- Online Services Pay Fines, Transcripts...
- Forms & Filing Forms, Fee Schedule...
- Self-Help Self-Rep, Info, FAQs...
- Divisions Civil, Criminal, Family...
- General Info Local Rules, ADA, Maps...
- Family Justice Center Sonoma County
- California DMV
- California Courts: Judicial Council
- California Legal Codes
- California Courts Self Help Center
- Help Filing Online (I-CAN!)
- Judicial Council Interpreter List
- Law Help California.org
- Nolo Press
- Sonoma County Bar Association
- Sonoma County Law Library
- Sonoma County Legal Aid
- Sonoma County Sheriff
- Spanish Self Help Resources
Family Law Division
Location: Civil and Family Law Courthouse, 3055 Cleveland Avenue, Santa Rosa CA 95403
Office Hours: 8:00 AM to 3:30 PM Mon-Fri
Court Hours: 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM Mon-Fri
(707) 521-6630 8:00 AM to Noon Mon-Fri
The Children's Waiting Room has reopened effective Monday March 4th.
Monday, Wednesday and Thursday 8:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. and 1:00 - 4:00 p.m.
Tuesday 8:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. and 1:00 to 5:00 p.m.
Friday - Closed
Thank you, Court Management
Usuarios de la corte
Sala de espera de los niños está abierta de nuevo efectivo el lunes, Marzo 4.
Horas de funcionamiento
Lunes, Miercoles y Jueves 8:00 am - 12:00 p.m. y 1:00 - 4:00 p.m.
Martes 8:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. y 1:00 - 5:00 p.m.
Viernes – Cerrado
Gracias, Gestión de la corte
- How can I obtain a copy of my divorce?
Copies of a final dissolution judgment or other family law documents can be obtained by visiting the Family Law Clerk's office from 8:00 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Monday through Friday at the Civil and Family Law Courthouse located at 3055 Cleveland Avenue, Santa Rosa, CA 95403.
For copy requests made in person at the Clerk's Office, payment can be made by cash, check (payable to Superior Court), money order, cashier's check or credit card (Visa or MasterCard only). When requesting copies in person, there is a ten page limit to same day copy requests. If the request is over ten pages, the clerk will process your payment, issue a receipt, and will call when the request has been processed and is ready for pick-up.
Copies can also be obtained by sending a letter to the address above with the case name, case number, specification of the document requested, and whether the document is to be certified or not. Certification is a stamp that declares the copy to be an exact copy of the original in the courts file. Please be sure to include a self-addressed stamped envelope with the request in order to return the copies and receipt of payment.
For copy requests made through the mail, payments can be made by check, money order or cashier's check only. Please make the check payable to Superior Court. As you may not know the exact cost, you may indicate in the note section of the check "not to exceed ___" and list an estimated amount. The clerk will then fill in the amount of the check on your behalf, as long as the amount does not exceed what was list. If the payment submitted does not cover the fees, the request will be returned with a request for additional funds.
Certification of a Judgment of Dissolution of Marriage is $15 in addition to $0.50 per page (one sided, if double sided, the cost will be $1.00). Certification of any other document is $25 in addition to the $0.50 per page (one sided, if double sided, the cost will be $1.00). Copies without certification are $0.50 per page. You may also request an Exemplified Record or a Letter of Exemplification which is an additional $50 fee in addition to $0.50 per page (one sided, if double sided, the cost will be $1.00).
- How do I end my marriage?
For general information go to: http://www.courts.ca.gov/selfhelp-divorce.htm.
To print the forms to start your dissolution go to Forms packet page:
Where can I find information on Adoptions?
Where can I obtain information on child custody or visitation?
For general information go to: http://www.courts.ca.gov/selfhelp-family.htm AND For information on assistance in Sonoma County go to Services and Resources page:
- Where can I find information about child support?
- Where can I find information on Adoptions?
- Where can I obtain information on child custody or visitation?
For general information go to: http://www.courts.ca.gov/selfhelp-custody.htm AND For information on assistance in Sonoma County go to Services and Resources page:
Temporary Restraining Order (TRO)
- a) What is a Domestic Violence Restraining Order?
There are several types of Restraining Orders. Domestic Violence Restraining Orders are defined by the relationship between the plaintiff (requesting protected party) and defendant (restrained party). A Domestic Violence Restraining Order can be sought if you are requesting the restraining order against somone there is a close relationship with the person to be restrained such as a marriage, divorce, separated, common children together, living together currently or in the past, dating relationship or related such as a parent, child, brother, sister.
If there is no such relationship, refer to civil restraining order information click here.
- b) How can I obtain a Family Law Domestic Violence Restraining Order?