:00 p.m. on the court day immediately preceding the day 

of the hearing. 

 

c. Unless notification has been given as provided in b, above, the tentative rulings 

shall become the rulings of the court at 8:45 a.m. on the day of the hearing 15 

minutes after the scheduled calendar time.  Signed orders on approved matters are 

generally available at that time at the Probate Clerk’s office for filing in person. 

 

  3. RULE 6.2(F)(3) Tentative Rulings - Guardianship Calendar 

 

During the court day preceding each weekly guardianship calendar, commencing at 11:00 

a.m., or earlier if feasible, the Court will cause to be recorded a tentative ruling for each 

matter noticed on such calendar.  The tentative ruling may be obtained by telephoning (707) 

521-6881 (Opt. #1) or by accessing the Court’s  website at www.sonoma.courts.ca.gov and 

selecting the option for Tentative Rulings. The tentative rulings will also be posted at the 

guardianship department. 

   

a. Parties who do not object to the tentative ruling need not appear at the hearing, 

unless the ruling requires appearances or another party has requested a hearing 

pursuant to the procedure in subdivision (b), below.  

     

b. Any interested party who wishes to be heard in relation to /the tentative ruling must 

call 707-521-6893 and leave a brief message that includes the name and telephone 

number of the party calling and the case name and number.  Any interested party 

who wishes to be heard in opposition to a petition must also notify the attorneys for 

all represented parties as well as all unrepresented parties of their intent to appear.  

Notifications to the court and all attorneys and unrepresented parties must be 

completed no later than 4:00 p.m. on the court day immediately preceding the day 

of the hearing. 

c. Unless notification  has been given as provided in b,  above, the tentative rulings 

shall become the rulings of the court when announced by the courtroom clerk at 

9:15a.m. on the day of the hearing. 

 

  4. RULE 6.2(F)(4) Appearances  

 

No appearances are required for pre-approved matters unless an interested person has asked 

to be heard in response to the tentative ruling and has given the required notice of such a 

request. 

 

G. Contested Matters 

 

1. RULE 6.2(G)(1) Written Objections   

 

a. Before the Court will conduct a hearing in any contested proceeding, the party(ies) 

opposing or objecting to a petition, accounting or other matter scheduled for 

hearing shall file verified, written objections specifying the grounds for such 

objection or opposition. If oral objections are made at a hearing, the court may 

continue the matter in order to have the objections submitted in writing.  

 

b. Interested persons who oppose the granting of a petition for appointment of a 

guardian are encouraged to use Sonoma County form PR-9 (Objection(s) to 

Appointment of Guardian of the Person) to file objections.  

 

2. RULE 6.2(G)(2) Meet and Confer Requirement  

 

In the event of any contest or objection to any petition on the probate calendar, the parties 

or his or her respective attorneys shall make a reasonable and good faith attempt to 

informally resolve the controversy at a face-to-face conference, if possible, otherwise by 

http://www.sonoma.courts.ca.gov/


telephone conference, before any hearing of the contested petition.  If such resolution is not 

possible, then each party shall file a Statement of Issues as provided in 3, below. 

 

3. RULE 6.2(G)(3) Statement of Issues or Settlement 

 

At least five (5) court days before the hearing, each party shall either (1) notify the Probate 

Clerk in the Superior Court Clerk's office or the probate department that the controversy 

has been resolved; or (2) file and serve the Statement of Issues.  Each Statement of Issues 

must: 

 

a. Indicate that the parties or his or her respective attorneys have met face-to-face or, 

if that is not possible, have participated in a telephone conference to discuss the 

issues in dispute, 

 

b. identify the substantial issues in the controversy, with references to any supporting 

evidence and/or legal authority, 

 

c. include each party’s opinion of any barriers to settlement, 

 

d. Provide an estimate of the time requirement for the hearing or resolution, 

 

e. Include each party's opinion as to the appropriate method for resolving the 

controversy (i.e., mediation, arbitration, short cause trial, etc.). 

 

4. RULE 6.2(G)(4) Contested Matters on Probate Calendar    
 

When the hearing on a contested matter is estimated to be 20 minutes or less, the hearing 

will be held before the Probate Judge on the  Regular Probate Calendar if time permits.  

Otherwise, the matter will be set for an extended hearing. 

 

  5. RULE 6.2(G)(5) Transfer to Trial Calendar 

  

If the hearing on a contested matter is estimated to exceed twenty (20) minutes or a jury 

trial is demanded, and counsel appear at the probate calendar, the matter may be transferred 

to the short cause calendar or may be assigned directly to one judge for all purposes. 

  

   

H. Ex Parte Matters 
 

1. RULE 6.2(H)(1) Presentation of Emergency Probate Petitions  
 

If a party has reason to believe that orders are urgently needed to prevent irreparable harm 

to person or property, the petition may be presented on the civil/probate ex parte calendar.  

The petition must be accompanied by a declaration setting forth the facts upon which the 

petitioner is basing the allegation.  The petition must be accompanied by a declaration 

identifying the persons entitled to notice under the applicable sections of the Probate Code 

or these rules, and either proof of service of notice or a statement of the facts which the 

petitioner believes justify an order dispensing with notice. Filing fees must be paid and a 

case number assigned before a party presents an ex parte application. 

 

All ex parte probate matters shall be presented to the Probate Judge at the times and 

locations designated in Rule 17.  Filing fees must be paid and a case number assigned 

before a party presents an ex parte application. 

 

  2. RULE 6.2(H)(2) Contents of Petition    

 

A petition for an ex parte order must be verified and must contain sufficient evidentiary 

facts to justify issuing the order.  Conclusions or statements of ultimate facts are not 

sufficient, and a foundation should be shown for the petitioner's personal knowledge. 



 

  3. RULE 6.2(H)(3) Special Notice Allegation  

 

All petitions for ex parte orders must contain a statement on requests for special notices.  

The statement shall either recite that no request for special notice is in effect or shall list the 

parties requesting special notice and attach the specific waivers of notice by such parties or 

proof of service on such parties. 

 

  4. RULE 6.2(H)(4) Notice to Counsel/Opposing Party  

 

Notice shall be provided in accordance with the Califonia Rules of Court applicable to civil 

ex parte matters. 

 

  5. RULE 6.2(H)(5) Notice to Probate Court Investigator 

 

Notice to the Probate Court Investigator shall be given when required under Local Rule 6.4. 

 

  6. RULE 6.2(H)(6) Order Must Accompany Petition  

 

Except where a Judicial Council or a local form is used that includes an order, a petition for 

an ex parte order must be accompanied by a separate order that is complete in itself.  It is 

not sufficient for such order to provide merely that the application has been granted, or that 

the sale of property or security set forth in the petition has been approved.  The order must 

specify all relief ordered by the court. 

 

I.    Orders on Matters Not Requiring Hearing  

 

 1. RULE 6.2(I)(1) Conditions Required: 

 

Petitions may be presented to the Probate Clerk for submission to the Probate Judge without a 

hearing, when the following circumstances exist: 

 

1a. The Order requested is one for which no hearing is required, or the Order is 

necessary in less time than is required to obtain a hearing date on the  Regular 

Probate Calendar, and 

 

2a. Either notice is not required in accordance with the Probate Code or these Rules, or 

notice has been waived by all persons entitled to notice, and 

 

3a. The petition or other relief requested is not contested. 

 

 2. RULE 6.2(I)(2) Verification: 

  

A petition for an ex parte order must be verified, either in the petition or by a support 

declaration under penalty of perjury, and must contain sufficient evidentiary facts to justify 

issuing the order.  Conclusions or statements ultimate facts are not sufficient and a 

foundation should be shown for the petitioner’s personal knowledge. 

 

 

 3. RULE 6.2(I)(3) Notice: 

  

For petitions for an ex parte order, three (3) days’ notice, by telephone, email, or personal 

service, must be given to all interested parties.  Proof of service must be attached to the 

petition. 

 

 4. RULE 6.2(I)(4) Special Notice: 

 

All petitions for ex parte orders must contain a statement of special notice.  The statement 

shall either recite that no request is on file and in effect or shall list the parties requesting 



special notice and shall attach the proof of service on such parties or specific waivers of 

notice. 

 

 

J. RULE 6.2(J) Appointment of Probate Referee  
      

Where the relevant Judicial Council form order includes a provision for the appointment of the 

probate referee, the appointment of the probate referee will be made on the form (e.g., Order for 

Probate, Order Appointing Conservator, etc).  Unless the appointment of a particular referee is 

requested by the fiduciary in a petition as per Probate Code section 8921 et seq, and designated by 

the court, the appointment of the probate referee will be made on a rotating basis among the probate 

referees appointed for the county.   In pending cases for which a probate referee has not been 

appointed in the initial order appointing the fiduciary, an application for appointment of a probate 

referee shall be submitted to the office of the Clerk on Sonoma County Local Form PR-1.  The 

Application for appointment of a probate referee may be submitted as an “Order on Matter Not 

Requiring Hearing” under Local Rule 6.2.I. 

 

K. RULE 6.2 (K) Compliance with Filing Deadlines 

 

All Probate Code and Court ordered due dates for filing shall be strictly observed (e.g., inventories, 

accountings, status reports and receipts on blocked accounts).  Failure to comply with statutory or 

Court ordered filing deadline requirements may result in imposition of surcharges and/or sanctions 

absent a showing of good cause for the late filing.  

(Eff. 1/1/1997; Rev. 7/1/2006, 1/1/2007, 7/1/2007, 7/1/2009, 1/1/2010, 7/1/2010, 7/1/2013, 

1/1/2014; 1/1/2015, 1/1/2017) 

 

6.3 RULES REGARDING DECEDENTS’ ESTATES 

 

 A.  RULE 6.3(A) Duties and Liabilities of Personal Representative  

 

The Sonoma County Superior Court does not require filing of the Confidential Supplement to 

Duties and Liabilities of Personal Representative, as authorized in Probate Code §8404(a).  

 

 B.  RULE 6.3(B) Continuance to Permit Filing of Contest  

 

When a petition for the probate of a Will is called for hearing and an attorney or party appears and 

orally objects and declares that a written contest will be filed, the Court may continue the hearing 

for a reasonable length of time not  less than four (4) weeks with the condition that if such written 

contest  has not  been filed prior to the continued date, the hearing will proceed as if no objection 

had been made by said attorney or party, unless the court finds good cause exists for a further 

continuance.  

 

 C.  Claims of Personal Representative and Attorneys of Record  

 

1.  RULE 6.3(C)(1) Noticed Hearing  

 

A noticed petition for approval of a creditor's claim of the personal representative or of his attorney 

of record  is required, except as provided below.  All parties must receive at least fifteen (15) days’ 

notice of the hearing.  The creditor's claim shall be complete with approval signed by all personal 

representatives in the proceeding.  

 

2.  RULE 6.3(C)(2) Ex parte approval  

 

A petition and creditor's claim for any of the following claims that complies with the above rule 

(except for the fifteen (15) day notice requirement) may be presented and considered by the court 

ex parte.  

 

a.  The claim is for reimbursement of funeral and last illness expense, and proof of payment is 

attached to the claim;  



 

b.  The claim, together with all other claims of that personal representative or attorney, except 

for reimbursement of funeral and last illness expenses, is less than $2,500.00;  

 

c.  A written approval signed by all persons whose interest might be affected by the approval is 

attached to the claim;  

 

d.  The personal representative has complied with the provisions of the Independent 

Administration of Estates Act with respect to the proposed payment of said claim; or  

 

e.  A claim is for an amount certain and based upon a prior court order, which is attached to 

the creditor's claim. 

 

 D.  RULE 6.3(D) Content of Orders of Distribution  

 

Every order of distribution, whether or not an accounting has been waived, must set forth 

specifically the manner in which the estate is to be distributed by showing each distributee’s name 

and a description of the property, including the full legal description and assessor’s parcel number 

for real property, and the amount of cash (as of a date certain) to be distributed. Descriptions must 

be complete and must not require reference to the petition or to any extrinsic document.   

 

 E. Accountings 

 

1. RULE 6.3(E)(1) General Format 

 

Accounting format details and contents shall be in strict conformance with California law, including 

but not limited to the Probate Code and California Rules of Court.   

 

   2. RULES 6.3(E)(2) Supplemental and Amended Accounts 
 

A supplemental account in a decedent's estate shall include only receipts and disbursements 

occurring since the ending date of the last filed account.  Generally a supplemental account is not to 

be used to amend or correct the last filed account.  An amended account may be filed to amend or 

correct such last account.  Any supplemental or amended account shall be noticed for hearing 

unless the Court by order dispenses with notice. 

 

3.  Rule 6.3(E)(3): Notation of Omitted Schedules 

 

Where a particular schedule is unnecessary, it need not be included and that fact must be noted in 

the Summary of Account with the word “none” in the blank provided for the total from the 

schedule.  

 

F.  Retention of Closing Reserve: 

 

1.  Rule 6.3(F)(1): Informal Accounting 
 

Petitions for final distribution that request the retention of funds from distribution (a closing 

reserve) in excess of $5,000.00 shall be subject to an informal accounting to be filed with the Court 

within six (6) months of the date of the order for final distribution. The informal accounting shall be 

filed with the Court ten (10) days prior to the six-month status hearing which the Court shall set at 

the time the order for final distribution is made. If the informal accounting is timely filed and meets 

with the Court’s satisfaction, the status hearing for the informal accounting may come off calendar 

and no appearance at the hearing will be required. 

 

2. Rule 6.3(F)(2):  Requirements of Order for Final Distribution 
 

Where the closing reserve is in excess of $5,000.00 an order for final distribution of an estate shall 

specifically set forth the use that may be made of the funds retained for closing reserve. The 

informal accounting of funds retained for closing reserve shall specify the date of payments and all 



uses of the retained funds (i.e., income taxes, final closing costs, property tax assessments). The 

Court in its discretion may require a noticed hearing on the accounting and/or a more formal 

accounting of the funds retained for closing reserve. 

 

3.  Rule 6.3(F)(3):  Requirements of Application for Final Discharge 
 

Where the closing reserve is in excess of $5,000.00 the application for final discharge of the 

personal representative must include the disposition of all funds retained for closing reserve and 

receipts from beneficiaries shall be filed for any distributions of the retained funds to beneficiaries. 

 

4.  Rule 6.3(F)(4):  Prohibitied Uses 
 

No closing reserve funds shall be used for attorney fees or personal representative commissions. 

 (Eff. 1/1/1997; Rev. 1/1/1999, 7/1/2007, 1/1/2009, 7/1/2010, 1/1/2015, 2017) 

 

6.4 CONSERVATORSHIPS AND GUARDIANSHIPS 

 

A. Conservatorship Petitions and Selection of Hearing Date 
 

In all cases, a Petition for Appointment of Probate Conservator must be filed with the Clerk of the 

Court and a case number issued. Conservatorship petitions and hearings should be set for hearing, 

based upon the severity of the proposed conservatee’s impairments and risk of harm pending 

hearing, as follows: 

 

  1. 6.4(A)(1) Probate Conservatorships Generally 

 

Prior to selecting a hearing date, petitioner shall contact the Office of the Sonoma County 

Court Investigator to determine the amount of time it will require to complete the required 

investigation and report. 

 

  2. RULE 6.4(B)(2) Temporary Conservatorship 

 

Where the petitioner believes that the proposed conservatee will suffer harm or substantial 

loss prior to the hearing date on the Petition for Appointment of Probate Conservator, 

petitioner may also file a Petition for Temporary Conservatorship.  In all such cases, the 

Petition for Appointment of Probate Conservator must first be on file in the clerk’s office 

and a case number issued before a Petition for Temporary Conservatorship will be heard. 

 

   a. Regular Notice: 

 

Normally, a Petition for Temporary Conservatorship should be noticed for hearing 

at the time normally set aside for probate matters.  Petitioner should contact the 

Office of the Sonoma County Court Investigator to determine a hearing date next 

available allowing for at least ten (10) days’ notice of the petition. 

 

   b. Emergency Circumstances Ex Parte Application: 

 

In very rare circumstances where the proposed conservatee is in immediate and 

grave danger of physical or irreparable financial harm, petitioner may notice the 

Petition for Temporary Conservatorship to be heard on the ex parte calendar.  

Petitioner should contact the Office of the Sonoma County Court Investigator as 

soon as the necessity for such a hearing becomes apparent.   

 

 B. Required Documents in Conservatorship Cases   

 

In addition to the pleadings and papers normally required in a conservatorship matter, the following 

special instructions apply: 

 

  1. RULE 6.4(B)(1) Appointment of Court Investigator  



 

The Sonoma County Court Investigator shall be appointed for all conservatorship cases 

(excluding LPS conservatorships).  Petitioner must submit the proposed Order Appointing 

Court Investigator to the Clerk with the first-filed Petition for Appointment of Probate 

Conservator, requesting appointment of the Office of the Sonoma County Court 

Investigator, with Boxes next to paragraphs 1 and 3 checked, at a minimum. (Judicial 

Council form GC 330) 

 

  2.  RULE 6.4(B)(2) Conservatorship Handbook 

 

The required DUTIES OF CONSERVATOR AND ACKNOWLEDGMENT OF RECEIPT 

OF HANDBOOK (Judicial Council Form GC 348) shall be submitted with the first filed 

Petition for Appointment of Probate Conservator.  The HANDBOOK FOR 

CONSERVATORS is available at: 

http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/conservatorship_handbook.pdf. 

  

  3.  RULE 6.4(B)(3) Notification of Change of Contact Information   

 

Any time the conservator or guardian or the conservatee or ward has a change of contact 

information, the Notification of Change of Contact Information shall be filed and served on 

the Office of the Probate Court Investigator.  (Sonoma County Local Form PR-3) 

 

  4.  RULE 6.4(B)(4) Confidential Contact Information Form  

 

The Confidential Contact Information Form must be filed with all petitions for appointment 

of a conservator, including appointment of temporary, successors or co-conservators, and 

all petitions for approval of accounts of a conservatorship estate.  The Confidential Contact 

Information Form shall be marked as “CONFIDENTIAL” and placed in the “SECRET” 

section of the court file.  (Sonoma County Local Form PR-12) 

 

 C. Court Investigator Procedures 

 

  1.  RULE 6.4(C)(1) Calendaring Conservatorship Hearings When Investigation Required 

 

When an investigation is required pursuant to Probate Code § 1826 and 1851, the petitioner 

or his/her attorney shall contact the Office of the Sonoma County Court Investigator to 

determine the amount of time required to complete the investigation and report and to select 

a hearing date.   

 

  2.  RULE 6.4(C)(2) Documents to Be Served on Court Investigator  

 

a. Copies of ALL papers filed in each conservatorship proceeding, and the proposed 

Order for any petition filed, shall be served on the Office of the Sonoma County 

Court Investigator at the time of filing.  Service on the Court Investigator shall be 

shown on the Proof of Service filed with the clerk. 

 

b. Where a party intends to submit a Petition for Temporary Conservatorship on an ex 

parte basis, copies of ALL papers filed or presented to the court in support of such 

a petition shall be served on the Office of the Sonoma County Court Investigator no 

later than five (5) court days prior to the ex parte hearing. 

 

c.   Any opposition to an ex parte petition shall be served on the Office of the Probate 

Court Investigator no later than one full day prior to the ex parte hearing. 

 



D. Procedures Specific to Guardianship Matters 

 

  1.  RULE 6.4(D)(1)Probate Court Investigator   

 

The Office of the Probate Court Investigator oversees initial and subsequent probate 

petitions involving the guardian of the person, including cases involving both guardianship 

of the person and estate.    

 

  2.  RULE 6.4(D)(2) Report of Proposed Guardian   

 

 A Report of Proposed Guardian Form shall be filed with any Petition for Appointment of 

Guardian.  (Sonoma County Local Form PR-2) 

 

  3.  RULE 6.4(D)(3) Documents to Be Served on Court Investigator 

 

a. Copies of ALL papers filed in cases involving guardianship of the person, 

including cases involving guardianship of both person and estate, shall be served on 

the Office of the Probate Court Investigator at the time of filing, including 

proposed Orders for any Petition filed. Service on the Probate Court Investigator 

shall be shown on the proof of service filed with the clerk.  The Office of the 

Probate Court Investigator may recommend whether or not the Court should 

require an investigation under Probate Code § 1513.   

 

b. Copies of ALL papers filed in cases involving guardianship of the estate only, and 

proposed Orders for any petition filed, shall be served on the Office of the Probate 

Court Investigator at the time of filing.  Service on the Office of the Probate Court 

Investigator shall be shown on the proof of service filed with the clerk. 

 

4. RULE 6.4(D)(4) Temporary Guardianship Petitions 

 

a. Applications for Temporary Guardianships of the Person may be submitted to the 

Sonoma County Court Clerk’s Office, Probate Division, Monday through Friday, 

during normal business hours. 

 

Applications must be submitted between 8:00a.m. and 8:30a.m. Orders will be 

available for pickup after 2:00 p.m. the day after the order is submitted.   

 

A party or attorney for a party can call (707) 521-6893 to be informed of the status 

of the application. 

 

b. Opposition papers may be submitted in person at the Sonoma County Court Clerk’s 

Office, Probate Division.  A copy of the opposition papers shall also be served 

personally or by fax on the opposing party by 8:00 a.m. on the day of judicial 

review.  If service of the opposition papers is not possible, an ex parte declaration 

shall be filed providing the reasons for the lack of service.  (Sonoma County Form 

FL9). 

 

c.  Judicial review of the applications for ex parte orders shall be conducted Monday 

through Friday beginning at 8:30 a.m.  

 

d. Notice:   The moving party must give notice of the ex parte request.  The notice 

SHALL include copies of ALL papers submitted to the court.  This notice 

requirement can be waived by the court if (1) notice is impossible, or (2) notice 

would frustrate the very purpose of the order, or (3) immediate and irreparable 

harm could be suffered if notice were given.  (Sonoma County Local Form FL10 

should accompany the application.) 

 

5. RULE 6.4(D)(5) Petition for Visitation 
 



A request for an order of visitation will be filed using Local Form PR-15, which can be 

located on the court’s public website.  The petition will be filed and served on all parties 

following the Probate Code, California Rules of Court and Local Rules for 

Conservatorships and Guardianships. 

 

 E. Independent Powers under Probate Code §2591 et. seq. 

 

The provisions of this section apply both to conservatorship and guardianship matters.  For 

simplicity only, the terminology for conservatorships is used. 

   

  1. RULE 6.4(E)(1) Necessity Required    

 

The conservator of the estate has broad powers to act for the conservatee's benefit under the 

Probate Code.  The Court will generally limit a grant of Independent Powers under Probate 

Code §2590 et. seq. to specific factual situations where necessity requires independent 

powers. 

 

  2. RULE 6.4(E)(2) Special Rules for Independent Powers    

 

The following rules shall apply to all cases involving requests for independent powers, 

except LPS conservatorships: 

 

a. Temporary Conservatorship of the Estate:   
             Independent powers will be granted in a temporary conservatorship of the estate 

only in unusual situations upon a showing of good cause. 

 

b. Factual Showing:  
            Any request for independent powers shall be accompanied by an affidavit or 

declaration setting forth the facts which explain why: (1) the power requested is 

needed to administer the estate or protect the conservatee; and (2) granting such 

power would be to the advantage, benefit and in the best interests of the estate and 

the conservatee. 

 

c. Specific Enumeration of Powers:   
             Each power must be described in detail.  Quoting the specific language of the 

subsection enumerating the requested power is preferred.  It is not sufficient to 

incorporate by reference Probate Code §2591 in the petition. 

 

d. Real Property Description: 
           Where the power to sell real property is requested, the request shall describe the real 

property to be sold by the street address or legal description, and whether or not the 

property is the conservatee's home or former home.  The notices of the request shall 

include the street address. 

 

e. Court Confirmation of Real Property Sales:   
             Where the independent power to sell real property is granted, the Court will 

normally require the sale be returned to the court for confirmation.  This 

requirement may be waived by the Court upon showing of good cause. 

  

f. Enumerated Special Powers in Order and Letters:  
             Any special powers granted must be set forth in detail in the Order and in the 

Letters of Conservatorship.  In addition, if the power to sell real property has been 

granted, the Order and Letters shall describe the property to be sold by street 

address or legal description, and whether court confirmation of the sale is required. 

 

 F. Conservatorship/Guardianship Accountings 

 

  1. RULE 6.4(F)(1) Format    

 



Accounts of conservators and guardians shall follow the format prescribed in these Local 

Rules for decedents' estates in the Probate Code and California Rules of Court. 

 

  2. RULE 6.4(F)(2) Adequacy of Bond 

 

Reports of conservators and guardians shall state the total amount of the current bond and 

whether additional bond is necessary.  The report shall set forth the calculation of the 

minimum bond amount, including the amount for recovery. Each report should also specify 

any blocked bank accounts or assets and the current value of any such assets.  Any 

significant changes in the value of assets should be reported, together with the effect on the 

adequacy of the bond.   

 

  3. RULE 6.4(F)(3) Requests for Extension of Accountings 

 

Extensions to file accounts in conservatorships and guardianships may be approved in the 

court’s discretion.  When requesting an extension, the conservator/guardian shall do so by 

filing an ex parte application and declaration in support of the extension as an“Order on 

Matter Not Requiring a Hearing” under Local Rule 6.2.I. 

 

4.  RULE 6.4(F)(4) Original Account Statements in Conservatorship and Guardianship Matters  

 

Wherever the Probate Code requires the filing of original financial account, billing and/or 

escrow statements, such statements will be “lodged” with the clerk and not filed. The 

original statements will be returned to the party filing the account after the Court’s 

determination of the Account becomes final. Statements shall be organized by account, and 

then chronologically for each account. The account statements shall not be attached to the 

pleadings but contained in an 9" x 12" envelope with the case title and number written on it, 

together with a brief description of the contents (e.g. “Original bank statements for the 

account period XXXXX to XXXXX”), which envelope shall be prominently marked 

“CONFIDENTIAL”. The statements shall also be accompanied by a self-addressed 

envelope of sufficient size and with sufficient postage affixed for the return of the 

statements after the determination of the account becomes final. 

 

  5. RULE 6.5(F)(5) Waiver of Accounts  

 

a. General Rule.  Except as noted below, no request or petition for waiver of any 

account or final account (upon the death of the conservatee or minor) in any 

conservatorship or guardianship will be approved. 

 

b. Small Estates.  Waivers of Account in conservatorships and guardianships may be 

approved for small estates in the court's discretion under the provisions of Probate 

Code §2628.  The conservator/guardian shall request the waiver of account by 

completing and filing the local form PR6, and submitting the request as  an “Order 

on Matter Not Requiring Hearing” as described in Local Rule 6.2.I.  After the court 

has ordered a waiver of accounting in either a conservatorship or guardianship, the 

conservator/guardian shall either biennially file the local form PR-6 if the estate 

continues to meet the conditions of Probate Code §2628 to waive an account, or file 

an account and report. 

 

c. Guardianship Final Account Waivers.  Waivers of final guardianship accounts 

on termination are discouraged.  Where the ward waives the final account, the court 

may require the ward to be present at the hearing. 

 

 G. Final Distribution in Conservatorships and Guardianships. 

 

  1. RULE 6.4(G)(1) Investigator's Assessment on Final Accounting   

 

Prior to the filing of a Petition for Termination of a conservatorship, counsel shall contact 

the Court Investigator to determine the Court Investigator's assessment of the 



conservatorship estate for services rendered.  A request to pay the assessment and the 

amount of the assessment shall be included in the petition and final account and order 

thereon.   

 

2. RULE 6.4(G)(2) Small Estates 

 

If the value of the conservatorship/guardianship estate does not exceed the amount 

determined under Probate Code § 13100 and distribution is intended by affidavit procedure 

pursuant to Probate Code § 13101, notice of hearing, a copy of the final account and report 

of the conservator/guardian, and a copy of the petition for final distribution, shall be served 

on the successor(s) of the deceased conservatee/ward. 

 

  3. RULE 6.4(G)(3) Other Probate Estates 

    

In all other cases, a petition for final distribution upon the death of conservatee or ward 

shall be approved only after appointment of a personal representative of the estate of the 

conservatee/ward.  The final account and petition for distribution of the 

conservator/guardian shall identify the personal representative and the court and case 

number of the probate proceeding for the deceased conservatee/ward.  Notice of hearing, a 

copy of the final account and report of conservator/guardian, and a copy of the petition for 

final distribution, shall be served on the personal representative of the estate of the deceased 

conservatee/ward. 

 

 H. Limited and LPS Conservatorships 

 

  1. RULE 6.4(H)(1) Limited Conservatorship Filings   

 

Every conservatorship involving a developmentally disabled proposed conservatee shall be 

filed as a limited conservatorship proceeding. 

 

  2. RULE 6.4(H)(2) Disclosure of Developmental Disability   

 

The involvement of a developmentally disabled conservatee shall be clearly set forth in all 

conservatorship and guardianship petitions and accountings. 

 

  3. RULE 6.4(H)(3) Limited Conservatorships  Regional Center 

 

   a. Calendar Setting if Regional Center Report Required  

 

Any conservatorship proceeding requiring a Regional Center report shall be set at 

least thirty (30) days after mailing notice of the proceeding to the Regional Center, 

to allow the Regional Center report to be filed prior to the hearing. 

 

   b. Regional Center and Public Defender Appointment   

 

The Order Appointing Regional Center (Sonoma County Local Form # PR-4) may 

be utilized to facilitate ordering the Regional Center report and appointment of the 

Public Defender to represent the conservatee.  Such Orders shall be submitted with 

the initial Petition. 

 

  4. RULE 6.4(H)(4) Review of General Conservatorships   

 

In existing general conservatorships involving a developmentally disabled conservatee the 

court may direct that a new petition for conservatorship be filed under the limited 

conservatorship code provisions. 

 

  5. RULE 6.4(H)(5) Accountings    

 



Any accounting required in LPS or limited conservatorship matters shall comply with 

accounting requirements in other Sonoma County conservatorship estate matters unless 

otherwise directed by the court designated to hear the LPS calendar.  A copy of limited 

conservatorship or LPS accountings shall be furnished to the Office of the Probate Court 

Investigator at the time of filing. 

 

  6. RULE 6.5(H)(6) Closed Status of Reports   

 

Reports by a Regional Center and the Office of the Probate Court Investigator, and other 

documents or materials containing sensitive information filed in LPS and limited 

conservatorship hearings, shall be maintained in a confidential status in the case file with 

disclosure only to authorized persons pursuant to Court order.  

(Eff. 1/1/1997; Rev.7/1/2006, 1/1/2007, 7/1/2007, 1/1/2008, 7/1/2009, 1/1/2010, 7/1/2010, 

1/1/2011, 7/1/2012, 1/1/2014, 1/1/2015, 1/1/2017) 

 

6.5 COMPENSATION OF FIDUCIARIES AND ATTORNEYS 

 

 A. RULE 6.5(A) Fees and Commissions in General 

 

All requests for compensation of fiduciaries and attorneys in decedent’s estates, guardianship, 

conservatorship and trust proceedings shall be submitted in strict compliance with the Code of Civil 

Procedure, Probate Code, California Rules of Court, and these local rules. 

 

 B. Fees for Extraordinary Services in Decedents' Estates 

 

  1. RULE 6.4(B)(1) General Rule 

 

Each request for fees for extraordinary services will be considered on its individual merits.  

Such services may include, but shall not be limited to, leases and foreclosures of real 

property, tax matters (including preparation of returns, audits and tax litigation), operating a 

business, heirship proceedings, special services that may be necessary for the personal 

representative or attorney to perform, and those matters specifically mentioned in the 

California Rules of Court.  

 

  2. RULE 6.5(B)(2) Determination of Entitlement and Amount  
 

In addition to the factors set forth in California Rules of Court, the Court may consider the 

following factors, among others, in exercising its discretion in any application for fees for 

extraordinary services: 

 

a. Time devoted to the matter categorized by subject matter of services provided.  The 

 Court must be provided with a statement of facts containing sufficient information 

 in order to enable it to analyze the reasonableness of the rate and the amount of 

 time devoted to the matter.  Detailed time records may be provided to support the 

 statement of facts, but are not required in all cases. 

 

b. The benefits of the services to the estate.  It is recognized that the representative or 

 his or her attorney may occasionally be under a duty to pursue certain matters 

 which do not provide a financial gain to the estate.  Such services may nevertheless 

 be compensable. 

 

c. Whether, if not performed by the attorney or personal representative, the 

 extraordinary services would have been performed by an independent professional 

 and the reasonable expected cost of such independent services. 

     

  3. RULE 6.5(B)(3) Service of Petition for Compensation  

 

In addition to other papers required to be served, copies of any petitions requesting 

allowance of fees or commissions for extraordinary services in decedents’ estates shall be 



served on all persons entitled to receive notice of the hearing on the petition (except 

beneficiaries of specific gifts whose interests are not affected by the compensation 

requested). 

 

4.  Rule 6.5(B)(4):  The court will allow the following amounts as extraordinary fees for 

attorneys without further justification or declaration as would otherwise be required by 

California Rules of Court, Rule 7.702-7.703: 

 

a.   One thousand dollars for court-confirmed sales of real property; and 

 

b.  Seven hundred fifty dollars for non court-confirmed sales of real property under the 

Independent Administration of Estates Act. 

 

 

5.  Rule 6.5(B)(5): Service of Petition for Compensation  

 

In addition to other papers required to be served, copies of any petitions requesting 

allowance of fees or commissions for extraordinary services in decedents’ estates shall be 

served on all persons entitled to receive notice of the hearing on the petition (except 

beneficiaries of specific gifts whose interests are not affected by the compensation 

requested). 

 

 

 C. Compensation of Conservators, Guardians and Their Legal Counsel 

 

  1. RULE 6.5(C)(1)Court Appointed Counsel for Conservatees 

 

Hourly rates for court appointed counsel for conservatees will be set at the time of 

appointment. 

 

       2. RULE 6.5(C)(2) Allowance of Fees   

 

Each request for fees in guardianship and conservatorship matters will be considered on its 

individual merits. 

 

  3. RULE 6.5(C)(3)Factors in Allowing Compensation 

 

In addition to the factors set forth in California Rules of Court, the Court may consider the 

following factors, among others, in exercising its discretion in any application for fees for 

services: 

 

a. Time devoted to the matter categorized by subject matter of services provided.  

The Court must be provided with a statement of facts containing sufficient 

information in order to enable it to analyze the reasonableness of the rate and the 

amount time devoted to the matter by each person whose time is charged. Time 

records may be provided to support the statement of facts, but are not required in 

all cases.  However, if the court has questions about fees, time records may be 

requested.  To avoid delay in approval of fees, counsel may want to submit time 

records at the time of filing their fee request. 

 

b. The quality and extent of the services performed. 

 

c. The responsibility assumed and exercised. 

 

d. In a final account, a reasonable estimate of work and time to complete estate 

affairs and distribution. 

 

  4. RULE 6.5(C)(4) Attorney Representing Conservatee or Ward  

 



An attorney representing the conservatee or ward may file a petition for fees at any time 

after the hearing on the petition for appointment of probate conservator or guardian. 

 

 D. Reimbursement of Costs in Conservatorships and Guardianships 
 

1. RULE 6.5(D)(1) Reimbursement of Costs.  

 

a. Allowed Reimbursements.  Allowable reimbursement of reasonable costs that 

benefit the conservatorship estate include, but are not limited to: 

i. Court Clerk’s fees; 

ii. Newspaper publication fees; 

iii. Surety bond premiums; and 

iv. Appraisal fees. 

 

b. Not reimbursable. The following costs are considered part of normal overhead 

and may not be reimbursed absent a showing of special circumstances:  

i. Routine photocopies and postage;  

ii. Secretarial time and paralegal time for secretarial services; 

iii. Local telephone calls; and 

iv. Mileage and parking.  

 

c. Reimbursed Only in Court’s Discretion.  The following costs may be reimbursed 

in the Court’s discretion:  

i. Unusually large costs for photocopies and postage;  

ii. Substitutes for U.S. Postal Service (Federal Express, UPS, etc.); 

iii. Long distance telephone; 

iv. Travel outside of Sonoma County; and 

v. Other costs found to be extraordinary. 

 

   (Eff. 1/1/1997; Rev. 1/1/1999, 7/1/2009, 7/1/2010, 01/01/2015; 1/1/2016, 1/1/2017) 

 

6.6 BONDS 

 

A.  RULE 6.6(A) Increasing or Decreasing Bond Amount 

 

The fiduciary may normally petition to increase or decrease the required amount of bond on an ex 

parte basis, using the procedure for  obtaining an "Order on Matter Not Requiring Hearing" 

described in Local Rule 6.2.I.  Where objections to the amount of bond are expected, the petition 

should be noticed for hearing on the regular probate calendar. 

 

B. RULE 6.6(B) Use of Blocked Accounts 

 

A fiduciary shall evaluate whether holding liquid assets in blocked accounts with financial 

institutions would be advantageous to the estate and request authorization for such holdings, where 

appropriate. 

 

 C. Waiver of Bond in Conservatorships and Guardianships 

 

The Court generally will not waive bond for conservatorships or guardianships except in the 

following circumstances: 

 

  1. RULE 6.6(C)(1) Conservator Spouse of Conservatee  

 

Where the conservator is the spouse of conservatee, all or most of the property of the 

conservatee is shown to be community property, to the Court's satisfaction, and the 

community property is to be excluded from estate administration. 

 

  2. RULE 6.6(C)(2) Conservatee Waiver   

 



In matters where the conservatee gives consent, as a competent person, to waiver of bond. 

 

  3. RULE 6.6(C)(3) Small Estates   

 

In small estates as defined in the Probate Code.  Sonoma County Local Form PR-6 is 

available for this purpose. 

 

 D. Reducing Bond Through Use of Blocked Account. 

 

  1. RULE 6.6(D)(1) Issuance of Letters  

 

Where assets are to be placed in a blocked account, the fiduciary shall file the Receipt and 

Acknowledgment of Order Restricting Release of Property of the Financial Institution 

within thirty (30) days of issuance of Letters.  Sonoma County Local Form PR-5 is 

available for this purpose. 

 

Proposed orders pertaining to blocked accounts should contain appropriate language to 

allow deposits in conformance with the Probate Code and Financial Code § 1586. 

  

 

  2. RULE 6.6(D)(2) After Appointment  

 

Bonds may be reduced at any time after appointment by an ex parte petition and order 

reducing bond, together with the Receipt and Acknowledgment of Order Restricting 

Release of Property of the Financial Institution showing that assets have been deposited.  

Such a petition must set forth the total assets of the estate and designate those held in 

blocked accounts.  The reduced bond must satisfy the minimum bond requirements.  Such a 

petition may be presented as an “Order on Matter Not Requiring Hearing”, as described in 

Local Rule 6.2.I. 

 

  3. RULE 6.6(D)(3) Direct Transmittal to Financial Institution  

 

If the assets to be deposited are in the possession of a financial institution other than the 

named financial institution, the order should direct the entity in possession to deliver such 

assets directly to the named financial institution and further direct the financial institution, 

on receiving such assets, to issue its receipt and agreement to the fiduciary, who shall 

forthwith file the same with the Court.   

 

  4. RULE 6.6(D)(4)Withdrawals or Releases from Blocked Accounts   

 

An application for an order authorizing release of assets from a blocked account may be 

submitted ex parte as an “Order on Matter Not Requiring Hearing” as described in Local 

Rule 6.2.I.  The petition should set forth the approximate value of the assets on hand, the 

approximate value of all assets in blocked accounts, the amount of the existing bond and 

the purpose for which the withdrawal is requested.   

 

 E. Discharge of Bond and Exoneration of Surety 

 

1. RULE 6.6(E)(1) Receipts Must be Filed 

 

Bond shall not be discharged and surety exonerated until all Receipts on Distribution have 

been filed with the Court. 

 

 

  2. RULE 6.6(E)(2) Guardianship Bonds on Termination 

 

The guardian of the estate shall maintain the guardianship bond during the one (1) year 

period that commences when the ward reaches the age of majority.  The Order terminating 



the guardianship of the estate may include an authorization to retain a reserve for payment 

of the bond premium for the additional one year period and related fees and costs. 

 

The Order terminating the guardianship of the estate may recite that the bond is discharged 

and the surety on the bond exonerated on the date that is one (1) year after the ward’s 18th 

birthday, unless suit has been filed within that one (1) year period. 

   (Eff. 1/1/1997; Rev. 1/1/2003, 1/1/2010, 7/1/2010, 01/01/2015, 1/1/2017) 

 

6.7 SALES OF REAL PROPERTY 

 

 A. Reappraisals 

   

  1.  Rule 6.7(A)(1):  When reappraisal is required 

 

When the date of the confirmation hearing is more than on year after date of death, a 

reappraisal for sale must be filed with the court before the confirmation hearing can 

proceed. 

  

  2.  Rule 6.7(A)(2):  Responsibility for performing reappraisal 

 
Reappraisals must be made by the probate referee unless the court has waived 
appointment of the referee. 

 
3.  Rule 6.7(A)(3):  Contents 

The following information should be inserted in the reappraisal for sale 
immediately after the legal description of the real property: 

  
(i) The appraised value as of the date of death; 

    (ii) The appraised value as of the date of the appraisal.  
 

B.  Rule 6.7(B): Notice of Confirmation Hearing 

  

In addition to complying with the requirements for notice that are contained in Probate Code 

section 10308, subdivision (c), notice of the hearing from confirmation of a sale of real property 

must be mailed at least 15 days prior to the hearing date to all heirs and beneficiaries who may have 

an interest in the subject real property.  

 

 

 A C. RULE 6.7(C) Overbids in Court Confirmation of Sale 

 

When there is successful overbid in open court on a sale of real property, counsel must complete 

and the successful bidder must sign an "Increased Bid In Open Court" form and file same.  

(Sonoma County Local Form PR-14)  The order will not be signed unless the form is filed.  Copies 

of the Increased Bid In Open Court form will be available in the Probate Department when a sale of 

real property is on calendar. 

 

 B D. RULE 6.7(D) No Commission -- Special Situations 

 

No real estate commission shall be allowed or credited to or for the benefit of a personal 

representative or fiduciary in the subject probate proceeding who is a licensed real estate broker or 

salesperson in any probate sale of real property in the proceeding, directly or indirectly.  The 

petition for confirmation of sale shall state any known claim of the personal representative, 

fiduciary or purchaser to all or any part of the proposed real estate commission, directly or 

indirectly. 

 

 C E. RULE 6.7(E) Disputes Between Agents or Brokers Regarding Compensation 

 



Should a dispute arise between agents or brokers seeking compensation upon the sale of real 

property under the purview of Section 10161 and/or Sections 10162.5 through 10166 of the Probate 

Code, there shall be a separate evidentiary hearing to resolve the dispute.  Before the hearing the 

agents or broker, or their respective attorney, shall "meet and confer" (face-to-face) in a reasonable 

and good faith attempt to resolve the dispute, informally or by other means, and notify the court of 

the results at least two (2) court days before the hearing.  The sale of real property may be 

confirmed at the hearing on the sale and need not be delayed by virtue of any dispute for 

compensation by or between real estate agents or brokers. 

 

 D F. RULE 6.7(F) Contracts With Broker or Agent 

 

Any application for order approving an exclusive listing agreement with a real estate broker or 

agent shall include a completed copy of the proposed written listing as an attachment. Such 

application may be submitted ex parte as an “Order on Matter Not Requiring Hearing” as described 

in Sonoma County Local Rule 6.2.I. (Eff. 1/1/1997; Rev. 1/1/1999, 7/1/2010, 01/01/2015, 1/1/2017) 

 

6.8:   INHERITANCE BY SURVIVING SPOUSE 

 

Formal probate of community property, quasi-community property, or separate property passing or 

confirmed to a surviving spouse in a decedent’s estate pursuant to Probate Code section 13502 must be 

supported by a timely written election expressing acknowledgement of a consideration of the alternative 

procedures available pursuant to Probate Code section 13650. Written elections pursuant to Probate Code 

section 13502 shall contain an express acknowledgment that the inclusion of property passing to or 

belonging to the surviving spouse in the probate estate could result in additional appraisal fees, 

commissions, and attorney fees. (Eff. 1/1/2017) 

 

RULE 9 RULES APPLICABLE TO FAMILY LAW PROCEEDINGS 

 

9.5 COLLABORATIVE LAW CASES 

 
C. As to any case designated as a collaborative law case, the court will: 
 

1. Consider collaborative counsel to be advisory and not attorneys of record, except as 
provided in paragraph A.2. of this rule. 
 
2. Refuse to set any hearings, impose discovery deadlines or enter scheduling orders. 
 
3. Give priority in processing of stipulated orders. 
 
4. Waive any requirement for payment of the respondent’s first appearance fee with the 
collaborative law stipulation and order. 
 
5. 4. Provide notice and an opportunity to be heard prior to any dismissal based upon a 
failure to prosecute or for delay. 

 
D. The designation of a case as a collaborative law case is totally voluntary and requires the 
agreement of all parties.  The collaborative law case designation will be removed upon stipulation or 
filing and service of a termination election as provided in the collaborative law stipulation and 
order.  In the event collaborative law procedures are terminated, any party filing a Request for 
Order shall include a request for scheduling of a case management conference prior to the hearing. 
 
E. Except as otherwise provided in this rule, collaborative law cases are governed by the Family 
Code and the California Rules of Court. (Eff. 1/1/2005; Rev. 7/1/2005, 7/1/2009, 7/1/2010, 
1/1/2013. 1/1/2017) 
 



9.12 EX PARTE/EMERGENCY FAMILY LAW ORDERS 

  Judicial Review 
 

Judicial review of the applications for ex parte/emergency family law orders shall be 
conducted Monday through Friday beginning at 10:00 a.m. by a judicial officer designated by 
the Presiding Judge. 
 
At the discretion of the judicial officer, oral argument may be taken.  If this is to occur, the 
court will notify counsel or parties by noon, a.m. on the day of the review.  If counsel or 
parties wish to appear by telephone, their pleadings shall so indicate. 
 
 
 

9.13 DOMESTIC AND CHILD SUPPORT CALENDARS 

E.  Financial Matters 

 

  1.   Financial Documents 

 

If financial matters are at issue, pursuant to CRC 5.92, the parties shall serve an Income and 

Expense Declaration or Financial Statement (Simplified) with the Request for Order or the 

Responsive Declaration, if spousal support or attorney fees F9.20 are an issue.  If the 

moving party is only seeking Family Code Section 271 fees (and no other financial relief), 

the moving party need not file an Income and Expense Declaration.  However, a party 

objecting to an attorney fee request based on their inability to pay attorney’s fees shall be 

required to file an Income and Expense Declaration.   The Income and Expense Declaration 

shall have the following documents attached: 

 

a. W-2's or 1099 forms if the income tax return is unavailable; and 

 

b.    Last three (3) pay stubs. 

 

c. Self-employed individuals shall attach a profit and loss statement for the preceding 

twelve (12) months, or other appropriate time period, at least as detailed as the IRS 

form Schedule C, to their Income and Expense Declaration. 

 

In addition, if more than three (3) months have elapsed since the filing of the Income and 

Expense Declaration, self-employed individuals shall prepare a supplemental profit and loss 

statement, again at least as detailed as the IRS form Schedule C, for the period of time 

between the ending date of the profit and loss statement attached to the Income and 

Expense Declaration and the time of the hearing.  Any supplemental profit and loss 

statement shall be delivered to the other party no later than three (3) court days preceding 

the hearing date. 

2.  Format and Timing 

 

All supporting documents shall be attached to the Income and Expense Declaration or 

Financial Statement (Simplified), except that income tax returns shall be exchanged 

between the parties and provided to the court as required by this rule, but shall not be filed 

with the court.  If the court determines that it wants to retain the tax returns they shall be 

sealed and maintained as a confidential record of the court pursuant to Family Code section 

3552(c). 

 

It is not necessary to deliver a copy of any documents obtained from the other side or 

known to be in their possession. 

 

Income and Expense Declaration or Financial Statement (Simplified) forms filed three (3) 

months or more before the date of the hearing are considered by the court out of date and 



require the filing of a new Income and Expense Declaration or Financial Statement 

(Simplified).  

 

In the event that depositions are necessary in connection with a Request for Order relating 

to financial matters, the deposition of any party may be bifurcated and taken as to financial 

issues without violating the statutory limitation of a single deposition, provided the notice 

of taking deposition specifies that only financial matters will be investigated and that the 

deposition will be adjourned to a later date for all other issues.  This procedure also may be 

applied to a deposition regarding issues which have been bifurcated for trial.   

F.  Attorney Fees  

 

With respect to requests for attorney’s fees and costs based on financial need this section has been 

superseded by California Rules of Court, Rule 5.427.  Please note, three new optional Judicial 

Council forms for requesting and responding to requests for attorney’s fees were approved effective 

January 1, 2012:  FL-158 (Supporting Declaration), FL-319 (Request), and FL-346 (Order 

Attachment). 

 

Requests for attorney’s fees as sanctions pursuant to Family Code § 271 must comply with the 

provisions of Rule 5.93 except that a request for § 271 sanctions need not be accompanied by a 

current Income and Expense Declaration.  However, a reply to a request for § 271 sanctions based 

on the inability to pay all or part of the fees requested as sanctions must be accompanied by a 

current income and Expense Declaration.  

(Eff. 7/1/2005; Rev. 1/1/2007, 7/1/2007, 1/1/2008, 7/1/2008, 1/1/2009, 7/1/2009, 7/1/2010, 

1/1/2011; Revised and Renumbered 7/1/2011 – formerly Rule 9.12; Rev. 1/1/2012, 7/1/12, 

1/1/2013, 7/1/2013, 7/1/14; 7/1/15, 1/1/2016, 1/1/17) 

 

9.17 PREPARATION OF ORDERS AFTER HEARING 

 

A. Unless otherwise ordered by the court, the moving party must, within ten (10) days of the 
ruling, prepare a written order following any hearing. Parties shall follow the procedures outlined in 
CRC 5.125. 
 
The preparing party must serve the order upon the responding party and the responding party shall 
within twenty(20) days of the ruling, approve or refuse the order stating an alternative proposed 
order. 
 
If the responding party fails to respond within twenty (20) days of the ruling, the preparing party 
must, within 25 days of the ruling, mail the order to the hearing judicial officer for signature, 
accompanied by a letter stating the events and circumstances surrounding the failure to approve the 
order or judgment and asking the judicial officer to sign it. 
 
If the preparing party fails to prepare, circulate and submit an order as required above, the 
responding party may prepare the order and serve it upon the other side for approval.  If the order 
is not approved nor suggestions made for its revision within 5 days of service of the proposed order, 
it may be submitted to the judicial officer for signature along with a letter describing the 
circumstances leading to the submission of the order. 
 
If there is a disagreement between the parties concerning the accuracy of a prepared order, the 
parties shall each submit their proposed order along with a copy of the court transcript, if needed, 
and the Court shall either issue its order or set the matter for a further hearing. 
 
B.  On the Child Support Calendar, the order shall be prepared and presented to the court for 
approval before the end of the court session whenever possible. 
 



C. On the Domestic Violence Calendar, the order shall be prepared and presented to the court 
for approval before the end of the court session. 
 
D. Any order that includes an order for child or family support shall have attached the following 
Judicial Council forms: 
 
1. Notice of Rights and Responsibilities, Health Care Costs and Reimbursement Procedures 
(Judicial Council form FL192); 
 
2. Information Sheet on Changing a Child Support Order (Judicial Council form FL 192 side 2);  
 
3. A Judicial Council approved computer generated support calculation.  If the parties do not 
agree upon a single calculation, each party may attach a computer generated calculation; and 
 
4. Notice of Rights and Responsibilities, Child Care Costs and Reimbursement Procedures if the 
order provides for payment of a percentage or ratio of child care costs (Sonoma County form 
FL020).  
 
In addition, the parties shall submit a completed Child Support Case Registry Form (Judicial Council 
form FL-191) with the order.  This form is not required if the local child support agency is an 
intervener in the case.  
 
E.   The Court shall set a compliance calendar date within 90 days after the hearing to assure the 
Order After Hearing is filed. 
 
F.    In accordance with LR 9.4.B.2, for cases in which both parties are self-represented, the Court 
may direct the Family Law Facilitator/Self Help Center staff to complete Judgment documents based 
on settlements reached during Settlement Conferences at court, or after Trial.  The Family Law 
Facilitator / Self Help Center is not limited to 10 days in which to draft the Judgment. 
 
After Settlement Conference, if the parties are not at court to review and sign the Judgment, the draft shall 

be mailed to the parties, who shall have 20 days from the days from the date the drafted Judgment is 

mailed in which to approve or refuse to sign the drafted Judgment.  

 

If the Judgment is approved by the parties, they shall cooperate in signing the Judgment and any other 

necessary documents, and submit them for filing prior to the date of the compliance date.  The parties may 

use the service of the Family Law Facilitator / Self Help Center staff for assistance in signing and 

submitting the Judgment documents.  Once the Judgment is filed, the compliance date shall be dropped. 

 

If either party refuses to approve the drafted Judgment, the refusing party shall provide the other party, in 

writing, with an itemization of objections and a proposed alternative to the drafted judgment. 

 

If the refusal is resolved, and parties agree to sign the proposed Judgment or an alternative to the 

Judgment, they shall follow the procedures after approval as stated in #2 above.   

 

If the parties do not resolve the refusal, they shall appear at the compliance hearing.   10 days prior to the 

hearing, the refusing party(ies) shall file and serve a declaration itemizing the items refused and the 

reasons for the refusal. 

 

After trial, drafted Judgment shall be submitted directly to the Judge for approval. 

(Eff. 1/1/2006; Rev. 1/1/2007, 7/1/2008, 7/1/2009, 7/1/2010; Revised and Renumbered  
  7/1/2011 – formerly Rule 9.14, 7/1/12, Rev., 1/1/2016, 1/1/2017) (Revised and renumbered 
1/1/2016) 



 
9.28 CASES DESIGNATED TO A PRIVATE JUDGE 
 
The Court will waive any requirement for payment of the respondent’s first appearance fee with the 

stipulation and order appointing private judge. (Eff. 7/1/15) (renumbered 1/1/2016, Repealed 1/1/2017) 

 

 

9.31  POST-JUDGMENT GRANDPARENT VISITATION   
Petitioner(s) shall file the Petition for Grandparent Visitation (Local Form FL-038). A completed 
Summons (SUM-100) and Declaration under the Uniform Child custody Jurisdiction and 
Enforcement Act (FL-105) shall accompany the Petition.  The documents shall then be personally 
served on each of the parents of the minor(s), and/or any other parties who have physical custody 
of the minor(s).  
[Effective July 1, 2016] 
 
 

RULE 11 RULES APPLICABLE TO APPELLATE DIVISION PROCEEDINGS 
 

11.1 LIMITED CIVIL AND MISDEMEANOR CASES 

 

F. This rule shall not be deemed to preclude the parties’ rights to proceed pursuant to California Rules 

of Court, Rule 8.836 or 8.837.  

 

G. Pursuant to CRC 8.834 (d) (1) all certified shorthand court reporters transcribing misdemeanor and 

limited civil matters for appeal pursuant to CRC 8.834 shall automatically be granted a 30 day extension.  

All transcripts where a defendant appeals from a Judgement of conviction shall be due within 50 days after 

the filing of the Notice of Appeal.   

 (Eff. 1/1/1997; Rev. 7/1/2003, 1/1/2007, 7/1/2008, 7/1/2011, 1/1/15, 1/1/2017) 

 


