
SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF SONOMA 

_____________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________ 

Page 15 

RULE 4 RULES APPLICABLE TO ALL CIVIL CASES 

 

These Sonoma County Superior Court rules confirm that the court shall have all powers for 

sanctions, etc., as set forth in CCP sections 128, 128.5, 128.6, 128.7 and 575.2 and CRC 

2.30.  (Eff. 1/1/1997; Rev. 7/1/2008) 

  

4.1 DIFFERENTIAL CASE MANAGEMENT 

 

A. The following rules are adopted to advance the goals of the Trial Court Delay Reduction 

Act set forth in Government Code sections 68603, et seq., and addressed by sections 2.1 and 

2.2 of the Standards of Judicial Administration and California Rules of Court sections 3.710 

et seq., all incorporated herein by reference. It is the intent of this court that these rules 

satisfy the court's obligations under the Trial Court Delay Reduction Act, and the 

requirement of the California Rules of Court that the court adopt local rules on differential 

case management consistent with the California Rules of Court and the Standards of Judicial 

Administration. 

 

1. Upon the filing of every complaint the Clerk shall provide to the plaintiff Notice of 

the Case Management Conference, ADR packet and Judge Pro Tem Program 

information, which plaintiff is required to serve with the complaint; 

 

2. The complaint must be served on all named defendants, and proof of service filed 

with the court within 90 days after filing the complaint.  The time periods for 

service and filing of the proof of service for an amended complaint, an answer, and 

a cross-complaint are otherwise in accordance with the California Rules of Court. 

When the complaint is amended to add a new defendant, the added defendant must 

be served and proof of service filed within 30 days of after the filing of the amended 

complaint. The parties may stipulate without leave of court to one 15-day extension 

beyond the 30-day time period prescribed for the response after service of the initial 

complaint. If a cross-complaint adds new parties, the added defendant must be 

served and proof of service filed within 30 days after the filing of the amended 

cross-complaint; 

 

3. The first Case Management Conference shall be held not later than 180 days after 

the filing of the complaint.  Any  party who adds a party to the proceeding must 

inform  the new party of any pending dates set by the court including a pending case 

management conference date, a pending settlement conference date and a pending 

trial date. 

 

4. Requests to continue a Case Management Conference must be set forth in the Case 

Management Conference Statement; 

 

5. At the first Case Management Conference or at an earlier time deemed appropriate 

by the court, the court shall evaluate each case and assign a case management plan; 

 

6. The court may modify the assigned case management plan at any time for good 

cause shown; 
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7. At the time of filing a complaint or at anytime thereafter, plaintiff may file a 

declaration with the court establishing the case is a UIM case. Upon receipt of such 

a declaration, the court may designate the case as an UIM case; 

 

8. Upon filing of the complaint or at anytime thereafter as appropriate the court may 

designate a case as complex at a Case Management Conference or otherwise as the 

court may deem proper; 

 

9. When a party to a case dies, the attorney for that party shall promptly serve and file 

a notice with the court; 

 

10. The court may issue any order modifying routine processes that is consistent with 

reducing costs of litigation and ensuring timely disposition of all cases. 

      

B. All general civil cases shall be deemed to be cases as described in California Rules of Court, 

Rule 3.714(b)(1) unless otherwise requested in a Case Management Statement (Judicial 

Council form #CM-110) filed by counsel or any self-represented party and thereafter 

ordered by the court.   

 

C. All other civil cases, unless a separate management plan is defined in the California statutes 

or in the California Rules of Court, shall be placed in the local case management plan as 

follows: 

 

  1. Plan “a”: 6 months 

   a. Unlawful detainer actions 

   b. Injunctive proceedings pursuant to code of Civil Procedure §§527.6, et seq. 

 

  2. Plan “b”: 9 months 

 

All other civil actions identifiable on the Civil Case Cover Sheet (Judicial Council form 

#CM-010) under the headings of Judicial Review, Enforcement of Judgment, or 

Miscellaneous Civil Petition.  (Eff. 1/1/1997; Rev. 7/1/2004, 1/1/2007, 1/1/2008, 7/1/2011) 

   

4.2 ASSIGNMENT TO ONE JUDGE FOR ALL PURPOSES AND CASE MANAGEMENT 

CONFERENCE 

 

A. In every general civil case, at the time of filing a complaint, by order of the Presiding Judge, 

the Clerk of the Court will issue a Notice of Assignment of Case to One Judge for All 

Purposes and Notice of Case Management Conference.  The Notice will include the name of 

the Assigned Judge and  the date, time and location of the Case Management Conference 

(approx. 120 days from filing).  A copy of the Notice must be served with the summons and 

complaint, and with any cross-complaint. 

 

B. Civil cases in Plans “a” and “b” will only be assigned to one judge for all purposes if the 

need for such an assignment arises. 

 

C. Pre-approved Dispositions: Three (3) court days preceding each scheduled Case 

Management Conference calendar, the Assigned Judge or his/her designee will cause to be 

recorded a pre-approved disposition of any case set on the Case Management Conference 

calendar.  The pre-approval may be obtained by telephoning (707) 521-6881 (tape-recorded 

message) or on the court’s web page at www.sonoma.courts.ca.gov.  The pre-approved 
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disposition will become the ruling of the court at the conference unless any party desiring to 

be heard so advises the judicial assistant in the Assigned Judge’s chambers no later than 48 

hours before the scheduled conference and also notifies all parties or their attorneys.  

Appearances will be required or dispensed with by the court as indicated in the pre-

approved dispositions.  Where appearances are required by the court, or no pre-approved 

disposition is indicated on any case, then all principal trial counsel and self-represented 

parties shall appear at the conference at the time scheduled in any notice, order to show 

cause, or as otherwise directed by the court. 

 

D. Stipulation for Alternative Dispute Resolution: The policy statement and rules pertaining to 

the Sonoma County Superior Court Alternative Dispute Resolution Program are set forth in 

Rule 16.  The rules pertaining to the Sonoma County Superior Court Judicial Arbitration 

Program are set forth in Rule 4.4 below.  Parties who submit a completed and fully signed 

Stipulation and Order Referring Matter to Alternative Dispute Resolution (Sonoma County 

form CV-7) more than five (5) court days prior to the scheduled date for the Case 

Management Conference need not appear at the Case Management Conference.  A 

completed and fully signed stipulation must contain all of the following: 

 

1. The type of ADR process that has been selected; 

2. The name of the person acting as neutral; 

3. The date upon which the ADR process will take place; 

4. A representation that an agreement has been reached as to the payment of the fees 

of the neutral. 

 

Upon receipt of a completed and fully signed Stipulation and Order Referring Matter to 

Alternative Dispute Resolution (Sonoma County form CV-7) the court will notify the 

parties of the date upon which a Review Hearing will be held.  The Review Hearing will be 

dropped in the event that a notice of settlement (pursuant to California Rules of Court, Rule 

3.1385) or a dismissal of all causes of action as to all defendants is filed not later than ten 

(10) calendar days prior to the date set for the review hearing.  (Eff. 1/1/1997; Rev.7/1/2005, 

1/1/2007) 

 

4.3 APPLICATION TO EXTEND TIME 

 

An application for a court order extending the time to serve a pleading under this rule shall 

be filed before the time for service has elapsed. In actions where monetary damages are 

sought, "good cause" for an extension of time to serve the defendant with the complaint is 

established where plaintiff's declaration form filed with the complaint affirmatively shows 

that (a) the defendant or the defendant's insurance carrier has been advised that an action has 

been filed and that settlement negotiations are in progress which are likely to resolve the 

case without further litigation, or (b) after diligent search the defendant has not been 

identified or located.  Upon such showing, it is the policy of the Court to extend the time for 

service of the complaint to a date certain, within which time it appears reasonable that 

negotiations can be concluded, or the defendant can be served, but in no case more than 60 

days.   

 

"Good cause" includes existence of those conditions stated in Code of Civil Procedure 

§583.240.  When applying to the Court to extend time for service of process based on the 

conditions stated in Code of Civil Procedure §583.240, plaintiff shall suggest to the Court 

the earliest time within which the impediment to service may reasonably be eliminated so 

that the Court is able to continue its supervision of the case on a date certain.  The 
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application shall be supported by a form declaration.  (Eff. 1/1/1997; Rev. 1/1/2003, 

7/1/2004) 

 

4.4 JUDICIAL ARBITRATION 

 

Pursuant to Code of Civil Procedure §§1141.11(b)-(d) and 1141.12(b) and California Rules 

of Court, Rule 3.810, all of the following actions shall be subject to arbitration. 

 

A. All limited civil cases unless exempted by California Rules of Court, Rule 3.811. 

 

B. All unlimited civil cases where the amount in controversy does not exceed $50,000 as to 

any plaintiff unless exempted by California Rules of Court, Rule 3.811. 

 

C. Upon stipulation (parties may use the Stipulation and Order Referring Matter to Alternative 

Dispute Resolution (Sonoma County form #CV-7) of any action regardless of the amount in 

controversy. 

 

D. Upon filing of an election by a plaintiff, any action in which the plaintiff agrees that the 

arbitration award shall not exceed $50,000.00 as to any plaintiff. 

 

Pursuant to Code of Civil Procedure §1010.6(a)(6), the Sonoma County Superior Court will allow 

service of the Notice of Appointment of Arbitrator upon the arbitrator if the arbitrator has given 

written consent to the Arbitration Administrator for service in such a manner. 

 

All arbitrations shall be governed by and shall proceed in accordance with the Code of Civil 

Procedure §§1141.10 - 1141.31 and California Rules of Court, Rules 3.810 - 3.830.  

(Eff. 1/1/1997; Rev. 7/1/2005, 1/1/2007) 

 

4.5 ORDERS TO SHOW CAUSE 

 

A. Each case included by this Rule will be reviewed for compliance with these rules, and 

orders to show cause may be issued for failure to comply. 

 

B. Orders to show cause will be scheduled on calendars at such times and places as designated 

by the Assigned Judge. 

 

C. At any time the court issues an order to show cause for failure to comply with any of the 

rules, the party(s) or attorney(s) to whom the order is directed shall file a response to the 

order to show cause and an updated Case Management Statement (Judicial Council form 

#CM-110) not later than fifteen (15) calendar days before the date set for the hearing on the 

order to show cause; and they shall appear at the scheduled hearing thereon.   

 

D. In the afternoon two (2) court days preceding the Order to Show Cause hearing, 

commencing at 2:00 p.m., the Assigned Judge or his/her designee will cause to be recorded 

a tentative ruling of any case set on the Order to Show Cause calendar.  The tentative ruling 

may be obtained by telephoning (707) 521-6881 (tape recorded message) or at the Web page 

of the Superior Court: www.sonoma.courts.ca.gov.  (Eff. 1/1/1997; Rev. 7/1/2004) 

 

 

 

 

file://file/misc/Judicial%20Assistants/home/cbutton/WPDOCS/Local%20Rules%20for%20July%202011/www.sonoma.courts.ca.gov


SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF SONOMA 

_____________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________ 

Page 19 

4.6 SANCTIONS 

 

Failure to comply with these rules or with the California Rules of Court may result in the imposition 

of sanctions. 

 

In the event that any attorney, any party represented by counsel, or any party appearing in pro per 

fails to comply with any of the requirements of, or orders made, pursuant to Rules 2, 4, 5, 7 or 9, or 

the California Rules of Court, the Court may impose sanctions upon motion of a party or on its own 

motion.  Sanctions may be imposed pursuant to Government Code Section 68609(d); Code of Civil 

Procedure Sections 128.5, 128.7, 177.5; and 575.2; and California Rules of Court, Rule 2.30. 

 

Unless otherwise ordered, any monetary sanctions imposed by the Court shall be paid forthwith and 

payable to the Sonoma County Superior Court.  (Eff. 1/1/1997; Rev. 7/1/2004, 1/1/2007, 7/1/2008) 

 

4.7 MANDATORY SETTLEMENT CONFERENCE 

 

At the discretion of the Assigned Judge a mandatory settlement conference shall be held in all cases 

set for trial.  These settlement conferences shall be at such times and places as designated by the 

Assigned Judge. 

 

All parties are required to comply with the standing “Amended Order Re Mandatory Settlement 

Conference Pursuant to California Rule of Court 3.1380".  The standing order will be sent to the 

parties by the court in all cases in which a Settlement Conference is scheduled along with the Notice 

of Settlement Conference/Trial Call. 

 

Not later than five (5) court days before the date set for the settlement conference, each party shall 

do the following: Deliver their Settlement Conference Statement directly to the pro tem panelist(s); 

lodge the original with the appropriate Court Settlement Conference Coordinator; and serve a copy 

on opposing counsel.   Settlement conference statements shall be available to the court.  At the 

conclusion of the settlement conference, the pro tem panelist(s) shall make a report to the court as to 

whether the case settled, and, if not, the last settlement offer(s) and demand(s), the likelihood of 

settlement, any identifiable obstacles to settlement, and other matters as requested by the court.   

 

The date, time, and location of the Settlement Conference must be typed on the first page of the 

statement.  The parties shall notify the Panelist(s) and appropriate Settlement Conference 

Coordinator of a pre-conference settlement.  Failure to comply will result in monetary sanctions 

being imposed.  

 

For a current list of scheduled Settlement Conferences, along with the name and telephone number 

of the pro tem panelist(s), go the Court’s website at www.sonoma.courts.ca.gov, “Calendars (all)”, 

“Civil Settlement Conference Main Pate.”   Parties are encouraged to check the website frequently 

as changes may occur.  (Eff. 1/1/1997; Rev. 7/1/2006, 1/1/2007, 7/1/2008) 

 

4.8 DEPOSIT OF JURY FEES 

 

A. If a jury trial is desired, it must be demanded in the Case Management Statement.  For 

purposes of these rules, the date of the Trial Call as described herein in Rule 4.9.A  will be 

construed as the date of trial.   

 

B. Jury fees in civil cases must be deposited with the Superior Court Clerk at least twenty-five 

(25) calendar days prior to the date of trial, except for unlawful detainer cases in which the 

http://www.sonomasuperiorcourt.com/
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deposit must be made at least  five (5) days prior.   The amount of the deposit shall be 

$150.00. Failure to deposit jury fees on time will be deemed a waiver of jury pursuant to 

Code of Civil Procedure §631.   

 

C. Written application for refund of jury fees for any reason must be made within twenty (20) 

calendar days from the filing date of the Notice of Settlement, Dismissal or Order Granting 

Continuance, pursuant to Code of Civil Procedure §631.3.  

 

D. Jury fees on deposit will be forfeited and will not be applied to a future trial date if:  the 

matter is settled without notice to the Court, the jury is waived without two (2) court days 

notice to the Court, or the trial date is continued without two (2) court days notice to the 

Court, pursuant to Code of Civil Procedure §631.3. 

 

E. Notice to the court under this rule must be in writing.  The file date is used to determine 

compliance with time lines contained herein.   

 

F. After completion of the trial, any remaining jury fees on deposit will be returned only upon 

written request to the Clerk of the Court.  The request for refund must be submitted within 

thirty (30) calendar days of the completion of the trial, otherwise any funds remaining on 

deposit shall be forfeited.  (Eff. 1/1/1997; Rev. 7/1/2004) 

 

4.9 TRIAL CALL AND TRIAL-RELATED MOTIONS 

 

A. Trial Call Calendar 
 

Trials, both long cause and short cause, will be called on such dates and at such times as 

shall be set by the Assigned Judge.  Attendance by counsel at the Trial Call is mandatory 

unless excused by the Assigned Judge.  If no trial counsel appear at the Trial Call, the matter 

will be dropped and scheduled for an order to show cause hearing. 

 

B. Continuances 
 

Continuances of trials may be granted, upon good cause show, by stipulation of the parties 

or upon written notice of motion.  FAILURE TO COMPLETE DISCOVERY IS NOT 

GOOD CAUSE.  Any motion for continuance must be calendared for hearing before the 

Assigned Judge on the Trial Call calendar at least seven (7) calendar days in advance of the 

trial date, unless good cause is shown for a shortening of such time.  Stipulation of trial 

counsel by itself does not constitute good cause for granting a continuance. 

 

C. Requests for continuance of trials or trials de novo in small claims cases must follow the 

procedure set out in Code of Civil Procedure §116.570.  (Eff. 1/1/1997; Rev. 7/1/2004, 

7/1/2011) 

 

4.10 PRETRIAL MATTERS AND COMMENCEMENT OF TRIAL 

 

A. Uniform Procedures 

The procedures prescribed in this rule apply uniformly to trials throughout the Civil 

Division except in expedited jury trials under Code of Civil Procedure section 

630.01 et seq., which are governed by California Rules of Court, rules 3.1545–
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3.1552. Judges may, in the exercise of discretion, order different procedures based 

on the particular requirements of an individual case. 

B. Trial Call 

Trial call is normally on a Friday. Trial call is the beginning of a trial. Unless 

otherwise ordered, parties should expect and be prepared to begin the trial of a case 

at the trial call. (Cf. Gov. Code, § 68607(f): Judges should “[c]ommence trials on 

the date scheduled.”) 

C. Duty to Meet and Confer 

At least seven court days before trial call, all attorneys of record and unrepresented 

parties must meet and confer in a good faith effort to reach agreement and enter into 

written stipulations or written joint statements on the matters described in 

subdivisions D and G of this rule. All such stipulations and statements must be filed, 

and courtesy copies delivered, at the time and in the manner stated in subdivisions 

D and G. A stipulation or joint statement may be filed instead of any submission of 

an individual party that this rule requires or permits. 

D. Pretrial Documents 

By 4:00 p.m. on the third court day before trial call, the parties must file the 

documents listed below with the judicial assistant in the assigned department and 

deliver courtesy copies to the assigned judge. 

1. Any proposed voir dire questions which, due to unusual or sensitive 

circumstances, a party requests the judge to ask prospective jurors. 

2. Any proposed jury questionnaire. 

3. A joint list, in alphabetical order, of all witnesses to be called, indicating 

which party intends to call each witness. The list should also note any 

anticipated issue concerning a witness that might require the court’s 

attention, including but not limited to scheduling constraints, health 

problems, security precautions, and the need for a translator or interpreter. 

4. A joint estimate of the length of the trial. 

5. A joint, neutral statement of the case to be read to the jury.  

6. All motions in limine. Any written opposition to a motion in limine must be 

filed with the judicial assistant in the assigned department, and a courtesy 

copy delivered to the assigned judge, by 4:00 p.m. one court day before trial 

call. 

7. Identification by each party of all deposition testimony that the party 

intends to offer in evidence on the ground that the witness is unavailable to 

testify at trial, designated by witness, date or volume, and pages and lines. 
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8. A list of all requested California Civil Jury Instructions (CACI) by number, 

in numerical order, with titles. 

E.  Exhibits to Be Used in Opening Statement 

On the day that motions in limine are heard, prior to that hearing, each party 

must show all other parties all electronic presentations, demonstrative 

exhibits, charts, diagrams, photographs, enlargements, and all other tangible 

things that the party intends to use in the party’s opening statement. Any 

party who objects to any such material must make the objection at the 

hearing of the motions in limine, and the judge will rule on all such 

objections presented. 

F. Trial Briefs  

The court finds trial briefs to be very helpful and encourages their submission. Any 

trial brief must be filed with the judicial assistant in the assigned department, and a 

courtesy copy delivered to the assigned judge, by 12:00 p.m. one court day before 

trial call. This does not preclude supplemental briefs on specific issues that arise 

during the trial. 

G. Jury Instructions and Verdict Forms 

1. In every jury trial, before the first witness is sworn, each party must deliver 

to the judge, and serve upon all other parties, proposed jury instructions on 

all applicable law disclosed by the pleadings. 

2. Before closing argument begins, each party must deliver to the judge and 

serve upon all other parties forms of verdict and any additional proposed 

jury instructions on questions of law arising from the evidence that were not 

disclosed by the pleadings. 

3. Each proposed jury instructions must be printed in black ink on a separate 

piece of paper. Proposed instructions must not identify the requesting party 

or any party or counsel in the case. The jury instructions must be assembled 

in a packet with a face sheet that lists all requested instructions and the 

requesting parties.  

H. Service of Trial Documents 

All documents authorized by this rule that a party files with or otherwise 

submits to the court must be served by a means that is reasonably calculated 

to assure delivery to all other parties by the earlier of (1) the time when 

delivery to the court is due under this rule, or (2) the time when the 

document is actually delivered to the court. Such means include, but are not 

limited to, personal delivery, facsimile transmission (fax), email, and other 

means of electronic transmission that are no slower than fax. (Eff. 1/1/1997; 

Rev. 7/1/2004, 1/1/2012) 
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4.11 VOIR DIRE 

 

The trial judge shall conduct general voir dire.  Counsel will be permitted to conduct supplemental 

questioning. (Eff. 1/1/1997; Rev. 7/1/2004) 

  

4.12 DISPOSITION OF FICTITIOUS DEFENDANTS (CROSS-DEFENDANTS) 

 

All unnamed parties (unknown defendants as described in Code of Civil Procedure §474) must be 

disposed of, i.e., dismissed with or without prejudice, prior to entry of judgment.  Failure to comply 

may result in any judgment being returned unsigned or in the issuance of an order to show cause 

entailing possible sanctions. (Eff. 1/1/1997; Rev. 7/1/2004) 

 

4.13 TEMPORARY JUDGE (PRO TEM) TRIALS 

  

A. Stipulation:  A civil case may be tried by a temporary judge, with or without jury, pursuant 

to the stipulation of the parties, and subject to approval by the Court.  Each temporary judge 

must be an active member of the State Bar with at least five (5) years experience or a retired 

judge, and approved by the Presiding Judge or the Supervising Judge of the Civil Division 

of the Sonoma County Superior Court. 

 

B. Court Facilities and Personnel:  Court facilities (including the courtroom at any location 

in Sonoma County), Court personnel and juror services may be used for the trial; subject to 

a finding by the presiding judge that such use would further the interests of justice.  The 

Court personnel in attendance at the trial will include a pro tem court clerk and court 

reporter, unless otherwise stipulated by the parties and approved by the Presiding Judge or 

Supervising Judge of the Civil Division. 

 

C. Compensation:  The stipulation must include the rate of compensation to be paid by the 

parties for the services of the pro tem court clerk and court reporter; and the rate of 

compensation to be paid for the temporary judge, if any.  The rate of compensation must be 

allocated between the parties as set forth in the stipulation for each trial, and paid upon 

demand of the pro tem court clerk. 

 

D. Notice of Pro Tem Calendar:  The Assigned Judge may, from time to time, notify parties 

in pending civil cases in advance of the availability of temporary judges and the location of 

court facilities for the trial of civil cases and available trial dates. 

 

E. Other Rules:  The stipulation and civil trial by any temporary judge shall be in accordance 

with Rule 2.831, California Rules of Court, which latter rule shall govern in the event of any 

conflict with these local rules.  (Eff. 1/1/1997; Rev. 7/1/2004, 1/1/2007) 

 

4.14 DISCOVERY FACILITATOR PROGRAM 

 

A. Policy of the Sonoma County Superior Court:  It shall be the policy of the Sonoma 

County Superior Court to encourage use of the Discovery Facilitator Program in connection 

with any discovery dispute that arises in a civil case.  Participation in the Discovery 

Facilitator Program shall be deemed to satisfy a party's obligation to meet and confer under 

applicable law.  All Discovery Facilitator Program related documents, with the exception of 

the moving papers and any opposition and reply thereto, shall be submitted to the Assigned 

Judge’s Judicial Assistant in chambers for review and processing.  Should counsel require 

an endorsed filed copy of such document, a self-addressed stamped envelope should be left 
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with the Judicial Assistant.  It is intended that participation in the Discovery Facilitator 

Program shall not delay the scheduling or hearing of any discovery motion.  

 

B. Discovery Facilitator Panel:  A list of qualified Discovery Facilitators shall be maintained 

at the Sonoma County Superior Court, with the assistance of the Sonoma County Bar 

Association. 

 

Each panelist must be an active member of the State Bar with at least ten (10) years 

experience, or a retired judge, and approved by the Presiding Judge or the Supervising 

Judge of the Civil Division of the Sonoma County Superior Court.   

 

C. Participation by Stipulation:  A discovery dispute or potential dispute may be referred to 

the Discovery Facilitator Program pursuant to stipulation by the parties or their counsel of 

record.    

 

D. Mandatory Participation:  The Court may require participation in the Discovery 

Facilitator Program in the following instances: 

 

1. At any time after the filing of a discovery motion, the Court may, in its discretion, 

issue an Order referring the motion to the Discovery Facilitator Program.  In the 

event any party desires not to submit the motion to the Discovery Facilitator 

Program, such party may file with the Assigned Judge’s Judicial Assistant a  

“Notice of Intent to Opt Out of Discovery Facilitator Program”, and the order issued 

pursuant to this subparagraph shall be vacated.  

 

2. In the event any party desires a dispute or potential dispute to be included in the 

Discovery Facilitator Program, such party may request referral to the program in 

paragraph 19 (entitled, “Other Issues”) of the Case Management Statement.  The 

Court shall hear from all parties on the issue at the Case Management Conference, 

and shall determine, in its discretion, whether such dispute or potential dispute shall 

be included in the Discovery Facilitator Program.  

 

3. In the event a party desires that a dispute or potential dispute be included in the 

Discovery Facilitator Program prior to the time of the next scheduled Case 

Management Conference, or at a time when no further Case Management 

Conferences are scheduled, such party may bring a motion in accordance with 

Sonoma County Local Rule 5, and applicable provisions of the Code of Civil 

Procedure and California Rules of Court, for referral of the matter to the Discovery 

Facilitator Program.  Such motion must be accompanied by a declaration setting 

forth a basis for good cause for inclusion in the program.   

 

E. Selection of a Discovery Facilitator:  The moving party shall contact opposing party(ies) 

and make a reasonable and good faith attempt to informally select a Discovery Facilitator 

from the list of potential Discovery Facilitators maintained by the Sonoma County Superior 

Court.  The parties shall promptly notify the Court by filing a stipulation with the Assigned 

Judge’s Judicial Assistant if they choose a facilitator on their own.  If the parties cannot 

agree, the moving party shall contact the Assigned Judge’s Judicial Assistant and the 

Discovery Facilitator shall be selected as follows: 

 

1. The Judicial Assistant shall select, at random, a number of names from the list of 

potential Discovery Facilitators equal to the number of sides, plus one, and mail and 
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fax to the parties or their counsel of record, the “Notice and Order Re: Inclusion in 

Discovery Facilitator Program”.  

 

2. Each side has five (5) calendar days from the date of service by mail and fax of the 

“Notice and Order Re: Inclusion in Discovery Facilitator Program to file a written 

rejection entitled “Notice of Rejection of Discovery Facilitator” (to be submitted to 

the Assigned Judge’s Judicial Assistant in chambers), of no more than one name on 

the list. If there are two or more parties on a side, they must join in the rejection of a 

single name.   

 

3.  Promptly on the expiration of the five (5) day period, the Judicial Assistant shall 

appoint, at random, one of the persons on the list whose name was not rejected, if 

more than one name remains.   

 

4. The Judicial Assistant shall assign the case to a Discovery Facilitator and shall serve 

by mail and fax the “Notice and Order of Appointment of Discovery Facilitator” on 

all parties or their counsel of record. Upon receipt of the “Notice and Order of 

Appointment of Discovery Facilitator”, the parties shall forthwith deliver to the 

Facilitator copies of all pleadings concerning the discovery dispute. 

 

The Discovery Facilitator shall establish the procedures in each case to be utilized 

by the parties, through telephone conferences, exchange(s) of letters or emails, 

and/or in-person conferences for discussion and possible resolution of the discovery 

dispute.   

 

F. Compensation:  The Discovery Facilitator shall devote up to two hours, without charge to 

any of the parties, in an attempt to facilitate resolution of the discovery dispute.  In the event 

a resolution cannot be achieved within that period of time, the parties may agree to continue 

with the Discovery Facilitator provided that agreement is reached between and among the 

parties and the Discovery Facilitator as to compensation of the Discovery Facilitator.   

 

G.   Resolution:   

 

In the event a resolution of the discovery dispute is achieved, a pleading entitled 

“Stipulation and Order Re: Discovery Facilitator Program Issues” shall be executed by the 

parties, through legal counsel, memorializing the terms of such resolution, and shall be 

presented to the Assigned Judge’s Judicial Assistant in chambers for execution and filing no 

later than ten (10) calendar days before the scheduled Law and Motion Hearing date, if any.  

 

In the event the parties are unable to resolve the discovery dispute with the Discovery 

Facilitator, the Discovery Facilitator shall prepare and serve on all parties or their counsel of 

record a report which contains the following information:   

 

1. A brief summary of the dispute and contentions of the parties; 

 

2. Any legal or factual analysis made by the Discovery Facilitator in connection with 

his/her role in attempting to resolve this dispute;  

 

3. A statement indicating whether moving and/or opposing parties met and conferred 

in good faith. 
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The moving party shall file such report with the court at the time the discovery motion is 

filed, or, in the event the discovery motion is already pending, no later than ten (10) 

calendar days before the scheduled Law and Motion Hearing date, if any, for this discovery 

issue.  

(Eff. 1/1/2008; Rev. 1/1/2009, 7/1/2009) 

 

4.15 READINESS CONFERENCE 

 

At the discretion of the Assigned Judge a readiness conference shall be held in all cases set for trial.  

These readiness conferences shall be at such times and places as designated by the Assigned Judge.   

 

All counsel and self-represented litigants are required to attend the readiness conference.  

Telephonic appearance at the readiness conference is permitted.  

 

The purpose of the readiness conference shall be to discuss courtroom availability, the nature of any 

pretrial motions, and any issues that may affect the conduct of the trial.  (Eff. 7/1/2010) 

 

4.16 MATTERS AFFECTED BY BANKRUPTCY 

 

A.   Any party or counsel for a party in a matter pending before this court who acquires 

knowledge of a proceeding in bankruptcy which may cause or impose a stay of proceedings 

in this court shall promptly give notice of such bankruptcy proceedings as set forth below. 

 

1.  The notice required by subdivision (A) above shall be filed with the court.  Said 

notice shall also be provided to the affected department directly, by presenting an endorsed 

filed copy of the filing to the judicial assistant for the affected department.  Said notice shall 

also be served on all parties to the litigation.  The subject notice shall include: (a) a copy of 

the most recent order of the bankruptcy court and of any stay order issued by that court; and 

(b) An explanation of whether a stay order or an automatic stay is in effect and why the stay 

applies to the pending litigation, appeal, or writ proceeding. Any party disputing the 

notifying party's documentation or explanation shall promptly serve and file an opposing 

statement addressing all such concerns. 

 

2.  Any party may, at any time, file and serve notice of any circumstances or orders 

permitting the proceeding to proceed, including evidence that the bankruptcy stay has been 

lifted, the bankruptcy proceeding has been dismissed, or a party has obtained relief from the 

stay. (Eff. 1/1/2013) 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


