INSTRUCTIONS ON HOW TO REQUEST A TELEPHONE APPEARANCE

FAMILY LAW CASES WHERE THE **DEPARTMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT SERVICES** <u>IS NOT</u> **INVOLVED**:

Fill out local form <u>FL075 Request for Telephone Appearance</u> to request a court call. Before you file your request, this request must be served on all other parties by a third party at least 18 years-old ("server"). The "server" must complete the form <u>FL-335 Proof of Service by Mail</u>. See instructions <u>FL-335-INFO Information Sheet for Proof of Service by Mail</u>. Mail the original and copy to the Family Law Clerk's Office at 3055 Cleveland Avenue, Santa Rosa, California 95403 with a self-addressed stamped envelope for the return of Endorsed Filed documents.

FOR CASES WHERE THE **DEPARTMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT SERVICES** <u>IS</u> <u>INVOLVED</u>:

Fill out form *FL-679 Request for Telephone Appearance (Governmental)* pages 1 and 2. Before you file your request, this request must be served on all other parties by a third person who is at least 18 years-old ("server"). The "server" must complete page 3. Mail the original and copy to the Family Law Clerk's Office at 3055 Cleveland Avenue, Santa Rosa, California 95403 with a self-addressed stamped envelope for the returned of Endorsed Filed documents.

If your request is granted, a Judicial Assistant will mail an Order re Telephonic Appearance to the requesting party. The Requesting Party must fax a copy of the order to CourtCall – see below*.

FOR **GUARDIANSHIP CASES**: You **do not need a court order** to appear by phone. You will need to contact <u>CourtCall</u> to set up an appointment. **See below *.**

* HOW COURTCALL WORKS: 5 days before the hearing, the requesting party must call 1-888-882-6878 to set up the call and pay the fee if required. They will be assigned CourtCall identification. You will receive a request form by fax or E-mail that must be completed and returned right away. Once this is received, they will provide instructions.

COSTS: CourtCall is a service provided by a third party. **The cost is \$88** payable by credit card only, **unless the party has a fee waiver**, or is incarcerated (even without a fee waiver). **If the requesting party has a fee waiver** current within the last six months, they must include a copy of the Order to Waive Fees FW-003 to fax number (310)743-1850 or mail it to 6383 Arizona Circle, Los Angeles, CA 90045. For general inquiries call (888)883-2946 (toll free) or E-mail: info@courtcall.com

If you cannot afford the cost, please complete forms <u>FW-001 Request to Waive Court Fees</u> and <u>FW-003 Order Granting Request to Waive Court Fees</u>. For more information read form <u>FW-001 INFO Information Sheet on Waiver of Superior Court Fees and Costs.</u>

It is your responsibility to make the necessary arrangements for the phone call for your hearing. If you do not make the proper arrangements or a problem occurs, the court may decide your case based on the documents you filed for the hearing.

Court call allows cancellation or continuation of a hearing up to 10 minutes prior to the hearing. Full refunds are allowed for timely cancellations.