SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF SONOMA Civil Division

600 Administration Drive, Room 107J Santa Rosa, CA 95403 707-521-6610

www.sonoma.courts.ca.gov

SELF-HELP CENTER

707-521-6534

SelfHelp@sonomacourt.org

CHANGE OF NAME AND GENDER PACKET

The fee for filing a *Change of Name and Gender* is **\$435.00** payable at the time of filing. You may qualify to have this fee waived. The following forms may be obtained on the www.sonoma.courts.ca.gov website or at from the Courthouse: Information Sheet on Waiver of Court Fees and Costs FW-001-INFO Application for Waiver of Court Fees and Costs (FW-001) and Order on Application for Waiver of Court Fees and Costs (FW-003). If you qualify to have the fees waived submit these forms with your Petition for Change of Name.

Included in this packet are the forms you will need when applying for a change of name and gender. After you have completed the forms make two photocopies of each of the forms you will be presenting to the court.

These forms should not be used if the petitioner is a minor child.

Civil Case Cover Sheet	CM-010
Petition for Change of Name and Gender	NC-200
Name and Information About the Person Whose Name is to be Changed	
Order to Show Cause for Change of Name to Conform to Gender Identity	
Decree Changing Name and Gender	

INFORMATION ABOUT NAME CHANGE PETITIONS

The originals of the forms and at least one copy must be submitted with the filing fee. Using your endorsed copy, you will need to make additional copies for service on those persons, if any, that must receive them before the Court considers your petition.

Include a self-addressed, stamped envelope with your documents. Your copy or copies, of the "Decree Changing Name and Gender" will be mailed to you in the self-addressed stamped envelope provided by you.

1. **Documents to File**: File a Civil Case Cover Sheet, Petition for a Change of Name and Gender, Attachment to Petition for Change of Name, Order to Show Cause for Change of Name to Conform to Gender Identity, and Decree Changing Name and Gender with the court along with the filing fee. Enclose a check in the amount of \$40.00 for each certified copy of the decree you require and a self-addressed, stamped envelope. This will eliminate the need for you to come back to the Clerk's Office to have copies made at a later time.

Pursuant to CCP 1279.5, the Court is required to contact the California Justice Information System and California Law Enforcement Telecommunications System to determine if the applicant is under the jurisdiction of the Department of Corrections or is a registered sex offender.