Jun 27, 2022
A A A

The Superior Court of California, County of Sonoma

Presents:

BENCH CONDUCT FOR TEMPORARY JUDGES

This course fulfills the requirement of California Rule of Court 2.812 for new or continuing members of the Superior Court of California, Sonoma County Temporary Judge Panel.

All current members of the panel and applicants who wish to serve as Temporary Judges for the Superior Court must take this training every three years. All members of the panel and applicants must also take a topic specific course which is available at this link.

California Rule of Court 2.812(c) sets the education and training requirements for Temporary Judges. The following three education and training requirements must have been completed within the last three years:

  •  • A 3-hour in-person Bench Conduct Demeanor Training which will be satisfied by your attendance    at our training.
  •  • A 3-hour training on Judicial Ethics. The Judicial Ethics training can be satisfied remotely    through the California Judicial Council’s website at this link.
  •  • A 3-hour training on the substantive area of law where you will be sitting as a Temporary Judge.    Currently, Temporary Judges serve in our Small Claims Court. The Small Claims training can be    satisfied remotely at this link.

Please fill out this Application To Serve As A Temporary Judge and return to Murray Cockerill.

 

Hon. Shelly J. Averill
Hon. Shelly J. Averill
Presiding Judge
Instructor
Hon. Kenneth G. English
Hon. Kenneth G. English
Superior Court Commissioner
Instructor

 

Date: Friday, May 20, 2022 or Monday, May 23, 2022

Time: 1:30 - 4:30 pm

Place: Civil and Family Courthouse, Second Floor Conference Room 3055 Cleveland Avenue, Santa Rosa, CA

MCLE Credit: 2.0 Units General and 1.0 Unit Elimination of Bias

Pre-registration by May 6, 2022 is Required

TO REGISTER or for more information about the Temporary Judge Panel, please contact:
Murray Cockerill, Managing Attorney
Phone: (707) 521-6534
mcockerill@sonomacourt.org

 

Joining Sonoma Court's Temporary Judge Panel

Effective January 1, 2007, California Rules of Court, Rule 2.810 established new and more rigorous training and qualification requirements for attorneys wishing to serve as temporary judges.

To qualify, attorneys must have been active members of the California State Bar, in good standing, for at least 10 years before appointment. There cannot be any pending disciplinary actions, and the individual must not have pled guilty or no contest to a felony, or have a felony conviction that has not been reversed. He or she must satisfy all education and training requirements established by the state, as well as any other conditions that the individual court may require. Mandated training elements include a 3-hour in-person course on judicial demeanor (provided by a court) together with an online training course in related judicial demeanor and ethical issues.

Attorneys must also take one or more online training courses provided by the Administrative Office of the Courts, depending on the substantive areas of law they wish to hear.

Depending on case type, there may also be additional training, education, or experience requirements to serve in Sonoma County.

Minimum Requirements

The presiding judge may not appoint an attorney to serve as a temporary judge unless the attorney has been admitted to practice as a member of the State Bar of California for at least 10 years before the appointment and meets the following conditions:

  1. Is an active member in good standing of the State Bar and has no disciplinary action pending.
  2. Has not pled guilty or no contest to a felony, or has not been convicted of a felony that has not been reversed.
  3. Has satisfied the education and training requirements.
  4. Has satisfied all other general conditions that the court may establish for appointment of an attorney as a temporary judge in that court.
  5. Has satisfied any additional conditions that the court may require for an attorney to be appointed as a temporary judge for a particular assignment or type of case in that court.

NOTE: Consistent with CRC Rule 2.818, temporary judges have an ongoing duty to report any disciplinary action pending or taken against them by the State Bar of California at least 2 court days before arriving to serve as a temporary judge.

Training Requirements

These are requirements that everyone must meet every two years:

  1. Review the online Fairness, Demeanor, and Self-Represented litigants materials.
  2. Attend a 3-hour in-person training session on judicial demeanor.
  3. Take the online course on judicial ethics.
  4. Take local and online classes as required for the case type(s).
  5. Attend a court session on each case type for the location above

 

*This activity has been approved for Minimum Continuing Legal Education credit by the State Bar of California in the amount of two units of general law and one unit of Elimination of Bias. The Sonoma County Superior Court certifies that this activity conforms to the standards for approved education activities prescribed by the rules and regulations of the State Bar of California governing minimum continuing legal education.

This flyer is being distributed as a service to members of the Sonoma County Bar Association. The information shown herein has not been endorsed or verified by SCBA.

 

© 2022 Superior Court of Sonoma County