SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF SONOMA
600 Administration Drive, Room 107-J
Santa Rosa, California 95403-2878
(707) 521-6500
http://www.sonoma.courts.ca.qgov
Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.

ANSWER TO UNLAWFUL DETAINER PACKET

This packet contains the forms to file an Answer to an Unlawful Detainer Action (Eviction). Please
read all of these instructions before filling out the forms.

This packet contains one of each of the following forms:

ANSWET = UNIAWTUI DEIAINET ...t UD-105
Proof of SErviCe DY Mall ..o POS-040

There may be other forms which are necessary in your particular case. Single forms are also
available as needed.

Instructions:
- These forms are to respond to an eviction law suit, only. If you are being sued for any other
reason, you should obtain the Answer form that applies to that action.

- You must fill out the Answer form completely and sign it on the second page.

- Item #1 asks for the name of the defendant. Include the names of all defendants answering the
complaint.

Names must match the name used when the eviction was filed. If you were sued by an
incorrect name, you can correct that by stating: (Your correct name) erroneously sued as (the
incorrect name)

Each defendant listed under #1 must sign the form on the second page.

Fees are due for each defendant listed (see Page 2 of this information sheet for the fee
schedule).

- After you complete the Answer a copy must be mailed to the plaintiff's attorney (if he/she has an
attorney) or to the plaintiff (if he/she does not have an attorney). Their address can be found on the
Summons you received when you were served. The mailing cannot be done by a defendant in
the case. An uninvolved party, over the age of 18 years, must do the mailing and fill out the Proof of
Service by Mail form (POS-040).

- Bring the original Answer and Proof of Service, with two copies of each, to the clerk’s office for
filing. If you cannot bring the papers into the court, you may mail the documents to the court. You
must provide a self-address stamped envelope so the Court can mail the copies back to you.
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- First Paper Fees are due for each defendant listed on the Answer at the time the Answer is
filed.

If you are being sued for less than $10,000 the fee to file an Answer is $240.00.

If you are being sued for an amount between $10,000 and $25,000 the fee to file an Answer is
$385.00.

If you are being sued for an amount over $25,000 the fee to file an Answer is $435.00.

If you cannot pay these fees, you must file an Application for Fee Waiver and the accompanying
Orders with the Answer. One Fee Waiver Application is required for each defendant listed on the
Answer.

FAILURE TO FOLLOW THESE DIRECTIONS MAY RESULT IN THE REJECTION OF YOUR
DOCUMENTS. THIS MAY LEAD TO A DEFAULT JUDGMENT BEING ENTERED AGAINST YOU.

If you are representing yourself and need assistance, “How-To” books are available in the
Sonoma County Law Library or at your local bookstore.

Lawyer Referral: (707) 546-5297
Legal Services Foundation: (707) 546-2924
California Rural Legal Assistance (707) 528-9941
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