
*NOTICE* 
September 26, 2016 

Revision of the Uniform Local Rules of Court 
(California Rules of Court 10.613(g)) 

 
The Sonoma County Superior Court Judges have approved proposed changes/additions to Sonoma County 

Local Rules of Court, effective January, 2017, and are making them available for comment for a 45 day period to 
those individuals and organizations specified under Rule 10.613(g) of the California Rules of Court. The deadline 
for the 45 day comment period is November 10, 2016. 

Comments may be directed to José Octavio Guillén, Court Executive Officer, Sonoma County Superior 
Court, 600 Administration Drive, Santa Rosa, CA 95403. 

The proposed changes and additions to the Sonoma County Local Rules are indicated in the following 
fashion in the submissions below:   

 
abcde Deleted text 
abcde Revised text 
*** Unchanged text 

 

 

RULE 6 RULES APPLICABLE TO PROBATE PROCEEDINGS 
6.1 INTRODUCTION 
 

A. General 
 

The Probate Rules for Sonoma County Superior Court set forth local policies and procedures of the 
probate department.  These rules do not attempt to restate or summarize statutory or case law or 
estate administration in general.  Guidance on probate law and practice may be found in 
publications such as California Decedent Estate Practice, California Trust Administration, and 
California Conservatorship Practice, which are published by CEB Continuing Education of the Bar 
- California. 
 
These rules, although binding on parties, may be departed from in the discretion of the Court. 

 
B.        Contact Information 

 
 Website: For current contact information, tentative rulings, and the online probate  
  calendars parties should refer to the court’s website at: www.sonoma.courts.ca.gov   
  (Click on the “Divisions” tab, then “Probate” in the drop-down list, to Access the probate 
 page). All local forms referred to in this rule are available at and can be downloaded from 
 the  court website.  (Click on the “Forms and Filing” tab on the courts home page, then “ Common 
Local Forms” in the drop-down menu.) 

One or more of the following may be helpful in matters presented to the Probate Court. 
 

 
1. Clerk of the Probate Court: The address of the Probate Clerk is 600 Administration Drive, 

Santa Rosa, CA 95403.  The physical address of the Probate Clerk’s Office is 3055 
Cleveland Avenue, Santa Rosa, CA  95403 (first floor). 

 
2. Probate Court Examiner: The address for the Probate Court Examiner is 3055 Cleveland 

Avenue, Santa Rosa, CA 95403.  The email address is  
ProbateExaminer@sonomacourt.org. 

 

http://www.sonomasuperiorcourt.com/


3. Office of the Probate Court Investigator: The address for the Office of the Probate Court 
Investigator is 600 Administration Drive, Santa Rosa, CA 95403.  The telephone number is 
(707) 521-6586. 

 
 (Eff. 1/1/1997; Rev. 1/1/2006, 1/1/2007, 7/1/2007, 7/1/2009, 1/1/2010, 7/1/2010, 1/1/2011, 

1/1/2014, 1/1/2015) 
 

                            
6.2 CALENDAR AND PROCEDURAL MATTERS 
 

The current Probate, Conservatorship (including Limited and LPS Conservatorships), and 
Guardianship calendars are posted on the court’s website.  (Click on the link to “Current Probate 
Calendars” on the probate page). 
 

A. General Guidelines 
 

 
1. General Probate Matters   

 
One department of the Superior Court shall be designated by the Presiding Judge of the 
Superior Court to hear general probate matters.  General probate matters will be calendared 
and heard at such times and places as shall be designated by the Supervising Judge of the 
Civil Division (the “Regular Probate Calendar”).  

      
2. Probate Calendar Day on Judicial Holiday  

 
When the date for the Regular Probate Calendar is a court holiday the calendar will be 
heard on a date and time as designated by the Supervising Judge of the Civil Division. 

 
B. Calendaring Guidelines 

 
PROBATE CALENDARS (Effective January 1, 2015 2017) 
 
Regular Probate Calendar: Called in Department 18, located at 3055 Cleveland Avenue, 
Santa Rosa, CA 95403. 
 
Guardianship Calendar:  Called in Department 12, located at 600 Administration Drive, 
Santa Rosa, CA 95403. 
 
LPS Calendar: Called in Department 23, located at 3055 Cleveland Avenue, Santa Rosa, 
CA 95403. 
 
Sonoma Developmental Center (“SDC”) Calendar:  
Called at the Sonoma Developmental Center, 15000 Arnold Drive, Eldridge, CA 95431.  

              
1. Regular Probate Calendar Matters  

Except as otherwise indicated in these rules, all probate petitions concerning the following 
are to be calendared for hearing on the Regular Probate Calendar: 
 

• decedent’s estates, 
• trusts,  
• conservatorships of the person and of the estate (other than limited 

conservatorships unless there is an estate involved and “LPS conservatorships”),  
• guardianships of the estate 



o Petitions for the appointment of a guardian of the estate only, and all 
petitions concerning the administration of an existing guardianship of the 
estate, are to be calendared for hearing on the Regular Probate Calendar. 

• Special Needs Trusts 
o All petitions for an order approving a Special Needs Trust or for an order 

directing payment or delivery of any property or funds to a Special Needs 
Trust, pursuant to Probate Code §§ 3602, 3611, or other authority, shall be 
scheduled for hearing on the Regular Probate Calendar.  When such a 
petition is a first-filed paper or arises out of a civil matter not pending 
before the Probate Court, the petition shall be filed with the Probate Clerk 
as a new case and given a new case number.  

 
2. Petitions for Guardianship of the Person 

Petitions for the appointment of the guardian of the person are to be calendared for hearing 
on the Guardianship Calendar.  

  
 
   3. Limited Conservatorships 
    

a. Petitions for the appointment of a limited conservator of the person or of the person 
and estate of an adult alleged to be developmentally disabled who is in placement 
at the Sonoma Developmental Center (SDC) are to be calendared for hearing on the 
SDC Calendar, to be heard at such times and places as shall be designated by the 
Supervising Judge of the Civil Division. 

 
b. All other petitions for the appointment of a limited conservator of the person or 

limited conservator of the person and the estate for an adult alleged to be 
developmentally disabled are to be calendared for hearing on the LPS Calendar. 

  4.   LPS Calendar 
 

 All matters involving proceedings under the Lanterman-Petris-Short Act are to be 
calendared on the LPS Calendar. 

 
C. Filing, Hearing, and Continuance Procedures 

 
All petitions and supporting documents in matters to be heard on the probate calendar shall be filed 
with the Probate Clerk, at least twenty-two (22) days prior to the hearing, allowing sufficient time 
for notice and publication as required by law. 
 
  
1. RULE 6.2(C)(1) Procedure for Obtaining a Hearing Date 

 
In conservatorship matters and guardianships of the estate, petitioners shall comply with 
Local Rule 6.4 regarding contacting the Office of the Probate Court Investigator to obtain a 
hearing date.  In all other matters, petitioners will be assigned a hearing date from the 
probate clerk at the time of filing. petitioners shall contact the Office of Probate Examiner 
to request assignment of a hearing date. If the Probate Examiner has not responded within 
three (3) court days after the request is made, petitioners may contact the Probate Clerk’s 
to request assignment of a hearing date. In requesting a hearing date, Petitioner shall take 
into consideration the requirements of notice, publication and filing proofs of service.  For 
contact information for the Probate Clerk’s office Probate Examiner and the Probate Court 
Investigator see Rule 6.1.B, above. 
 

2. Procedure for Obtaining a Continuance 

 



a. RULE 6.2(C)(2)(a) Continuance Requested by Counsel in Advance of Hearing:  

  
Requests for continuances may be made up to five (5) court days prior to the hearing by 
contacting the Probate Examiner or Court Investigator, as applicable.  If an opposition has 
been filed, the agreement of all counsel to a specific continuance date also must be 
provided to the Probate Examiner or Court Investigator in writing or by email. 
 
b. RULE 6.3(C)(2)(b) Continuance Requested at Hearing: 

 
Requests for continuances may be made at the hearing, and may be granted in the discretion 
of the Court. 

 
 

c. RULE 6.2(C)(2)(c) Limitation on Continuances:    

 
Normally no more than three continuances will be allowed before the matter is dismissed 
without prejudice. 

 
d. RULE 6.2(C)(2)(d) Continuances for Probate Matters Assigned to Short Cause or 

Civil Master Calendar: 

 
Any matter assigned to or set on the Short Cause Calendar or the Civil Master Trial 
Calendar shall be governed by the California Rules of Court and Superior Court Rules 
applicable to those calendars. 
   
 

   
D. Submission of Proposed Orders and Other Pleadings Before Hearing Date 

 
1. RULE 6.2(D)(1) Orders   

 
Proposed orders shall be submitted to the Probate Clerk at the time of filing the petition.  If 
a self-addressed, pre-paid envelope is provided when the order is submitted, the clerk will 
return a file endorsed copy by mail; or if requested in writing, the clerk will deliver a file 
endorsed copy to an Attorney Box at the Civil and Family Courthouse, 3055 Cleveland 
Avenue, Santa Rosa. 

 
2. RULE 6.2(D)(2) Supporting Papers  

 
Supporting papers shall be filed at the time of filing the Petition, except as otherwise 
provided in the Probate Code or these Local Rules.   

 
3. RULE 6.2(D)(3) Proofs of Service   

 
Proofs of Service for the initial petition shall be filed with the Clerk at least five (5) days 
prior to the day of hearing.  Any other Proofs of Service shall be filed with the Clerk 
contemporaneously with the papers to which they pertain. 

 
4. RULE 6.2(D)(4) Proofs of Publication 

 
Proofs of Publication shall be filed with the Clerk at least five (5) days prior to the day of 
hearing. 
   

5. RULE 6.2(D)(5) Copies Required for Court Staff 
 



Copies of all filed pleadings and proposed orders in guardianship of the estate and 
conservatorship matters are required to be served on the Office of the Probate Court 
Investigator.  Copies of all filed pleadings and proposed orders in decedent’s estate and 
trust matters are required to be served on the Probate Examiner’s Office. A drop box for 
copies hand-delivered to the Office of the Probate Examiner is provided for the 
convenience of the parties at the Probate Clerk’s Office at 3055 Cleveland Avenue, Santa 
Rosa, CA 95403 and another drop box for copies hand-delivered to the Office of Probate 
Court Investigator is provided for the convenience of the parties at the Civil Clerk’s Office, 
located at 600 Administration Drive, Santa Rosa, CA 95403. 

 
 E. Supplemental or Opposition Papers 
 

In order for supplemental or opposition papers to be considered by the Court prior to the hearing, 
the documents must be first filed with the Court, and served as follows: 

 
  1. RULE 6.2(E)(1) Guardianships of the Person 
 

Copies of all supplemental or opposition papers must be served on the Probate Court 
Investigator at least five (5) court days before the hearing, with the scheduled hearing date 
noted on the face sheet. 

 
2. RULE 6.2(E)(2) All Conservatorships and Guardianships of the Estate Only 

 
Copies of all supplemental or opposition papers must be served on the Office of the Probate 
Court Investigator at least five (5) court days before the hearing, with the scheduled 
hearing date noted on the face sheet.  
 

3. RULE 6.2(E)(3) Decedent’s Estates and Trust Matters 
 

Copies of all supplemental or opposition papers must be served on the Probate Court 
Examiner at least five (5) court days before the hearing, with the scheduled hearing date 
noted on the face sheet.  

 
F. Hearings and Tentative Rulings 

 
1. RULE 6.2(F)(1) Notices of Hearing  

 
Notices of hearing on cases scheduled for hearing on the Regular Probate Calendar shall 
indicate that the time for the commencement of the calendar is 8:30 a.m. 

 
2. RULE 6.2(F)(2) Tentative Rulings – Regular Probate Calendar  

 
During the court day preceding each weekly Regular Probate Calendar, at 11:00 a.m. or as 
soon thereafter as possible, the Court will cause to be recorded a tentative ruling for each 
matter noticed on such calendar.  The tentative ruling may be obtained by telephoning (707) 
521-6881 (chose Option #1) or online on the Court’s website at www.sonoma.courts.ca.gov 
(Click on the “Online Services” tab on the home page, select “Tentative Rulings” in the 
drop-down menu, and the click on the link to “Probate”).  The Tentative Rulings will also 
be posted at the probate department. 

 
a. Parties who do not object to the tentative ruling need not appear at the hearing, 

unless the ruling requires appearances or another party has requested a hearing 
pursuant to the procedure in subdivision (b) below. 

 
b. Any interested party who wishes to be heard in relation to the tentative ruling must 

call 707-521-6893 and leave a brief message that includes the name and telephone 
number of the party calling and the case name and number.  Any interested party 
who wishes to be heard in opposition to a petition must also notify the attorneys for 
all represented parties as well as all unrepresented parties of their intent to appear.  

http://www.sonoma.courts.ca.gov/


Notifications to the court and all attorneys and unrepresented parties must be 
completed no later than 4:00 p.m. on the court day immediately preceding the day 
of the hearing. 

 
c. Unless notification has been given as provided in b, above, the tentative rulings 

shall become the rulings of the court at 8:45 a.m. on the day of the hearing 15 
minutes after the scheduled calendar time.  Signed orders on approved matters are 
generally available at that time at the Probate Clerk’s office for filing in person. 

 
  3. RULE 6.2(F)(3) Tentative Rulings - Guardianship Calendar 
 

During the court day preceding each weekly guardianship calendar, commencing at 11:00 
a.m., or earlier if feasible, the Court will cause to be recorded a tentative ruling for each 
matter noticed on such calendar.  The tentative ruling may be obtained by telephoning (707) 
521-6881 (Opt. #1) or by accessing the Court’s  website at www.sonoma.courts.ca.gov and 
selecting the option for Tentative Rulings. The tentative rulings will also be posted at the 
guardianship department. 
   
a. Parties who do not object to the tentative ruling need not appear at the hearing, 

unless the ruling requires appearances or another party has requested a hearing 
pursuant to the procedure in subdivision (b), below.  

     
b. Any interested party who wishes to be heard in relation to /the tentative ruling must 

call 707-521-6893 and leave a brief message that includes the name and telephone 
number of the party calling and the case name and number.  Any interested party 
who wishes to be heard in opposition to a petition must also notify the attorneys for 
all represented parties as well as all unrepresented parties of their intent to appear.  
Notifications to the court and all attorneys and unrepresented parties must be 
completed no later than 4:00 p.m. on the court day immediately preceding the day 
of the hearing. 

c. Unless notification  has been given as provided in b,  above, the tentative rulings 
shall become the rulings of the court when announced by the courtroom clerk at 
9:15a.m. on the day of the hearing. 

 
  4. RULE 6.2(F)(4) Appearances  
 

No appearances are required for pre-approved matters unless an interested person has asked 
to be heard in response to the tentative ruling and has given the required notice of such a 
request. 

 
G. Contested Matters 

 
1. RULE 6.2(G)(1) Written Objections   

 
a. Before the Court will conduct a hearing in any contested proceeding, the party(ies) 

opposing or objecting to a petition, accounting or other matter scheduled for 
hearing shall file verified, written objections specifying the grounds for such 
objection or opposition. If oral objections are made at a hearing, the court may 
continue the matter in order to have the objections submitted in writing.  

 
b. Interested persons who oppose the granting of a petition for appointment of a 

guardian are encouraged to use Sonoma County form PR-9 (Objection(s) to 
Appointment of Guardian of the Person) to file objections.  

 
2. RULE 6.2(G)(2) Meet and Confer Requirement  

 
In the event of any contest or objection to any petition on the probate calendar, the parties 
or his or her respective attorneys shall make a reasonable and good faith attempt to 
informally resolve the controversy at a face-to-face conference, if possible, otherwise by 

http://www.sonoma.courts.ca.gov/


telephone conference, before any hearing of the contested petition.  If such resolution is not 
possible, then each party shall file a Statement of Issues as provided in 3, below. 
 

3. RULE 6.2(G)(3) Statement of Issues or Settlement 
 

At least five (5) court days before the hearing, each party shall either (1) notify the Probate 
Clerk in the Superior Court Clerk's office or the probate department that the controversy 
has been resolved; or (2) file and serve the Statement of Issues.  Each Statement of Issues 
must: 

 
a. Indicate that the parties or his or her respective attorneys have met face-to-face or, 

if that is not possible, have participated in a telephone conference to discuss the 
issues in dispute, 

 
b. identify the substantial issues in the controversy, with references to any supporting 

evidence and/or legal authority, 
 
c. include each party’s opinion of any barriers to settlement, 
 
d. Provide an estimate of the time requirement for the hearing or resolution, 

 
e. Include each party's opinion as to the appropriate method for resolving the 

controversy (i.e., mediation, arbitration, short cause trial, etc.). 
 
4. RULE 6.2(G)(4) Contested Matters on Probate Calendar    

 
When the hearing on a contested matter is estimated to be 20 minutes or less, the hearing 
will be held before the Probate Judge on the  Regular Probate Calendar if time permits.  
Otherwise, the matter will be set for an extended hearing. 

 
  5. RULE 6.2(G)(5) Transfer to Trial Calendar 
  

If the hearing on a contested matter is estimated to exceed twenty (20) minutes or a jury 
trial is demanded, and counsel appear at the probate calendar, the matter may be transferred 
to the short cause calendar or may be assigned directly to one judge for all purposes. 
  
   

H. Ex Parte Matters 
 

1. RULE 6.2(H)(1) Presentation of Emergency Probate Petitions  
 

If a party has reason to believe that orders are urgently needed to prevent irreparable harm 
to person or property, the petition may be presented on the civil/probate ex parte calendar.  
The petition must be accompanied by a declaration setting forth the facts upon which the 
petitioner is basing the allegation.  The petition must be accompanied by a declaration 
identifying the persons entitled to notice under the applicable sections of the Probate Code 
or these rules, and either proof of service of notice or a statement of the facts which the 
petitioner believes justify an order dispensing with notice. Filing fees must be paid and a 
case number assigned before a party presents an ex parte application. 
 
All ex parte probate matters shall be presented to the Probate Judge at the times and 
locations designated in Rule 17.  Filing fees must be paid and a case number assigned 
before a party presents an ex parte application. 
 

  2. RULE 6.2(H)(2) Contents of Petition    
 

A petition for an ex parte order must be verified and must contain sufficient evidentiary 
facts to justify issuing the order.  Conclusions or statements of ultimate facts are not 
sufficient, and a foundation should be shown for the petitioner's personal knowledge. 



 
  3. RULE 6.2(H)(3) Special Notice Allegation  
 

All petitions for ex parte orders must contain a statement on requests for special notices.  
The statement shall either recite that no request for special notice is in effect or shall list the 
parties requesting special notice and attach the specific waivers of notice by such parties or 
proof of service on such parties. 

 
  4. RULE 6.2(H)(4) Notice to Counsel/Opposing Party  
 

Notice shall be provided in accordance with the Califonia Rules of Court applicable to civil 
ex parte matters. 

 
  5. RULE 6.2(H)(5) Notice to Probate Court Investigator 
 

Notice to the Probate Court Investigator shall be given when required under Local Rule 6.4. 
 

  6. RULE 6.2(H)(6) Order Must Accompany Petition  
 

Except where a Judicial Council or a local form is used that includes an order, a petition for 
an ex parte order must be accompanied by a separate order that is complete in itself.  It is 
not sufficient for such order to provide merely that the application has been granted, or that 
the sale of property or security set forth in the petition has been approved.  The order must 
specify all relief ordered by the court. 
 

I.    Orders on Matters Not Requiring Hearing  
 
 1. RULE 6.2(I)(1) Conditions Required: 

 
Petitions may be presented to the Probate Clerk for submission to the Probate Judge without a 
hearing, when the following circumstances exist: 

 
1a. The Order requested is one for which no hearing is required, or the Order is 

necessary in less time than is required to obtain a hearing date on the  Regular 
Probate Calendar, and 

 
2a. Either notice is not required in accordance with the Probate Code or these Rules, or 

notice has been waived by all persons entitled to notice, and 
 

3a. The petition or other relief requested is not contested. 
 

 2. RULE 6.2(I)(2) Verification: 
  

A petition for an ex parte order must be verified, either in the petition or by a support 
declaration under penalty of perjury, and must contain sufficient evidentiary facts to justify 
issuing the order.  Conclusions or statements ultimate facts are not sufficient and a 
foundation should be shown for the petitioner’s personal knowledge. 
 
 

 3. RULE 6.2(I)(3) Notice: 
  

For petitions for an ex parte order, three (3) days’ notice, by telephone, email, or personal 
service, must be given to all interested parties.  Proof of service must be attached to the 
petition. 

 
 4. RULE 6.2(I)(4) Special Notice: 
 

All petitions for ex parte orders must contain a statement of special notice.  The statement 
shall either recite that no request is on file and in effect or shall list the parties requesting 



special notice and shall attach the proof of service on such parties or specific waivers of 
notice. 

 
 
J. RULE 6.2(J) Appointment of Probate Referee  

      
Where the relevant Judicial Council form order includes a provision for the appointment of the 
probate referee, the appointment of the probate referee will be made on the form (e.g., Order for 
Probate, Order Appointing Conservator, etc).  Unless the appointment of a particular referee is 
requested by the fiduciary in a petition as per Probate Code section 8921 et seq, and designated by 
the court, the appointment of the probate referee will be made on a rotating basis among the probate 
referees appointed for the county.   In pending cases for which a probate referee has not been 
appointed in the initial order appointing the fiduciary, an application for appointment of a probate 
referee shall be submitted to the office of the Clerk on Sonoma County Local Form PR-1.  The 
Application for appointment of a probate referee may be submitted as an “Order on Matter Not 
Requiring Hearing” under Local Rule 6.2.I. 

 
K. RULE 6.2 (K) Compliance with Filing Deadlines 

 
All Probate Code and Court ordered due dates for filing shall be strictly observed (e.g., inventories, 
accountings, status reports and receipts on blocked accounts).  Failure to comply with statutory or 
Court ordered filing deadline requirements may result in imposition of surcharges and/or sanctions 
absent a showing of good cause for the late filing.  
(Eff. 1/1/1997; Rev. 7/1/2006, 1/1/2007, 7/1/2007, 7/1/2009, 1/1/2010, 7/1/2010, 7/1/2013, 
1/1/2014; 1/1/2015, 1/1/2017) 
 

6.3 RULES REGARDING DECEDENTS’ ESTATES 
 
 A.  RULE 6.3(A) Duties and Liabilities of Personal Representative  
 

The Sonoma County Superior Court does not require filing of the Confidential Supplement to 
Duties and Liabilities of Personal Representative, as authorized in Probate Code §8404(a).  
 

 B.  RULE 6.3(B) Continuance to Permit Filing of Contest  
 

When a petition for the probate of a Will is called for hearing and an attorney or party appears and 
orally objects and declares that a written contest will be filed, the Court may continue the hearing 
for a reasonable length of time not  less than four (4) weeks with the condition that if such written 
contest  has not  been filed prior to the continued date, the hearing will proceed as if no objection 
had been made by said attorney or party, unless the court finds good cause exists for a further 
continuance.  
 

 C.  Claims of Personal Representative and Attorneys of Record  
 

1.  RULE 6.3(C)(1) Noticed Hearing  
 
A noticed petition for approval of a creditor's claim of the personal representative or of his attorney 
of record  is required, except as provided below.  All parties must receive at least fifteen (15) days’ 
notice of the hearing.  The creditor's claim shall be complete with approval signed by all personal 
representatives in the proceeding.  

 
2.  RULE 6.3(C)(2) Ex parte approval  
 
A petition and creditor's claim for any of the following claims that complies with the above rule 
(except for the fifteen (15) day notice requirement) may be presented and considered by the court 
ex parte.  
 
a.  The claim is for reimbursement of funeral and last illness expense, and proof of payment is 
attached to the claim;  



 
b.  The claim, together with all other claims of that personal representative or attorney, except 
for reimbursement of funeral and last illness expenses, is less than $2,500.00;  
 
c.  A written approval signed by all persons whose interest might be affected by the approval is 
attached to the claim;  
 
d.  The personal representative has complied with the provisions of the Independent 
Administration of Estates Act with respect to the proposed payment of said claim; or  
 
e.  A claim is for an amount certain and based upon a prior court order, which is attached to 
the creditor's claim. 

 
 D.  RULE 6.3(D) Content of Orders of Distribution  
 

Every order of distribution, whether or not an accounting has been waived, must set forth 
specifically the manner in which the estate is to be distributed by showing each distributee’s name 
and a description of the property, including the full legal description and assessor’s parcel number 
for real property, and the amount of cash (as of a date certain) to be distributed. Descriptions must 
be complete and must not require reference to the petition or to any extrinsic document.   

 
 E. Accountings 
 

1. RULE 6.3(E)(1) General Format 
 
Accounting format details and contents shall be in strict conformance with California law, including 
but not limited to the Probate Code and California Rules of Court.   

 
   2. RULES 6.3(E)(2) Supplemental and Amended Accounts 
 

A supplemental account in a decedent's estate shall include only receipts and disbursements 
occurring since the ending date of the last filed account.  Generally a supplemental account is not to 
be used to amend or correct the last filed account.  An amended account may be filed to amend or 
correct such last account.  Any supplemental or amended account shall be noticed for hearing 
unless the Court by order dispenses with notice. 
 
3.  Rule 6.3(E)(3): Notation of Omitted Schedules 
 
Where a particular schedule is unnecessary, it need not be included and that fact must be noted in 
the Summary of Account with the word “none” in the blank provided for the total from the 
schedule.  
 

F.  Retention of Closing Reserve: 
 
1.  Rule 6.3(F)(1): Informal Accounting 
 
Petitions for final distribution that request the retention of funds from distribution (a closing 
reserve) in excess of $5,000.00 shall be subject to an informal accounting to be filed with the Court 
within six (6) months of the date of the order for final distribution. The informal accounting shall be 
filed with the Court ten (10) days prior to the six-month status hearing which the Court shall set at 
the time the order for final distribution is made. If the informal accounting is timely filed and meets 
with the Court’s satisfaction, the status hearing for the informal accounting may come off calendar 
and no appearance at the hearing will be required. 
 
2. Rule 6.3(F)(2):  Requirements of Order for Final Distribution 
 
Where the closing reserve is in excess of $5,000.00 an order for final distribution of an estate shall 
specifically set forth the use that may be made of the funds retained for closing reserve. The 
informal accounting of funds retained for closing reserve shall specify the date of payments and all 



uses of the retained funds (i.e., income taxes, final closing costs, property tax assessments). The 
Court in its discretion may require a noticed hearing on the accounting and/or a more formal 
accounting of the funds retained for closing reserve. 
 
3.  Rule 6.3(F)(3):  Requirements of Application for Final Discharge 
 
Where the closing reserve is in excess of $5,000.00 the application for final discharge of the 
personal representative must include the disposition of all funds retained for closing reserve and 
receipts from beneficiaries shall be filed for any distributions of the retained funds to beneficiaries. 
 
4.  Rule 6.3(F)(4):  Prohibitied Uses 
 
No closing reserve funds shall be used for attorney fees or personal representative commissions. 
 (Eff. 1/1/1997; Rev. 1/1/1999, 7/1/2007, 1/1/2009, 7/1/2010, 1/1/2015, 2017) 

 
6.4 CONSERVATORSHIPS AND GUARDIANSHIPS 
 

A. Conservatorship Petitions and Selection of Hearing Date 
 

In all cases, a Petition for Appointment of Probate Conservator must be filed with the Clerk of the 
Court and a case number issued. Conservatorship petitions and hearings should be set for hearing, 
based upon the severity of the proposed conservatee’s impairments and risk of harm pending 
hearing, as follows: 

 
  1. 6.4(A)(1) Probate Conservatorships Generally 
 

Prior to selecting a hearing date, petitioner shall contact the Office of the Sonoma County 
Court Investigator to determine the amount of time it will require to complete the required 
investigation and report. 

 
  2. RULE 6.4(B)(2) Temporary Conservatorship 
 

Where the petitioner believes that the proposed conservatee will suffer harm or substantial 
loss prior to the hearing date on the Petition for Appointment of Probate Conservator, 
petitioner may also file a Petition for Temporary Conservatorship.  In all such cases, the 
Petition for Appointment of Probate Conservator must first be on file in the clerk’s office 
and a case number issued before a Petition for Temporary Conservatorship will be heard. 

 
   a. Regular Notice: 
 

Normally, a Petition for Temporary Conservatorship should be noticed for hearing 
at the time normally set aside for probate matters.  Petitioner should contact the 
Office of the Sonoma County Court Investigator to determine a hearing date next 
available allowing for at least ten (10) days’ notice of the petition. 

 
   b. Emergency Circumstances Ex Parte Application: 
 

In very rare circumstances where the proposed conservatee is in immediate and 
grave danger of physical or irreparable financial harm, petitioner may notice the 
Petition for Temporary Conservatorship to be heard on the ex parte calendar.  
Petitioner should contact the Office of the Sonoma County Court Investigator as 
soon as the necessity for such a hearing becomes apparent.   

 
 B. Required Documents in Conservatorship Cases   
 

In addition to the pleadings and papers normally required in a conservatorship matter, the following 
special instructions apply: 

 
  1. RULE 6.4(B)(1) Appointment of Court Investigator  



 
The Sonoma County Court Investigator shall be appointed for all conservatorship cases 
(excluding LPS conservatorships).  Petitioner must submit the proposed Order Appointing 
Court Investigator to the Clerk with the first-filed Petition for Appointment of Probate 
Conservator, requesting appointment of the Office of the Sonoma County Court 
Investigator, with Boxes next to paragraphs 1 and 3 checked, at a minimum. (Judicial 
Council form GC 330) 

 
  2.  RULE 6.4(B)(2) Conservatorship Handbook 
 

The required DUTIES OF CONSERVATOR AND ACKNOWLEDGMENT OF RECEIPT 
OF HANDBOOK (Judicial Council Form GC 348) shall be submitted with the first filed 
Petition for Appointment of Probate Conservator.  The HANDBOOK FOR 
CONSERVATORS is available at: 
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/conservatorship_handbook.pdf. 

  
  3.  RULE 6.4(B)(3) Notification of Change of Contact Information   
 

Any time the conservator or guardian or the conservatee or ward has a change of contact 
information, the Notification of Change of Contact Information shall be filed and served on 
the Office of the Probate Court Investigator.  (Sonoma County Local Form PR-3) 

 
  4.  RULE 6.4(B)(4) Confidential Contact Information Form  
 

The Confidential Contact Information Form must be filed with all petitions for appointment 
of a conservator, including appointment of temporary, successors or co-conservators, and 
all petitions for approval of accounts of a conservatorship estate.  The Confidential Contact 
Information Form shall be marked as “CONFIDENTIAL” and placed in the “SECRET” 
section of the court file.  (Sonoma County Local Form PR-12) 

 
 C. Court Investigator Procedures 
 
  1.  RULE 6.4(C)(1) Calendaring Conservatorship Hearings When Investigation Required 
 

When an investigation is required pursuant to Probate Code § 1826 and 1851, the petitioner 
or his/her attorney shall contact the Office of the Sonoma County Court Investigator to 
determine the amount of time required to complete the investigation and report and to select 
a hearing date.   

 
  2.  RULE 6.4(C)(2) Documents to Be Served on Court Investigator  
 

a. Copies of ALL papers filed in each conservatorship proceeding, and the proposed 
Order for any petition filed, shall be served on the Office of the Sonoma County 
Court Investigator at the time of filing.  Service on the Court Investigator shall be 
shown on the Proof of Service filed with the clerk. 

 
b. Where a party intends to submit a Petition for Temporary Conservatorship on an ex 

parte basis, copies of ALL papers filed or presented to the court in support of such 
a petition shall be served on the Office of the Sonoma County Court Investigator no 
later than five (5) court days prior to the ex parte hearing. 

 
c.   Any opposition to an ex parte petition shall be served on the Office of the Probate 

Court Investigator no later than one full day prior to the ex parte hearing. 
 



D. Procedures Specific to Guardianship Matters 
 
  1.  RULE 6.4(D)(1)Probate Court Investigator   
 

The Office of the Probate Court Investigator oversees initial and subsequent probate 
petitions involving the guardian of the person, including cases involving both guardianship 
of the person and estate.    

 
  2.  RULE 6.4(D)(2) Report of Proposed Guardian   
 

 A Report of Proposed Guardian Form shall be filed with any Petition for Appointment of 
Guardian.  (Sonoma County Local Form PR-2) 

 
  3.  RULE 6.4(D)(3) Documents to Be Served on Court Investigator 
 

a. Copies of ALL papers filed in cases involving guardianship of the person, 
including cases involving guardianship of both person and estate, shall be served on 
the Office of the Probate Court Investigator at the time of filing, including 
proposed Orders for any Petition filed. Service on the Probate Court Investigator 
shall be shown on the proof of service filed with the clerk.  The Office of the 
Probate Court Investigator may recommend whether or not the Court should 
require an investigation under Probate Code § 1513.   

 
b. Copies of ALL papers filed in cases involving guardianship of the estate only, and 

proposed Orders for any petition filed, shall be served on the Office of the Probate 
Court Investigator at the time of filing.  Service on the Office of the Probate Court 
Investigator shall be shown on the proof of service filed with the clerk. 

 
4. RULE 6.4(D)(4) Temporary Guardianship Petitions 
 

a. Applications for Temporary Guardianships of the Person may be submitted to the 
Sonoma County Court Clerk’s Office, Probate Division, Monday through Friday, 
during normal business hours. 

 
Applications must be submitted between 8:00a.m. and 8:30a.m. Orders will be 
available for pickup after 2:00 p.m. the day after the order is submitted.   
 
A party or attorney for a party can call (707) 521-6893 to be informed of the status 
of the application. 

 
b. Opposition papers may be submitted in person at the Sonoma County Court Clerk’s 

Office, Probate Division.  A copy of the opposition papers shall also be served 
personally or by fax on the opposing party by 8:00 a.m. on the day of judicial 
review.  If service of the opposition papers is not possible, an ex parte declaration 
shall be filed providing the reasons for the lack of service.  (Sonoma County Form 
FL9). 

 
c.  Judicial review of the applications for ex parte orders shall be conducted Monday 

through Friday beginning at 8:30 a.m.  
 
d. Notice:   The moving party must give notice of the ex parte request.  The notice 

SHALL include copies of ALL papers submitted to the court.  This notice 
requirement can be waived by the court if (1) notice is impossible, or (2) notice 
would frustrate the very purpose of the order, or (3) immediate and irreparable 
harm could be suffered if notice were given.  (Sonoma County Local Form FL10 
should accompany the application.) 

 
5. RULE 6.4(D)(5) Petition for Visitation 

 



A request for an order of visitation will be filed using Local Form PR-15, which can be 
located on the court’s public website.  The petition will be filed and served on all parties 
following the Probate Code, California Rules of Court and Local Rules for 
Conservatorships and Guardianships. 

 
 E. Independent Powers under Probate Code §2591 et. seq. 
 

The provisions of this section apply both to conservatorship and guardianship matters.  For 
simplicity only, the terminology for conservatorships is used. 

   
  1. RULE 6.4(E)(1) Necessity Required    
 

The conservator of the estate has broad powers to act for the conservatee's benefit under the 
Probate Code.  The Court will generally limit a grant of Independent Powers under Probate 
Code §2590 et. seq. to specific factual situations where necessity requires independent 
powers. 

 
  2. RULE 6.4(E)(2) Special Rules for Independent Powers    
 

The following rules shall apply to all cases involving requests for independent powers, 
except LPS conservatorships: 

 
a. Temporary Conservatorship of the Estate:   
             Independent powers will be granted in a temporary conservatorship of the estate 

only in unusual situations upon a showing of good cause. 
 

b. Factual Showing:  
            Any request for independent powers shall be accompanied by an affidavit or 

declaration setting forth the facts which explain why: (1) the power requested is 
needed to administer the estate or protect the conservatee; and (2) granting such 
power would be to the advantage, benefit and in the best interests of the estate and 
the conservatee. 

 
c. Specific Enumeration of Powers:   
             Each power must be described in detail.  Quoting the specific language of the 

subsection enumerating the requested power is preferred.  It is not sufficient to 
incorporate by reference Probate Code §2591 in the petition. 

 
d. Real Property Description: 
           Where the power to sell real property is requested, the request shall describe the real 

property to be sold by the street address or legal description, and whether or not the 
property is the conservatee's home or former home.  The notices of the request shall 
include the street address. 

 
e. Court Confirmation of Real Property Sales:   
             Where the independent power to sell real property is granted, the Court will 

normally require the sale be returned to the court for confirmation.  This 
requirement may be waived by the Court upon showing of good cause. 

  
f. Enumerated Special Powers in Order and Letters:  
             Any special powers granted must be set forth in detail in the Order and in the 

Letters of Conservatorship.  In addition, if the power to sell real property has been 
granted, the Order and Letters shall describe the property to be sold by street 
address or legal description, and whether court confirmation of the sale is required. 

 
 F. Conservatorship/Guardianship Accountings 
 
  1. RULE 6.4(F)(1) Format    
 



Accounts of conservators and guardians shall follow the format prescribed in these Local 
Rules for decedents' estates in the Probate Code and California Rules of Court. 
 

  2. RULE 6.4(F)(2) Adequacy of Bond 
 

Reports of conservators and guardians shall state the total amount of the current bond and 
whether additional bond is necessary.  The report shall set forth the calculation of the 
minimum bond amount, including the amount for recovery. Each report should also specify 
any blocked bank accounts or assets and the current value of any such assets.  Any 
significant changes in the value of assets should be reported, together with the effect on the 
adequacy of the bond.   

 
  3. RULE 6.4(F)(3) Requests for Extension of Accountings 
 

Extensions to file accounts in conservatorships and guardianships may be approved in the 
court’s discretion.  When requesting an extension, the conservator/guardian shall do so by 
filing an ex parte application and declaration in support of the extension as an“Order on 
Matter Not Requiring a Hearing” under Local Rule 6.2.I. 
 

4.  RULE 6.4(F)(4) Original Account Statements in Conservatorship and Guardianship Matters  
 

Wherever the Probate Code requires the filing of original financial account, billing and/or 
escrow statements, such statements will be “lodged” with the clerk and not filed. The 
original statements will be returned to the party filing the account after the Court’s 
determination of the Account becomes final. Statements shall be organized by account, and 
then chronologically for each account. The account statements shall not be attached to the 
pleadings but contained in an 9" x 12" envelope with the case title and number written on it, 
together with a brief description of the contents (e.g. “Original bank statements for the 
account period XXXXX to XXXXX”), which envelope shall be prominently marked 
“CONFIDENTIAL”. The statements shall also be accompanied by a self-addressed 
envelope of sufficient size and with sufficient postage affixed for the return of the 
statements after the determination of the account becomes final. 

 
  5. RULE 6.5(F)(5) Waiver of Accounts  
 

a. General Rule.  Except as noted below, no request or petition for waiver of any 
account or final account (upon the death of the conservatee or minor) in any 
conservatorship or guardianship will be approved. 

 
b. Small Estates.  Waivers of Account in conservatorships and guardianships may be 

approved for small estates in the court's discretion under the provisions of Probate 
Code §2628.  The conservator/guardian shall request the waiver of account by 
completing and filing the local form PR6, and submitting the request as  an “Order 
on Matter Not Requiring Hearing” as described in Local Rule 6.2.I.  After the court 
has ordered a waiver of accounting in either a conservatorship or guardianship, the 
conservator/guardian shall either biennially file the local form PR-6 if the estate 
continues to meet the conditions of Probate Code §2628 to waive an account, or file 
an account and report. 

 
c. Guardianship Final Account Waivers.  Waivers of final guardianship accounts 

on termination are discouraged.  Where the ward waives the final account, the court 
may require the ward to be present at the hearing. 

 
 G. Final Distribution in Conservatorships and Guardianships. 
 
  1. RULE 6.4(G)(1) Investigator's Assessment on Final Accounting   
 

Prior to the filing of a Petition for Termination of a conservatorship, counsel shall contact 
the Court Investigator to determine the Court Investigator's assessment of the 



conservatorship estate for services rendered.  A request to pay the assessment and the 
amount of the assessment shall be included in the petition and final account and order 
thereon.   

 
2. RULE 6.4(G)(2) Small Estates 
 

If the value of the conservatorship/guardianship estate does not exceed the amount 
determined under Probate Code § 13100 and distribution is intended by affidavit procedure 
pursuant to Probate Code § 13101, notice of hearing, a copy of the final account and report 
of the conservator/guardian, and a copy of the petition for final distribution, shall be served 
on the successor(s) of the deceased conservatee/ward. 

 
  3. RULE 6.4(G)(3) Other Probate Estates 
    

In all other cases, a petition for final distribution upon the death of conservatee or ward 
shall be approved only after appointment of a personal representative of the estate of the 
conservatee/ward.  The final account and petition for distribution of the 
conservator/guardian shall identify the personal representative and the court and case 
number of the probate proceeding for the deceased conservatee/ward.  Notice of hearing, a 
copy of the final account and report of conservator/guardian, and a copy of the petition for 
final distribution, shall be served on the personal representative of the estate of the deceased 
conservatee/ward. 

 
 H. Limited and LPS Conservatorships 
 
  1. RULE 6.4(H)(1) Limited Conservatorship Filings   
 

Every conservatorship involving a developmentally disabled proposed conservatee shall be 
filed as a limited conservatorship proceeding. 

 
  2. RULE 6.4(H)(2) Disclosure of Developmental Disability   
 

The involvement of a developmentally disabled conservatee shall be clearly set forth in all 
conservatorship and guardianship petitions and accountings. 

 
  3. RULE 6.4(H)(3) Limited Conservatorships  Regional Center 
 
   a. Calendar Setting if Regional Center Report Required  
 

Any conservatorship proceeding requiring a Regional Center report shall be set at 
least thirty (30) days after mailing notice of the proceeding to the Regional Center, 
to allow the Regional Center report to be filed prior to the hearing. 

 
   b. Regional Center and Public Defender Appointment   
 

The Order Appointing Regional Center (Sonoma County Local Form # PR-4) may 
be utilized to facilitate ordering the Regional Center report and appointment of the 
Public Defender to represent the conservatee.  Such Orders shall be submitted with 
the initial Petition. 

 
  4. RULE 6.4(H)(4) Review of General Conservatorships   
 

In existing general conservatorships involving a developmentally disabled conservatee the 
court may direct that a new petition for conservatorship be filed under the limited 
conservatorship code provisions. 

 
  5. RULE 6.4(H)(5) Accountings    
 



Any accounting required in LPS or limited conservatorship matters shall comply with 
accounting requirements in other Sonoma County conservatorship estate matters unless 
otherwise directed by the court designated to hear the LPS calendar.  A copy of limited 
conservatorship or LPS accountings shall be furnished to the Office of the Probate Court 
Investigator at the time of filing. 
 

  6. RULE 6.5(H)(6) Closed Status of Reports   
 

Reports by a Regional Center and the Office of the Probate Court Investigator, and other 
documents or materials containing sensitive information filed in LPS and limited 
conservatorship hearings, shall be maintained in a confidential status in the case file with 
disclosure only to authorized persons pursuant to Court order.  
(Eff. 1/1/1997; Rev.7/1/2006, 1/1/2007, 7/1/2007, 1/1/2008, 7/1/2009, 1/1/2010, 7/1/2010, 
1/1/2011, 7/1/2012, 1/1/2014, 1/1/2015, 1/1/2017) 

 
6.5 COMPENSATION OF FIDUCIARIES AND ATTORNEYS 
 
 A. RULE 6.5(A) Fees and Commissions in General 
 

All requests for compensation of fiduciaries and attorneys in decedent’s estates, guardianship, 
conservatorship and trust proceedings shall be submitted in strict compliance with the Code of Civil 
Procedure, Probate Code, California Rules of Court, and these local rules. 

 
 B. Fees for Extraordinary Services in Decedents' Estates 
 
  1. RULE 6.4(B)(1) General Rule 
 

Each request for fees for extraordinary services will be considered on its individual merits.  
Such services may include, but shall not be limited to, leases and foreclosures of real 
property, tax matters (including preparation of returns, audits and tax litigation), operating a 
business, heirship proceedings, special services that may be necessary for the personal 
representative or attorney to perform, and those matters specifically mentioned in the 
California Rules of Court.  

 
  2. RULE 6.5(B)(2) Determination of Entitlement and Amount  
 

In addition to the factors set forth in California Rules of Court, the Court may consider the 
following factors, among others, in exercising its discretion in any application for fees for 
extraordinary services: 
 
a. Time devoted to the matter categorized by subject matter of services provided.  The 
 Court must be provided with a statement of facts containing sufficient information 
 in order to enable it to analyze the reasonableness of the rate and the amount of 
 time devoted to the matter.  Detailed time records may be provided to support the 
 statement of facts, but are not required in all cases. 
 
b. The benefits of the services to the estate.  It is recognized that the representative or 
 his or her attorney may occasionally be under a duty to pursue certain matters 
 which do not provide a financial gain to the estate.  Such services may nevertheless 
 be compensable. 
 
c. Whether, if not performed by the attorney or personal representative, the 
 extraordinary services would have been performed by an independent professional 
 and the reasonable expected cost of such independent services. 

     
  3. RULE 6.5(B)(3) Service of Petition for Compensation  
 

In addition to other papers required to be served, copies of any petitions requesting 
allowance of fees or commissions for extraordinary services in decedents’ estates shall be 



served on all persons entitled to receive notice of the hearing on the petition (except 
beneficiaries of specific gifts whose interests are not affected by the compensation 
requested). 
 

4.  Rule 6.5(B)(4):  The court will allow the following amounts as extraordinary fees for 
attorneys without further justification or declaration as would otherwise be required by 
California Rules of Court, Rule 7.702-7.703: 

 
a.   One thousand dollars for court-confirmed sales of real property; and 
 
b.  Seven hundred fifty dollars for non court-confirmed sales of real property under the 

Independent Administration of Estates Act. 
 
 

5.  Rule 6.5(B)(5): Service of Petition for Compensation  
 

In addition to other papers required to be served, copies of any petitions requesting 
allowance of fees or commissions for extraordinary services in decedents’ estates shall be 
served on all persons entitled to receive notice of the hearing on the petition (except 
beneficiaries of specific gifts whose interests are not affected by the compensation 
requested). 

 
 
 C. Compensation of Conservators, Guardians and Their Legal Counsel 
 
  1. RULE 6.5(C)(1)Court Appointed Counsel for Conservatees 
 

Hourly rates for court appointed counsel for conservatees will be set at the time of 
appointment. 
 

       2. RULE 6.5(C)(2) Allowance of Fees   
 

Each request for fees in guardianship and conservatorship matters will be considered on its 
individual merits. 

 
  3. RULE 6.5(C)(3)Factors in Allowing Compensation 
 

In addition to the factors set forth in California Rules of Court, the Court may consider the 
following factors, among others, in exercising its discretion in any application for fees for 
services: 
 

a. Time devoted to the matter categorized by subject matter of services provided.  
The Court must be provided with a statement of facts containing sufficient 
information in order to enable it to analyze the reasonableness of the rate and the 
amount time devoted to the matter by each person whose time is charged. Time 
records may be provided to support the statement of facts, but are not required in 
all cases.  However, if the court has questions about fees, time records may be 
requested.  To avoid delay in approval of fees, counsel may want to submit time 
records at the time of filing their fee request. 
 

b. The quality and extent of the services performed. 
 

c. The responsibility assumed and exercised. 
 

d. In a final account, a reasonable estimate of work and time to complete estate 
affairs and distribution. 

 
  4. RULE 6.5(C)(4) Attorney Representing Conservatee or Ward  
 



An attorney representing the conservatee or ward may file a petition for fees at any time 
after the hearing on the petition for appointment of probate conservator or guardian. 

 
 D. Reimbursement of Costs in Conservatorships and Guardianships 
 

1. RULE 6.5(D)(1) Reimbursement of Costs.  
 

a. Allowed Reimbursements.  Allowable reimbursement of reasonable costs that 
benefit the conservatorship estate include, but are not limited to: 
i. Court Clerk’s fees; 
ii. Newspaper publication fees; 
iii. Surety bond premiums; and 
iv. Appraisal fees. 

 
b. Not reimbursable. The following costs are considered part of normal overhead 

and may not be reimbursed absent a showing of special circumstances:  
i. Routine photocopies and postage;  
ii. Secretarial time and paralegal time for secretarial services; 
iii. Local telephone calls; and 
iv. Mileage and parking.  

 
c. Reimbursed Only in Court’s Discretion.  The following costs may be reimbursed 

in the Court’s discretion:  
i. Unusually large costs for photocopies and postage;  
ii. Substitutes for U.S. Postal Service (Federal Express, UPS, etc.); 
iii. Long distance telephone; 
iv. Travel outside of Sonoma County; and 
v. Other costs found to be extraordinary. 

 
   (Eff. 1/1/1997; Rev. 1/1/1999, 7/1/2009, 7/1/2010, 01/01/2015; 1/1/2016, 1/1/2017) 
 
6.6 BONDS 
 

A.  RULE 6.6(A) Increasing or Decreasing Bond Amount 
 

The fiduciary may normally petition to increase or decrease the required amount of bond on an ex 
parte basis, using the procedure for  obtaining an "Order on Matter Not Requiring Hearing" 
described in Local Rule 6.2.I.  Where objections to the amount of bond are expected, the petition 
should be noticed for hearing on the regular probate calendar. 

 
B. RULE 6.6(B) Use of Blocked Accounts 

 
A fiduciary shall evaluate whether holding liquid assets in blocked accounts with financial 
institutions would be advantageous to the estate and request authorization for such holdings, where 
appropriate. 
 

 C. Waiver of Bond in Conservatorships and Guardianships 
 

The Court generally will not waive bond for conservatorships or guardianships except in the 
following circumstances: 

 
  1. RULE 6.6(C)(1) Conservator Spouse of Conservatee  
 

Where the conservator is the spouse of conservatee, all or most of the property of the 
conservatee is shown to be community property, to the Court's satisfaction, and the 
community property is to be excluded from estate administration. 

 
  2. RULE 6.6(C)(2) Conservatee Waiver   
 



In matters where the conservatee gives consent, as a competent person, to waiver of bond. 
 
  3. RULE 6.6(C)(3) Small Estates   
 

In small estates as defined in the Probate Code.  Sonoma County Local Form PR-6 is 
available for this purpose. 

 
 D. Reducing Bond Through Use of Blocked Account. 
 
  1. RULE 6.6(D)(1) Issuance of Letters  
 

Where assets are to be placed in a blocked account, the fiduciary shall file the Receipt and 
Acknowledgment of Order Restricting Release of Property of the Financial Institution 
within thirty (30) days of issuance of Letters.  Sonoma County Local Form PR-5 is 
available for this purpose. 
 
Proposed orders pertaining to blocked accounts should contain appropriate language to 
allow deposits in conformance with the Probate Code and Financial Code § 1586. 

  
 
  2. RULE 6.6(D)(2) After Appointment  
 

Bonds may be reduced at any time after appointment by an ex parte petition and order 
reducing bond, together with the Receipt and Acknowledgment of Order Restricting 
Release of Property of the Financial Institution showing that assets have been deposited.  
Such a petition must set forth the total assets of the estate and designate those held in 
blocked accounts.  The reduced bond must satisfy the minimum bond requirements.  Such a 
petition may be presented as an “Order on Matter Not Requiring Hearing”, as described in 
Local Rule 6.2.I. 

 
  3. RULE 6.6(D)(3) Direct Transmittal to Financial Institution  
 

If the assets to be deposited are in the possession of a financial institution other than the 
named financial institution, the order should direct the entity in possession to deliver such 
assets directly to the named financial institution and further direct the financial institution, 
on receiving such assets, to issue its receipt and agreement to the fiduciary, who shall 
forthwith file the same with the Court.   

 
  4. RULE 6.6(D)(4)Withdrawals or Releases from Blocked Accounts   
 

An application for an order authorizing release of assets from a blocked account may be 
submitted ex parte as an “Order on Matter Not Requiring Hearing” as described in Local 
Rule 6.2.I.  The petition should set forth the approximate value of the assets on hand, the 
approximate value of all assets in blocked accounts, the amount of the existing bond and 
the purpose for which the withdrawal is requested.   
 

 E. Discharge of Bond and Exoneration of Surety 
 

1. RULE 6.6(E)(1) Receipts Must be Filed 
 

Bond shall not be discharged and surety exonerated until all Receipts on Distribution have 
been filed with the Court. 

 
 
  2. RULE 6.6(E)(2) Guardianship Bonds on Termination 
 

The guardian of the estate shall maintain the guardianship bond during the one (1) year 
period that commences when the ward reaches the age of majority.  The Order terminating 



the guardianship of the estate may include an authorization to retain a reserve for payment 
of the bond premium for the additional one year period and related fees and costs. 
 
The Order terminating the guardianship of the estate may recite that the bond is discharged 
and the surety on the bond exonerated on the date that is one (1) year after the ward’s 18th 
birthday, unless suit has been filed within that one (1) year period. 

   (Eff. 1/1/1997; Rev. 1/1/2003, 1/1/2010, 7/1/2010, 01/01/2015, 1/1/2017) 
 
6.7 SALES OF REAL PROPERTY 
 
 A. Reappraisals 
   
  1.  Rule 6.7(A)(1):  When reappraisal is required 

 
When the date of the confirmation hearing is more than on year after date of death, a 
reappraisal for sale must be filed with the court before the confirmation hearing can 
proceed. 

  
  2.  Rule 6.7(A)(2):  Responsibility for performing reappraisal 
 

Reappraisals must be made by the probate referee unless the court has waived 
appointment of the referee. 

 
3.  Rule 6.7(A)(3):  Contents 

The following information should be inserted in the reappraisal for sale 
immediately after the legal description of the real property: 

  
(i) The appraised value as of the date of death; 

    (ii) The appraised value as of the date of the appraisal.  
 

B.  Rule 6.7(B): Notice of Confirmation Hearing 
  
In addition to complying with the requirements for notice that are contained in Probate Code 
section 10308, subdivision (c), notice of the hearing from confirmation of a sale of real property 
must be mailed at least 15 days prior to the hearing date to all heirs and beneficiaries who may have 
an interest in the subject real property.  

 
 
 A C. RULE 6.7(C) Overbids in Court Confirmation of Sale 
 

When there is successful overbid in open court on a sale of real property, counsel must complete 
and the successful bidder must sign an "Increased Bid In Open Court" form and file same.  
(Sonoma County Local Form PR-14)  The order will not be signed unless the form is filed.  Copies 
of the Increased Bid In Open Court form will be available in the Probate Department when a sale of 
real property is on calendar. 

 
 B D. RULE 6.7(D) No Commission -- Special Situations 
 

No real estate commission shall be allowed or credited to or for the benefit of a personal 
representative or fiduciary in the subject probate proceeding who is a licensed real estate broker or 
salesperson in any probate sale of real property in the proceeding, directly or indirectly.  The 
petition for confirmation of sale shall state any known claim of the personal representative, 
fiduciary or purchaser to all or any part of the proposed real estate commission, directly or 
indirectly. 

 
 C E. RULE 6.7(E) Disputes Between Agents or Brokers Regarding Compensation 
 



Should a dispute arise between agents or brokers seeking compensation upon the sale of real 
property under the purview of Section 10161 and/or Sections 10162.5 through 10166 of the Probate 
Code, there shall be a separate evidentiary hearing to resolve the dispute.  Before the hearing the 
agents or broker, or their respective attorney, shall "meet and confer" (face-to-face) in a reasonable 
and good faith attempt to resolve the dispute, informally or by other means, and notify the court of 
the results at least two (2) court days before the hearing.  The sale of real property may be 
confirmed at the hearing on the sale and need not be delayed by virtue of any dispute for 
compensation by or between real estate agents or brokers. 

 
 D F. RULE 6.7(F) Contracts With Broker or Agent 
 

Any application for order approving an exclusive listing agreement with a real estate broker or 
agent shall include a completed copy of the proposed written listing as an attachment. Such 
application may be submitted ex parte as an “Order on Matter Not Requiring Hearing” as described 
in Sonoma County Local Rule 6.2.I. (Eff. 1/1/1997; Rev. 1/1/1999, 7/1/2010, 01/01/2015, 1/1/2017) 

 
6.8:   INHERITANCE BY SURVIVING SPOUSE 
 

Formal probate of community property, quasi-community property, or separate property passing or 
confirmed to a surviving spouse in a decedent’s estate pursuant to Probate Code section 13502 must be 
supported by a timely written election expressing acknowledgement of a consideration of the alternative 
procedures available pursuant to Probate Code section 13650. Written elections pursuant to Probate Code 
section 13502 shall contain an express acknowledgment that the inclusion of property passing to or 
belonging to the surviving spouse in the probate estate could result in additional appraisal fees, 
commissions, and attorney fees. (Eff. 1/1/2017) 

 

RULE 9 RULES APPLICABLE TO FAMILY LAW PROCEEDINGS 
 
9.5 COLLABORATIVE LAW CASES 
 
C. As to any case designated as a collaborative law case, the court will: 
 

1. Consider collaborative counsel to be advisory and not attorneys of record, except as 
provided in paragraph A.2. of this rule. 
 
2. Refuse to set any hearings, impose discovery deadlines or enter scheduling orders. 
 
3. Give priority in processing of stipulated orders. 
 
4. Waive any requirement for payment of the respondent’s first appearance fee with the 
collaborative law stipulation and order. 
 
5. 4. Provide notice and an opportunity to be heard prior to any dismissal based upon a 
failure to prosecute or for delay. 

 
D. The designation of a case as a collaborative law case is totally voluntary and requires the 
agreement of all parties.  The collaborative law case designation will be removed upon stipulation or 
filing and service of a termination election as provided in the collaborative law stipulation and 
order.  In the event collaborative law procedures are terminated, any party filing a Request for 
Order shall include a request for scheduling of a case management conference prior to the hearing. 
 
E. Except as otherwise provided in this rule, collaborative law cases are governed by the Family 
Code and the California Rules of Court. (Eff. 1/1/2005; Rev. 7/1/2005, 7/1/2009, 7/1/2010, 
1/1/2013. 1/1/2017) 
 



9.12 EX PARTE/EMERGENCY FAMILY LAW ORDERS 
  Judicial Review 
 

Judicial review of the applications for ex parte/emergency family law orders shall be 
conducted Monday through Friday beginning at 10:00 a.m. by a judicial officer designated by 
the Presiding Judge. 
 
At the discretion of the judicial officer, oral argument may be taken.  If this is to occur, the 
court will notify counsel or parties by noon, a.m. on the day of the review.  If counsel or 
parties wish to appear by telephone, their pleadings shall so indicate. 
 
 
 

9.13 DOMESTIC AND CHILD SUPPORT CALENDARS 

E.  Financial Matters 
 
  1.   Financial Documents 
 

If financial matters are at issue, pursuant to CRC 5.92, the parties shall serve an Income and 
Expense Declaration or Financial Statement (Simplified) with the Request for Order or the 
Responsive Declaration, if spousal support or attorney fees F9.20 are an issue.  If the 
moving party is only seeking Family Code Section 271 fees (and no other financial relief), 
the moving party need not file an Income and Expense Declaration.  However, a party 
objecting to an attorney fee request based on their inability to pay attorney’s fees shall be 
required to file an Income and Expense Declaration.   The Income and Expense Declaration 
shall have the following documents attached: 

 
a. W-2's or 1099 forms if the income tax return is unavailable; and 

 
b.    Last three (3) pay stubs. 

 
c. Self-employed individuals shall attach a profit and loss statement for the preceding 

twelve (12) months, or other appropriate time period, at least as detailed as the IRS 
form Schedule C, to their Income and Expense Declaration. 

 
In addition, if more than three (3) months have elapsed since the filing of the Income and 
Expense Declaration, self-employed individuals shall prepare a supplemental profit and loss 
statement, again at least as detailed as the IRS form Schedule C, for the period of time 
between the ending date of the profit and loss statement attached to the Income and 
Expense Declaration and the time of the hearing.  Any supplemental profit and loss 
statement shall be delivered to the other party no later than three (3) court days preceding 
the hearing date. 

2.  Format and Timing 
 

All supporting documents shall be attached to the Income and Expense Declaration or 
Financial Statement (Simplified), except that income tax returns shall be exchanged 
between the parties and provided to the court as required by this rule, but shall not be filed 
with the court.  If the court determines that it wants to retain the tax returns they shall be 
sealed and maintained as a confidential record of the court pursuant to Family Code section 
3552(c). 
 
It is not necessary to deliver a copy of any documents obtained from the other side or 
known to be in their possession. 
 
Income and Expense Declaration or Financial Statement (Simplified) forms filed three (3) 
months or more before the date of the hearing are considered by the court out of date and 



require the filing of a new Income and Expense Declaration or Financial Statement 
(Simplified).  
 
In the event that depositions are necessary in connection with a Request for Order relating 
to financial matters, the deposition of any party may be bifurcated and taken as to financial 
issues without violating the statutory limitation of a single deposition, provided the notice 
of taking deposition specifies that only financial matters will be investigated and that the 
deposition will be adjourned to a later date for all other issues.  This procedure also may be 
applied to a deposition regarding issues which have been bifurcated for trial.   

F.  Attorney Fees  
 

With respect to requests for attorney’s fees and costs based on financial need this section has been 
superseded by California Rules of Court, Rule 5.427.  Please note, three new optional Judicial 
Council forms for requesting and responding to requests for attorney’s fees were approved effective 
January 1, 2012:  FL-158 (Supporting Declaration), FL-319 (Request), and FL-346 (Order 
Attachment). 
 
Requests for attorney’s fees as sanctions pursuant to Family Code § 271 must comply with the 
provisions of Rule 5.93 except that a request for § 271 sanctions need not be accompanied by a 
current Income and Expense Declaration.  However, a reply to a request for § 271 sanctions based 
on the inability to pay all or part of the fees requested as sanctions must be accompanied by a 
current income and Expense Declaration.  
(Eff. 7/1/2005; Rev. 1/1/2007, 7/1/2007, 1/1/2008, 7/1/2008, 1/1/2009, 7/1/2009, 7/1/2010, 
1/1/2011; Revised and Renumbered 7/1/2011 – formerly Rule 9.12; Rev. 1/1/2012, 7/1/12, 
1/1/2013, 7/1/2013, 7/1/14; 7/1/15, 1/1/2016, 1/1/17) 

 
9.17 PREPARATION OF ORDERS AFTER HEARING 
 
A. Unless otherwise ordered by the court, the moving party must, within ten (10) days of the 
ruling, prepare a written order following any hearing. Parties shall follow the procedures outlined in 
CRC 5.125. 
 
The preparing party must serve the order upon the responding party and the responding party shall 
within twenty(20) days of the ruling, approve or refuse the order stating an alternative proposed 
order. 
 
If the responding party fails to respond within twenty (20) days of the ruling, the preparing party 
must, within 25 days of the ruling, mail the order to the hearing judicial officer for signature, 
accompanied by a letter stating the events and circumstances surrounding the failure to approve the 
order or judgment and asking the judicial officer to sign it. 
 
If the preparing party fails to prepare, circulate and submit an order as required above, the 
responding party may prepare the order and serve it upon the other side for approval.  If the order 
is not approved nor suggestions made for its revision within 5 days of service of the proposed order, 
it may be submitted to the judicial officer for signature along with a letter describing the 
circumstances leading to the submission of the order. 
 
If there is a disagreement between the parties concerning the accuracy of a prepared order, the 
parties shall each submit their proposed order along with a copy of the court transcript, if needed, 
and the Court shall either issue its order or set the matter for a further hearing. 
 
B.  On the Child Support Calendar, the order shall be prepared and presented to the court for 
approval before the end of the court session whenever possible. 
 



C. On the Domestic Violence Calendar, the order shall be prepared and presented to the court 
for approval before the end of the court session. 
 
D. Any order that includes an order for child or family support shall have attached the following 
Judicial Council forms: 
 
1. Notice of Rights and Responsibilities, Health Care Costs and Reimbursement Procedures 
(Judicial Council form FL192); 
 
2. Information Sheet on Changing a Child Support Order (Judicial Council form FL 192 side 2);  
 
3. A Judicial Council approved computer generated support calculation.  If the parties do not 
agree upon a single calculation, each party may attach a computer generated calculation; and 
 
4. Notice of Rights and Responsibilities, Child Care Costs and Reimbursement Procedures if the 
order provides for payment of a percentage or ratio of child care costs (Sonoma County form 
FL020).  
 
In addition, the parties shall submit a completed Child Support Case Registry Form (Judicial Council 
form FL-191) with the order.  This form is not required if the local child support agency is an 
intervener in the case.  
 
E.   The Court shall set a compliance calendar date within 90 days after the hearing to assure the 
Order After Hearing is filed. 
 
F.    In accordance with LR 9.4.B.2, for cases in which both parties are self-represented, the Court 
may direct the Family Law Facilitator/Self Help Center staff to complete Judgment documents based 
on settlements reached during Settlement Conferences at court, or after Trial.  The Family Law 
Facilitator / Self Help Center is not limited to 10 days in which to draft the Judgment. 
 
After Settlement Conference, if the parties are not at court to review and sign the Judgment, the draft shall 
be mailed to the parties, who shall have 20 days from the days from the date the drafted Judgment is 
mailed in which to approve or refuse to sign the drafted Judgment.  
 
If the Judgment is approved by the parties, they shall cooperate in signing the Judgment and any other 
necessary documents, and submit them for filing prior to the date of the compliance date.  The parties may 
use the service of the Family Law Facilitator / Self Help Center staff for assistance in signing and 
submitting the Judgment documents.  Once the Judgment is filed, the compliance date shall be dropped. 
 
If either party refuses to approve the drafted Judgment, the refusing party shall provide the other party, in 
writing, with an itemization of objections and a proposed alternative to the drafted judgment. 
 
If the refusal is resolved, and parties agree to sign the proposed Judgment or an alternative to the 
Judgment, they shall follow the procedures after approval as stated in #2 above.   
 
If the parties do not resolve the refusal, they shall appear at the compliance hearing.   10 days prior to the 
hearing, the refusing party(ies) shall file and serve a declaration itemizing the items refused and the 
reasons for the refusal. 
 
After trial, drafted Judgment shall be submitted directly to the Judge for approval. 
(Eff. 1/1/2006; Rev. 1/1/2007, 7/1/2008, 7/1/2009, 7/1/2010; Revised and Renumbered  
  7/1/2011 – formerly Rule 9.14, 7/1/12, Rev., 1/1/2016, 1/1/2017) (Revised and renumbered 
1/1/2016) 



 
9.28 CASES DESIGNATED TO A PRIVATE JUDGE 
 
The Court will waive any requirement for payment of the respondent’s first appearance fee with the 
stipulation and order appointing private judge. (Eff. 7/1/15) (renumbered 1/1/2016, Repealed 1/1/2017) 
 
 
9.31  POST-JUDGMENT GRANDPARENT VISITATION   
Petitioner(s) shall file the Petition for Grandparent Visitation (Local Form FL-038). A completed 
Summons (SUM-100) and Declaration under the Uniform Child custody Jurisdiction and 
Enforcement Act (FL-105) shall accompany the Petition.  The documents shall then be personally 
served on each of the parents of the minor(s), and/or any other parties who have physical custody 
of the minor(s).  
[Effective July 1, 2016] 
 
 

RULE 11 RULES APPLICABLE TO APPELLATE DIVISION PROCEEDINGS 
 
11.1 LIMITED CIVIL CASES 

 
F. This rule shall not be deemed to preclude the parties’ rights to proceed pursuant to California Rules 
of Court, Rule 8.836 or 8.837.  

 
G. Pursuant to CRC 8.834 (d) (1) all certified shorthand court reporters transcribing misdemeanor and 
limited civil matters for appeal pursuant to CRC 8.834 shall automatically be granted a 30 day extension.  
All transcripts where a defendant appeals from a Judgement of conviction shall be due within 50 days after 
the filing of the Notice of Appeal.   
 (Eff. 1/1/1997; Rev. 7/1/2003, 1/1/2007, 7/1/2008, 7/1/2011, 1/1/15, 1/1/2017) 
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