Oct 01, 2022

Domestic Violence – Family Law Division

Location: Civil and Family Law Courthouse, 3055 Cleveland Avenue, Santa Rosa CA 95403
Office Hours: 8:00 AM to 3:30 PM Mon-Fri
Court Hours: 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM Mon-Fri
(707) 521-6630 8:00 AM to Noon Mon-Fri





There is no fee for a Request for Order (Domestic Violence Prevention).

Hand printed forms using either blue or black ink will be accepted for filing as long as they are legible.

Choose from the following two form packets.  You will need to fill them out and bring them to the Clerk’s Office for the review by the judicial officer:
Domestic Violence without children:

Domestic Violenece with children:

For Information you can find an instructional forms packet at:

ON ALL FORMS: It is important that you complete the information regarding the person to be restrained, especially the Name, Sex, Race, and Date of Birth. If you do not know the date of birth, please, estimate the person's age.

CLETS (California Law Enforcement Telecommunications System)

If a temporary or permanent restraining order is granted, the information contained on the restraining order will be entered into the California Law Enforcement Telecommunications System (CLETS) the same date the order is granted if the necessary information is provided on the forms. Be sure to complete the identifying information sections on the restraining order to ensure prompt entry into CLETS.


Included in this package are the instructions you will need to fill out and file with the Family Law Clerk's Office to get a Domestic Violence Temporary Restraining Order.

List of Forms (*fillable online)

There is no fee for a Request for Order (Domestic Violence Prevention).

Domestic Violence Crisis Hotline

YWCA has a 24 hour domestic violence crisis hotline (707) 546-1234


Family Justice Center Sonoma County


Elder Assistance

AARP, 2050 West Steele Lane, Suite E1, Santa Rosa, CA Phone: 575-0518.

Council on Aging, 30 Kawana Spring Road, Santa Rosa, CA 95404
Phone: 525-0143

Grandparents Parenting Again at (707) 566-8676 for assistance times.

Sonoma County Adult Services, 2250 Northpoint Parkway, Santa Rosa, CA
Phone: 565-5900

Sonoma County Legal Aid provides assistance with restraining order application paperwork. Call (707) 542-1290 to arrange an appointment

Salvation Army, Silvercrest Residence, 1050 3rd Street, Santa Rosa. Drop in clinic. Free legal services for individuals 62 and over Thursday evening from 4:15 to 5:30 pm


Superior Court Clerks are prohibited from giving legal advice or assistance in court proceedings (California Government Code 24004 and 68082). If you need legal advice, please talk to an attorney. You may call an Attorney Referral Service or one of the following agencies may be able to help you:

Sonoma County Lawyer Referral Service

(707) 546-5297

The Sonoma County Lawyer Referral Service is designed to assist people with finding the right lawyer. The initial consultation costs $35.00, unless you have suffered a personal injury or have a social security appeal or worker’s compensation claim.

Sonoma County Legal Aid

(707) 542-1290

Provides assistance with restraining order application paperwork. Call to arrange an appointment.

Legal Services Foundation

(707) 546-2924

Legal services are available on a sliding scale based on an individual’s income. Low cost workshops are offered monthly on various topics such as restraining order problems, lawsuits in civil court, cleaning up criminal records, driver’s license retrieval.

© 2022 Superior Court of Sonoma County